eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Software - Other than logging | RUFZ CW Practice Help


Reviews Summary for RUFZ CW Practice
Reviews: 9 Average rating: 4.8/5 MSRP: $Freeware
Description: "XP-native" program, with standard Windows interface. Still the same high-intensity, just-faster-than-you-can-copy CW practice as the old version.

This program is really good for developing keyboard-based copy speed.

Product is in production.
More info: http://www.RufzXP.net
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the RUFZ CW Practice.

NI0C Rating: 5/5 Feb 14, 2010 09:31 Send this review to a friend
Effective cw practice for all skill levels  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I only recently learned about this resource from a link on the CWOPS website. The latest version of this splendid program is called "RufzXP - Tancredi." The website has a charming story of how the program got its name.

It only takes a few minutes to go through fifty callsigns with this program, and I find it helpful for maintaining and improving my short-term memory as well as acquiring some high speed code practice.
 
NI0C Rating: 5/5 Feb 14, 2010 09:21 Send this review to a friend
Fun way to improve code speed!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I only recently learned about this resource from a link on the CWOPS website. The latest version of this splendid program is called: RufzXP - Tancredi." The story of how it got its name is quite charming (see the website for details), and its authors DL4MM and IV3XYM have done an outstanding service to the CW community by writing and maintaining it.

As I understand it, the scoring points are proportional to the square of the speed, directly proportional to the accuracy of one's responses, and only a logarithmic function of the quickness of one's response. Thus, short term memory is emphasized over typing skills.

It only takes a few minutes to run through 50 consecutive callsigns, so I use the program quite regularly-- sometimes several times in one day.

The program tracks your progress and, when you set a new high score or achieve a new maximum speed, it will setup an e-mail to send to the authors who maintain a weekly "TopList" on their website.
 
KT8K Rating: 5/5 Aug 16, 2009 13:16 Send this review to a friend
Great fun and it WILL improve your CW  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is a great tool for boosting your CW speed, and it is a lot of fun to compete. I can't imagine how some of the speedsters on the web page can be so fast, but it's fun to chase them.
The program is stable and well written, and I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. (You can't beat this good a program for free!)
 
VK4TJF Rating: 5/5 Aug 16, 2009 04:31 Send this review to a friend
great  Time owned: more than 12 months
OK i confess I'M addicted to it
excellent tool for learning call signs
and preparing for contests
has helped me heaps
 
G6LFT Rating: 5/5 Oct 18, 2007 05:13 Send this review to a friend
Addictive  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
BEWARE - RUFZ IS ADDICTIVE!

I am not one for playing computer games but Rufz has got me hooked. Others have explained how it works so I won't restate it. It is a well written and very stable program and the fact that it is free means that anyone can try it out withouit risk - give it a go!

It is NOT a test of typing but a test of CW, very clever and a great positive feedback learning package.
 
G0RTN Rating: 5/5 Dec 19, 2005 15:06 Send this review to a friend
I feel the need, the need for speed!  Time owned: more than 12 months
The premise of the programme is simple - it sends you a random amateur callsign at a pretedermined speed. Get it right and you get a bunch of points and it bumps the speed up a bit. Get it wrong and you might just get a few points if you aren't too far out and it knocks the speed down a bit. The number of points is related to the length of the callsign, and primarily the speed sent.

The constantly varying speed keeps you right at the edge of you ability, and if you persevere with the program over weeks and months your speed improves, imperceptibly, until you are comfortably copying speeds that sounded like a blur at one point.

An added bonus is that, like many of these programmes, it has a competitive international high score table, but more than that, RUFZ is the official program used in the World High Speed Telegraphy Championships.

I've used this program for about 8 years now, and although I sometimes get bored with it, I find myself picking up on it again. With the speed varying between 12 and 147 (!!) words per minute, it really does cater for all abilities.

And it's free, and we hams LOVE free stuff!
 
KD5QEF Rating: 5/5 Nov 30, 2003 02:24 Send this review to a friend
Excellent!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
An excellent piece of software for improving code speed and CW practice. This software must run in DOS mode. So, if you have an old computer running Win98 for example, create a shortcut on your desktop and under the shortcut advanced properties, load the DOS driver with "Device=C:\.sys for your computer's sound hardware and if it's an old machine try the RUFZ -NOCHECK option if you have difficulties with "speed errors" (see http://www.darc.de/referate/dx/xedtrgs.htm). If installed correctly and run under DOS (DOS sound drivers in CONFIG.SYS), it works splendidly. What's nice about a DOS program like this is that it will run on all sorts of old computers (I run it on an old Pentium 150 Thinkpad 380 laptop). Many thanks to Mr. Kolpe for making this software available to those of us like me who need to improve our CW copying. Well done!
 
WA5BDU Rating: 4/5 Apr 14, 2000 08:14 Send this review to a friend
A high-intensity CW practice program  Time owned: unknown months
RUFZ might scare you off at first if you're not careful. It's like a video game where the enemy ships keep coming faster as you get better. RUFZ keeps analyzing your copy and cranks the speed to the level where you're at maximum stress. The competitive nature of it keeps practice from being so boring. First, your own scores are on screen so you compete to try to top them. Then, you can post your high score to the RUFZ web page for all the world to see.

Will I ever be able to tell an H from a 5 at 50 wpm?

73, Nick--WA5BDU
 
N2MG Rating: 4/5 Sep 28, 1999 16:33 Send this review to a friend
Good practice makes perfect.  Time owned: unknown months
A simple program that gets the job done if you want to be able to copy high-speed callsigns. Submit your results to the web site for bragging rights. Check the eHam links for the current URL.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.