eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Motorola HT-1250 Help


Reviews Summary for Motorola HT-1250
Motorola HT-1250 Reviews: 14 Average rating: 4.6/5 MSRP: $800
Description: HT1250 is a high luxury and professional radio.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Motorola HT-1250.

Page 1 of 2 —>

KC2OBW Rating: 5/5 Mar 26, 2011 08:10 Send this review to a friend
Awesome Radio!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I give it 5/5. I have an R split version (403-470) Perfect for the ham band! Defiantly a true work horse and one of Motorola's best radios ever made. Use mine for Redcross(My chapter has a few uhf repeaters) and Ham and for monitoring the local fire freqs. The programming software can be a little tricky to get used to. These radios do tend to use up the battery pretty quick thats why I have 3 two standard capacity and one high cap..high cap battery does last for a while... some of the cool features is the battery level display and the built on clock.

If you want one that's more then 16 channels then stay away from the HT1250LS or LS+ models. The just plain HT1250's will do 128 channels.
 
N0FPE Rating: 5/5 Feb 6, 2009 04:50 Send this review to a friend
works for me  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I have the UHF (S) version. 403-470mhz. It is a bit confusing to use at first, moving between zones and setting different parms. But once you get the hang of it, no sweat. I have the software also and I will agree the software is VERY confusing to use at first. Stay away from the (D) version as it will not program into the ham bands. All in all it is a nice radio. i use it as my work truck radio with the mobile cradle. I am on the outlook for a VHF model now.
 
WH6TD Rating: 5/5 Feb 6, 2009 00:41 Send this review to a friend
I need a manual for this radio...  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Does anyone have a manual for this radio or some basic tips on how to do some things with it?
 
KC2OBW Rating: 5/5 Aug 14, 2008 21:31 Send this review to a friend
Great Radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Well I think this radio is great for the price I paid for mine FREE!! yeah I traded my old GE KPC for one of these bad boys. The radio is excellent. I have a VHF version which covers 136-174, which makes it great for the ham bands, currently I have mine programmed for the local 2 meter machines and some local PD and EMS stuff, and as soon as I get into the resuce squad I applied to I then will program thier stuff in there. It is a great radio, the software on the other hand can be a bit confusing at first but once you get to know it, its not really that bad.
 
NH7CY Rating: 5/5 Mar 1, 2006 19:14 Send this review to a friend
love this radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
if you're looking for a great radio that'll go anywhere you do then this is the radio for you.

i currently own 3 of these radios, and at one point owned 6, 2 ht1250 LS+ and 1 ht1250 conventional, all in the UHF band. i can honestly say, that they may not be a jedi radio, nor an xts, but anything short of that and this radio is perfect.

with 128 available channels, an 14 character alpha numeric display, a full keypad on some models, mdc encode and decode, RSSI meter, battery strength meter, voice recorder, and more feature than i can shake a stick at, i'd reccomend this radio to anybody.

over the years ive taken these radios everywhere. i have dropped them in the snow, dragged them through mud, soaked them out in the rain, waded with them through rivers, got them covered in sand, and dropped them out windows. you name it, these radios have seen it.

one of the greatest things about this radio is the display. out of the many motorola radios i have owned, this display is the most user friendly. unlike displays on other popular motorola radios such as the mts 2000, mt 2000, jt 1000, xts 3000, etc, this display not only shows you the name of the channel you're on (in upper and lower case letters unlike all of the JEDI models that only let you use upper case letters), but it will also show you the time, incoming signal strength, your power level, and the amount of power remaining on your battery.

the features on this radios display make it a great candidate for search and rescue. you'll know when to replace your battery without running the risk of a dead battery leaving you stuck out in the field without a radio. you can tell the time so you know when to report back to headquarters, and you can also read the signal strength of incoming transmissions so you'll know whether or not to switch to a different channel or a repeater.

another great feature of this radio is its ability to automatically switch its power output according to the strength of incoming signals. that way you'll be able to conserve your battery and use your unit over a longer period of time.

these radios also come equipped with MDC 1200 signalling (not available in conventional modes on LS, and LS+ models). another plus when used among many other radios with mdc capabilities. the ht1250 comes with equipped with mdc decode, allowing you to view the unit IDs of any radio on the channel you are using, assuming they are all using MDC.

the only con i would post about this radio is that for some, the programming software may be hard to come by, is a little complicated to use, and you are required to buy a cable to program the radio with.

also, when buying an ht1250, be careful not to buy an LS, or LS+ model unless you are planning on utilizing its LTR capabilities. the ht1250 LS, and LS+ models can only do 16, 18, or 32 conventional modes, and will not do mdc signalling, though there are some rare ht1250 LS radios that can do up to 128 conventional modes with full signalling capabilites but i would recomend sticking with the regular ht1250. also, be sure to get a radio with a firmware revision greater than 2.00.00 as the original firmware of 2.00.00 and lower is riddled with problems which make many of the radios features unuseable.

besides that, the ht1250 is a great radio and i would reccomend it to anyone who is looking for a great, user friendly radio that they can take anywhere.
 
