eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Tools & Test Equipment for the amateur radio work bench | Caig DeoxIT Help


Reviews Summary for Caig DeoxIT
Caig DeoxIT Reviews: 9 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $9 to 20 or more (varies accordin
Description: Treatment for Connectors, Switches, & Contacts.
Improves Conductivity, Deoxidizes, Seals & Protects Connectors and Contacts. Reduces connection failures. Use on Stationary & Moving Connections.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.caig.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Caig DeoxIT.

KG4GPJ Rating: 5/5 Feb 28, 2011 07:17 Send this review to a friend
Works as Advertised  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I had a "dirty" multi-position switch for a multimeter on an AL-80A, which caused one of the positions (HV read-out) to be intermittent. Getting to the switch to be able to spray some DeoxIt in there was a real chore, but the DeoxIT did the trick. Some highly-experienced electronic technician-hams recommended it and swear by it!
 
K6SDW Rating: 5/5 Nov 6, 2009 05:19 Send this review to a friend
So far, so good!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Best spray I've found and it does not appear to "eat" plastics like some of the other so-called cleaners.

Expensive, however.

Cheers
 
W9JH Rating: 5/5 Nov 5, 2009 19:47 Send this review to a friend
Does a good job.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I used DeoxIT on a noisy switch on an older model stereo amp and it worked right away. I then tried it on a collector-quality piece of Collins gear and it quieted a scratchy switch.

DeoxIT does a good job. You can pin point the spray instead of spraying all over as some of the other contact cleaners tend to do.

Bought it at Radio Shack -- comes with DeoxIT Gold for $14.95

73,
Jack W9JH
 
W8AAZ Rating: 5/5 Mar 19, 2009 19:16 Send this review to a friend
Works good  Time owned: more than 12 months
Used it in a fleet of airliners for a specific problem in a piece of eqt. that had a bad rep for intermittent circuit conns. Pretty much cleared up that category of failures in the fleet, if applied correctly. I have all kind of their products at home. A lifetime supply of some. Use on connections,and use the MCL or Fader Lube on old radio pots that are noisy. But this stuff will work on pots in a jam. Clean up any oxidised or corroded contacts of crud before use and it will maintain a good connection.
 
KB6G Rating: 5/5 Mar 21, 2007 21:26 Send this review to a friend
Especially helpful on roller inductor tuners  Time owned: months
bought used MFJ 962D tuner. Roller inductor was noisy, and tried cleaning it several times with various cleaners. Usually lasted 30-60 days and then got noisy again. Found DeoxIT at local electrical supply shop. Used it to clean the roller inductor. Tuner has worked very quietly for past 6 months, with no signs of getting dirty. It now tunes as quietly as the capacitors.
 
KA3NXN Rating: 5/5 Feb 20, 2006 06:31 Send this review to a friend
Saved me from sending radio back for repairs  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I have a one year old Uniden 796D digital scanner. Anyone who has owned one of these knows that the digital option is on a card that fits into a small slot on the back of the scanner. Mine started acting up about 6 months ago. While picking up a digital signal it would not decode it. I had to keep reseating the card to get the digital back & working. After sever unsuccessful calls to Uniden TS, they said that the unit was bad and to send it back. I pulled out the digital card and even though the contacts were clean and bright. I still sprayed them with Deoxit. This was 3 months ago. The problem has gone away completely. This is awesome stuff!!
 
KG0WX Rating: 5/5 Feb 20, 2006 04:42 Send this review to a friend
Best thing in a can since 3 & 1 oil  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought a can of DeOxit 2 years ago and I've
used it for everything regarding connectivity.

The stuff flat out WORKS! It does everything
Caig says it does.

Great product.
 
4Z4KQ Rating: 5/5 Apr 24, 2002 17:46 Send this review to a friend
And it has a brother, too!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Works as advertised: cleans and protects older, worn contacts. If you don't want worn contacts in the first place, use its brother product (PreserveIt Blue) before new contacts are mated for the first time -- and forget about worn conatcts for many years.

This stuff is hard to get in Europe. A similar equivalent (Kontakt 60 from Kontakt Chemie, Belgium) works almost as well. It also has a preserving "brother" called Kontakt 61.

Let us spray!
 
WB9YCJ Rating: 5/5 Aug 17, 2001 22:41 Send this review to a friend
Godsend. Does everthing claimed.  Time owned: more than 12 months
Throw your TV Tuner cleaner away! I have been using this product for ten years or more and am completely satisfied at its capabilities and benefits for both A.F. and R.F. applications.
Read the instructions, and your A.F. and R.F. connectivity problems begin to fade away. Overall it increases the performance and reliability of electrical components and equipment. Provides long lasting protection, reducing the expense of repeated cleaning with expensive ozone-depleting solvents. Use on switches, jacks, plugs, connectors, potentiometers, controls, batteries, relays, contactors, and all electrical contacts and connectors. Sold in a wide variety of applicators and dispensors. Clean, seal and protect in one treatment !
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.