eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


donate to eham
Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Kenwood TH-F6A Help


Reviews Summary for Kenwood TH-F6A
Kenwood TH-F6A Reviews: 269 Average rating: 4.3/5 MSRP: $425.00
Description: Compact triband H.T. (144/220/440) with dual receive, wideband receiver (Longwave through 1.3 Ghz), SSB/CW rcv. Bar antenna for A.M. broadcast reception. 5 watts all bands.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.kenwood.net/ama_page.cfm
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Kenwood TH-F6A.

Page 1 of 27 —>

AD1ET Rating: 5/5 Aug 14, 2016 08:35 Send this review to a friend
New to Kenwood  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
OK. Take the 5 stars with a grain of doubt. Brand new to me but. . .Programs with my Baofeng UV5Ra cable and CHIRP software without a hitch. Big plus. My nearest repeater is 26 miles distant but line of site. On EL power setting, 0.05 watts, it hits the repeater with the supplied rubber duck. Another big plus. Cost is now down to $250 at Hamfest. A really big plus. The B band with its full coverage of HF through 1.2 GHZ is just exceptional with SSB, CW, AM and FM. While not as inexpensive as a Baofeng, TYT, Wouxun, etc, all of which I like and most of which I own one or two of, it is still a very nice, feature rich, portable radio. I would also note that throwing out the supplied rubber duck might be a hasty thing to do. If you live in unobstructed country, the OEM antenna may be just fine. Check it out carefully before eating the antenna mushrooms and parting with lots of additional dough.
 
W5CSM Rating: 5/5 Jul 14, 2016 13:11 Send this review to a friend
My First Radio, I still have an use  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had this HT for 11 years. Intuitive to use, functions are easy to access once you are familiar with the buttonology. After all of these years, the OEM battery still provides reasonable power, all things considered. The buttons while small, are very easy to operate and markings have endured well.
 
IW2BSF Rating: 5/5 Mar 12, 2016 06:47 Send this review to a friend
VERY NICE radio !!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I'm a big fan of Kenwood, I had the old TH-77, TH-78 and the legendary TH-79 and now this little gem! What about a really great radio! I have buy this radio 1 years ago and work well.

One problem perhaps from a colleague complained that sometimes does not turn on or does not go on batteries, the causes can be two and are different: can 'be the 12 volt DC J1 connector exterior and' defective and does not switch and you change with $ 2 expense of replacing it, or you burn one of three internal fuses, usually one called F1, in my guide in Italian (use google translate) find patterns and how to fix it by yourself without assistance or send him to spend too much money!

My guide on the gearbox connector or fuse here in my web site:

http://rodolfo-parisio.jimdo.com/nuovi-articoli-2015/

excluding internal antenna BAR and connecting an external dipole will really make the DX beautiful in the HF bands, and 'sensitive enough. For those who are 'skeptical can see some tutorial videos on HF receiving my website here:

http://rodolfo-parisio.jimdo.com/nuovi-articoli-2016/

Best 73 de Rudy - IW2BSF
 
WA6KQN Rating: 4/5 Jan 24, 2016 15:28 Send this review to a friend
Sensitivity  Time owned: more than 12 months
Had the radio for many years. This is more in nature of a question than a review! My TH-F6A hates
to be anywhere near a TV, VCR, Fluorescent lighting,
computers etc. It is impossible to squelch when
exposed to this type of radiation. I just wonder if
anyone else has this problem?
Other than this annoyance, it is a great radio and
I would recommend it to anyone wanting an HT.
 
AA5AZ Rating: 5/5 Nov 13, 2015 12:25 Send this review to a friend
Works like the proverbial charm  Time owned: more than 12 months
I'm not sure why anybody would have anything bad to say about this radio. Kenwood markets this radio as a good radio for starters. It was my first radio. It is also the first radio for about three of the guys I have Elmered and another four people I know personally. When I try to recommend to people a good first HT, I talk about everything from the Chinese radios all the way to the big three. They always look at the features and the price and go with the Kenwood TH-F6a and I've actually tried to talk some into an Icom just so somebody around me would have one for me to hold and see.
You won't be disappointed.
 