KB4TPP Rating: 4/5 Nov 26, 2005 06:16 Send this review to a friend
Good choice  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I have owned both VHF and UHF versions and these are decent portables though they aren't the same caliber of radio as a Jedi (MTS2000/HT1000). The UHF radio developed a fault with the volunme pot and was replaced at the depot 3 months into service (fairly common issue with the Waris radios).

Overall performance is what you'd expect from Motorola. Loud RX audio, the transmit audio isn't as clear and natural as the HT1000 or MTS2000 though. Sounds a little muddy even with pre-emphasis enabled in CPS. The radio is full featured and supports every kind of signalling known to man: MDC,DTMF, and Quick call. Very easy to read display from any angle.

This is a good radio indeed and while it is expensive (used they run anywhere from 350-500 dollars) it is a worthwhile choice if you want a commercial HT for both work and play.

The downside is the software is pricey, hard to get (Motorola doesn't like to license it out to end users especially if there are many dealers in your area). In that respect, an Icom F30/F40 is a better choice (cheaper overall and Icom doesn't play games selling software either).
 
KI4DQK Rating: 4/5 Oct 1, 2004 15:51 Send this review to a friend
HT 1250 Software  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is a nice radio but I am unable to locate the programming software. Does anyone know where I can find it?
 
KF4PXZ Rating: 4/5 Aug 10, 2004 10:55 Send this review to a friend
It's no MT-2000 but it will do  Time owned: more than 12 months
My MT-2000 died, and I did not want to sink another $1k+ into another one, so I bought the HT-1250. This radio is full of features and options, some I like real well, some I don't see any need for but they're cool anyway.

Good, clean audio, tx out is good, rx was good out of the box but better when I got a longer antenna off of a MT-1000. The stubby VHF antenna that it comes with is less than adequate, get a longer antenna.

Battery life is okay, with an average life of 12-14 hrs while scanning with the stock battery. I just bought a new high cap battery and it has been running now for about 18 hrs and the battery meter (another nice feature) shows full charge.

Here are a list of the features I like:

dual priority scan, user programmable - You have to create scan lists in the RSS and then assign a scan list to each channel. The RSS wil default to no scan list on each channel, so you will have to tell the RSS which scan list you want each channel to be a part of. Kind of confusing until you figure out exactly what you want.

QCII decode & encode - nice feature if you want to set off someone's QCII pager. The CAP code has to be set up with the RSS in advance, and tagged to a specific channel.

MDC1200 ID - displays the decoded number on received MDC1200. It does sometimes false and chop up the audio. I ended up turning this feature off because it was too much information.

Easily upgraded - My HT-1250 was the limited keypad model, but I wanted the full keypad. The limited keypad and the full keypad are electrically identical, all you have to do is go on Ebay and buy a full keypad recase kit, recase the radio, then go into the RSS and "turn on" the DTMF. The DTMF sidetone is much louder than it needs to be on keypress.

Programmable buttons - The radio has seven programmable function buttons.

Okay, now for the bad news:

Programming can be difficult. If you don't have access to the software, rib and cable, better take it to someone who knows these radios well. At $45/hr bench charge, trial & error can get expensive fast.

Priority scan. I don't know if this is just my radio or something with all of them. When I am using priority scan and the radio stops on a busy channel it will false activate and go to the priority 1 channel even though there is no activity on priority channel. I have the beep turn on, so it really chops up the audio. Doesn't do it all the time, and it doesn't do it as bad when I have priority 2 disabled.

Zones - Channels are assigned to zones of 16 ch. each. You get to them through the menu. It takes at least four steps which is a little inconvienent.

All in all it's a good radio. Better get them while you can. It won't be very long until new, commercial 25 kHz radios are no longer available thanks to refarming.
 
PAUL_KQ6EH Rating: 5/5 May 3, 2004 03:16 Send this review to a friend
A Real HT !  Time owned: more than 12 months
PROS: Works great in highly populated local RF environments. Does not cook your hand like many of todays smaller HT's during a rag chew. Is much more frequency stable. Has audio which is louder than any other Amateur Radio HT Iíve ever owned. Takes a real beating. The HT and accessories are built to last. CONS: Price, Size, Ease of Programming. Personally, I give this HT a thumbs up.
 
KB1JRX Rating: 5/5 Mar 26, 2004 00:53 Send this review to a friend
A keeper  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought a UHF and VHF version used. Fortunately I have access to the programming software which makes it more difficult for most to program, but if you have access to this, get this radio. I have several HAM HTís from other manufactures, and this is the only one I use for events. It has great audio and noise rejection. Very durable and easy to use. I use the slim NiMH that gives a great feel to the HT with long battery life. The only down side is the fact it is single band, but if you work mostly one band, then that should not be a problem. If you need a HT that has proven performance and longevity, the 1250 is the right choice.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.