eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Tempo S1 Help


Reviews Summary for Tempo S1
Tempo S1 Reviews: 10 Average rating: 4.8/5 MSRP: $349.00
Description: VHF synthesized Handheld
Product is not in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Tempo S1.

KC2VDM Rating: 5/5 Apr 3, 2011 14:39 Send this review to a friend
great, easy to fix, and great audio!!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
i just got a tempo s1 at a local hamfest for $15! it didn't work at the time, so i took it apart and noticed the battery had partially leaked. i found a manual online, and noticed the voltage was supposed to be 9.6 vdc. i swapped it with a 9v battery, i didnt work. i went to bed. the next morning i took another look inside, and noticed the ground wire (black) was loose. as soon as i touched it to the solder it went to on the board, the radio came to life! i soldered it in, put it back together, and tested it. after a little use, receive worked great!tx didnt work, but +600 worked. i jiggled the switch on back for 10 minutes, and tx worked!DTMF also worked now!

though it may only be 1.5 watt, used a crappy battery, no ctcss, and have an odd antenna connector, it is still a great simplex radio. i will certainly buy another!
 
WA6PEW Rating: 5/5 May 6, 2009 09:58 Send this review to a friend
S-5 Mint Condition  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have one of these in mint condition. I found it at a "civilian" swap meet for $6. It was my second HT. First one was a Standard C156 or something like that.

It just needed a battery. It does have one other problem. It's about 1kc low. Does anyone know where I can get new crystals for this rig? I have the manual somewhere but I'm not sure if the xtal freqs are listed. I guess I could change the warping caps. Has anyone done this?
Rudy
 
KC0MNM Rating: 5/5 Nov 3, 2006 09:20 Send this review to a friend
Overall dependable HT.  Time owned: more than 12 months
I am into vintage gear. Several HT's I've invested in have not held up well. I currently have two working Tempo S-1's and one for parts. The Tempo's seem to be like the Energizer bunny. They keep working and working and working. I was able to get some NiMH batteries for them and they can go for a long time between charges.

Of course, they are very basic with no CTCSS encoding on them, but where I live, I don't really need it.

Once in a great while, one of the HT's doesn't do the -600 kHz shift for repeater use, but I just shift it to simplex and then back and it works.

Very basic with the thumb wheel input, but very little to go wrong.

I'm like a previous reviewer in thinking there should be a discussion group for this radio. Great little, reliable rig!
 
K1YPB Rating: 5/5 Nov 4, 2005 10:23 Send this review to a friend
Real good basic HT  Time owned: more than 12 months
I got my S1 back in 1980 and still have it. It was my primary HT for almost 20 years. Went through two sets of batteries in 20 plus years. I don't use it any more because I don't know where I can get a battery for it. I use a VX-150 now which I really like. There was nothing simpler than the S1 though. I gave it a "5" for what is was then (in the 80's) and its long term reliability. Of course against todays HT's it is really a 2 or 3 or so now. They were really good HT's
 
WM5E Rating: 5/5 Nov 3, 2005 22:06 Send this review to a friend
It always worked  Time owned: more than 12 months
It was my first HT also, and I spent hours and hours on it. I could always tell when the battery was getting low by the little "Ping" tone.
I didn't even need to ID, everyone knew it was me.
I wish I still had it. It lasted through repeated drops, rain and 18 million thumbwheel QSYs.
WM5E
 
W4HWD Rating: 5/5 Nov 3, 2005 20:00 Send this review to a friend
My 1st HT  Time owned: more than 12 months
It was my 1st HT when I was first licensed in '89. It was a great little HT! Destroyed it when I tried to charge the battery with a homebrew charger! The battery sizzled and leaked all over the inside! It's a classic now - if I hadn't wrecked mine I would have kept it!
 
KI4CH Rating: 5/5 Nov 7, 2003 22:29 Send this review to a friend
Tempo S1  Time owned: more than 12 months
The Tempo S1 was my 1st HT. It was the hotttest
going HT in its time. I wish I still had it. I do have a Tempo S2 the 220 Mhz HT and works good.

Paul KI4CH
 
KA1BTI Rating: 4/5 Apr 7, 2003 12:59 Send this review to a friend
Not forgotten  Time owned: more than 12 months
The HT that started it all! A revolutionary handheld in it's time, now all but forgotten with the advent of scanning and CTSS. These were serious handhelds, actually a rugged design,(even by today's standards), and a great receiver. Don't try plugging in a speaker mic, the right jack on top is actually for an external antenna! Also a "proprietary" threaded socket for the rubber duck. I'll keep mine and shake off the dust now and then for a return to the 'golden age' of 2 meter FM!
 
N9FDE Rating: 5/5 Jan 12, 2003 17:41 Send this review to a friend
just fun  Time owned: more than 12 months
Well, heres the deal......
I have owned S1's sence I was a kid...The S1 was the very first HT I ever owned I have 2 of them right now....Their great little beater ht's they talk well sound good have great recivers...
Thing is, Right now im looking for another one... I need one for parts as one of mine has a problem...So, If anyone who is reading this has an old one laying around gathering dust let me know...(N9FDE@aol.com)

 
FUZZYMCNAB Rating: 4/5 Oct 30, 2002 01:06 Send this review to a friend
I can't be the only one  Time owned: more than 12 months
I know there are a bunch of us guys who own and love the s1's. We need to find or make a forum to share our info.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.