KM9Q Rating: 2/5 Jul 12, 2015 13:29 Send this review to a friend
I would not buy again  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought this radio a few years ago, and did not research it very much before buying it. I will never again repeat this mistake.

This radio has two things that I find unacceptable.

1. Mic gain is not adjustable. TX is in the mid to lower range of normal FM deviation, but I like my FM deviation a little louder than this. Do we all speak at the same volume level? No. Why on earth do radio manufacturers make some models with no adjustable mic gain?

2. The alkaline battery pack available from Kenwood, last time I checked, does not allow the full 5 watts on TX. Best I remember it is about a half watt max. Hopefully some aftermarket alkaline battery pack is available. After all, during an extended power outage, alkaline batteries may be your only power source.

I only use the radio now to listen while at work sometimes.

I will never again buy any radio that does not have an adjustable mic gain.

The only positive things about this radio that I can think of is it's extended RX, the ability to monitor SSB, and the ability to TX full power on the 220 MHz band, assuming of course that you are using the rechargeable battery or cig lighter adapter, and that's about it.
 
WB5LFV Rating: 5/5 Mar 5, 2015 13:20 Send this review to a friend
excellent radio  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
this is a great little radio it has all mode receive with usb/lsb capability and from 100khz to 1300mhz so you can hear a lot of stuff on this little wonder! it also has 2,1 1/4, and 70cm transceiver. I use a sma connector with a long wire soldered on so it helps it hear the hams plus all the shortwave stations! I can assure you this gives you a lot over the $39 ht's and in a small package! this is a great buy and is the only ht ever made with this kind of receiver built in! so go buy one and see for yourself! :)
 
AE9C Rating: 5/5 Feb 15, 2015 10:04 Send this review to a friend
Some Cheper,, None Better  Time owned: more than 12 months
Nice size,,3 Bands,,Extended Receive,,Great Audio..Sweet !!!
 
W8STU Rating: 5/5 Nov 19, 2014 13:51 Send this review to a friend
GREAT HT  Time owned: more than 12 months
I HAVE HAD THREE OF THESE HTS. I REALLY ENJOYED USING THE TH-F6A. I NEEDED THE MONEY AND SOLD THEM. I REALLY MISS THE HT SO I AM GOING TO GET ONE FOR CHRISTMAS.

I REALLY LIKE THE EASE TO PROGRAM AND HAVING FIVE WATTS ON ALL THREE BANDS. I FOUND THAT HAMCITY HAS THEM ON SELL FOR $298.00. I AM GOING TO BUY ONE FROM THEM. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HT FOR EVERYONE. 73, STU W8STU
 
KK4MRN Rating: 5/5 Jun 18, 2014 15:07 Send this review to a friend
My first ham radio was a great decision  Time owned: more than 12 months
I got licensed in November 2012 and I bought my first ham radio in March 2013. I had many months to read about all the radios out there.

Many hams suggested that I get a radio that has at least 2 bands, such as, 2m/70cm. Plus, I wanted a wide-receiver that could receive other ham bands, shortwave broadcast, AM broadcast, FM broadcast, etc.

I cut a 66 foot hook up wire and strung it around my bedroom. I was able to hear people talking on various HF bands. I played with the various modes and the bands.

Very fun.

The radio is tough - I have dropped it so many times - including on the hard concrete. The worse thing that happens is the battery pops off. You just pop it back on.

The downside is that you get no warning your power is low unless you keep checking the power.

By yourself another antenna like a Diamond or Comet antenna which performs much better than the rubber duck. Or build yourself an Ed Fong J-Pole antenna for 2m/440.

By the way, the 222 band is alive. I have made many contacts on a 224.42 repeater where i live.

I do not have another HT to compare against, but I can say that this radio is a very good radio that I still use.
 
Page 1 of 27 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.