eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | QRP Accessories | Oak Hills Research RFL-100 Dummy Load Kit Help


Reviews Summary for Oak Hills Research RFL-100 Dummy Load Kit
Oak Hills Research RFL-100 Dummy Load Kit Reviews: 15 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $34.95
Description: The Oak Hills Research RFL-100 was designed specifically for the QRP operator and builder who needs an accurate and stable 50 Ohm load. Handles 100 Watts continuous (air cooled).
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.ohr.com/rfl100.htm
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Oak Hills Research RFL-100 Dummy Load Kit.

Page 1 of 2 —>

FORMER_NS2P Rating: 5/5 Jun 21, 2013 00:14 Send this review to a friend
Great Kit  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is a well-packaged, quality kit. All items were included and instructions were well done. I've only used this around 10 watts or so, not 100, but did what is was supposed to do. I would gladly build anything from Oak Hills in the future.
 
KD8GKR Rating: 5/5 Sep 5, 2011 19:04 Send this review to a friend
Great Compact Dummy Load  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have been using this for a year now. It is fun for a beginner to build and it is compact. If you are doing a portable operation, this is a must have to bring along. At 100 watts it doesn't get hot, I would say barely warm. The first time I used it testing a piece of equipment, it was well worth the cost and fun of building. Mine measured out at 49.8 ohms. I have a cantenna, ever try lugging one around hoping not to knock the lid off. If your in the market for a accurate/compact 100 watt dummy load, look no farther.
 
K4TL Rating: 5/5 Sep 13, 2009 15:41 Send this review to a friend
Nice Product  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Nice kit, went together easily, compact and works great. Measures 50 ohms on the dot.
 
KG9E Rating: 5/5 Oct 7, 2008 23:15 Send this review to a friend
Great little kit, perfect for beginners!  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is a very easy and very enjoyable kit to build. It is very good for those who are new to kit building and electronics. It teaches wiring parallel banks of resistors in series. Furthermore, you are building a basic yet important component of your ham radio gear.
It is well built and will last for years.

I've since ordered the OHR 40 meter CW kit, and that was fun, too!
 
NU4B Rating: 5/5 Jan 14, 2008 01:51 Send this review to a friend
Nice Kit  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Nice kit, easy to build, and perfect size for a QRP shack. As someone said its overkill for 5 watts, but you never know when you might want to use it with more power. I don't think you can make a dummy load look any better. Worth the money and if you like to build, why not?
 
KB1NIV Rating: 5/5 Dec 3, 2007 13:35 Send this review to a friend
Easy Kit - Works Great  Time owned: more than 12 months
I built this kit over several hours while chatting with my wife and a house guest. It's easy to put together and after it was mounted in the enclosure I measured 49.6 ohms at the SO-239 connector in the back of the box. I have used the RFL-100 while troubleshooting the menu setups for an IC-718 set to 80 watts output for a half hour and the dummy load did not get warm. It's way overkill for a QRP rig and should last forever.
 
OE3SGU Rating: 5/5 Oct 28, 2007 10:11 Send this review to a friend
nice addition to qrp shack  Time owned: months
just finished building this nice kit. went together without any problems, all parts are high quality. the manual is a bit thin, but theres not much to say about a dummy load. nice addition to my qrp shack.
 
W7JBB Rating: 5/5 Aug 24, 2007 21:17 Send this review to a friend
Great beginner project  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Built in about an hour. Just like their other products, it is of exceptional qualtiy. In order to build this--- one only needs to be able to solder. The instuctions are bullet poof, the quality is exceptional.

Ordered another 100A transceiver as soon as I finished the dummy load. Great qrp kits

Same quality as Elecraft. A "must build" for the qrp homebrewer.

Bruce W7JBB (been building for over 50 years and still doing it.)
 
AB4BC Rating: 5/5 Jan 10, 2007 06:52 Send this review to a friend
Great product  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The kit is alot of fun to build, simple design and works great. After assembly, the load measured a perfect 50 ohms and handles the power specified (100 watts) with no problem. SWR is 1:1 throughout the specified range. Very nice enclosure and looks great on the work bench.

Highly recommended!
 
KB5DRJ Rating: 5/5 Dec 22, 2005 01:19 Send this review to a friend
Works good for me.  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
The kit was easy to assemble with its heath like assembly manual. The dummy load works great!
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.