eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Receivers: General Coverage | Grundig YB300PE Help


Reviews Summary for Grundig YB300PE
Grundig YB300PE Reviews: 7 Average rating: 3.6/5 MSRP: $99.00
Description: Portable PLL shortwave receiver
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.grundigradio.net
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Grundig YB300PE.

N5LXI Rating: 3/5 Oct 30, 2013 02:53 Send this review to a friend
OK  Time owned: more than 12 months
I got a floor model very cheap at Fry's. It makes a pretty good travel AM/FM radio. It's easy to program the alarm, better than many portable receivers where you have to set the days. It is compact.

The small speaker is ok for AM talk radio, not so much for FM and music. The SW is usable for strong broadcast stations or WWV. It's not for serious SWL's.

HINT: If it ever stops working, press the small RESET button in the battery compartment. It fixes it!
 
TERRYW Rating: 1/5 Jul 30, 2009 11:29 Send this review to a friend
Lacks too many features  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is just too basic a radio to be worth bothering with. A G6 would be better and a G5 blows it away.

Pros:
sensitive on SW, MW & FM
indoor random wire antenna (not spool)
map with time zones on flip stand
DX/Local switch

Cons:
tinny sound
only one filter size
tunes only in 5 kHz steps
no SSB
awkward frequency entry only works for freqs in whichever "band" you've selected - an entry outside of that gives you an error
very bad on fading distortion compared to G6, G5, ATS-909, E1 and even S350DL

Don't bother unless it's free, and even then you won't use it
 
BG4SFZ Rating: 4/5 Aug 30, 2003 01:31 Send this review to a friend
Not a bad starter  Time owned: more than 12 months
This little YB300PE would be refered to as TECSUN PL757A at its home land PR CHINA where DESHENG(TECSUN) designed and fabricated and using the YB300PE for Grundig. Tough and durable small radio that was carried along with me during my holidays travelling around Europe. Good sensitivity but selectivity weak. Sound sharp crispy!

 
LOOPCAT Rating: 4/5 Oct 18, 2002 01:08 Send this review to a friend
solid starter radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just got this radio 2 days ago, so the review is more of a first impression. Also this is my first SW purchase, therefore I have little to compare it to.

First off let me say that the radio looked smaller than what i expected. That's a good thing if your on the move and want to slip it in a coat pocket. It really is portable.

I got the YB300PE on an Ebay auction for $50.00
It was described as "refrubished". It looked pretty new to me. Included with the reciever came a AC plug, headphones, manual, case and 24-foot wire antenna.

My first test was a little frustrating because daytime listening is not the best. However around dusk the action started to pick up considerably. My first contract was Deutsche Welle. The signal faded in and out a bit, but was all understandable. BBC and V of America came in like gang-busters. So far, may longest range contracts have been Nigeria and Australia. With decent copies on both.

The whip antenna works well, However the external wire maded little difference. Maybe an active antenna such as the Sony AN LP1 would improve reception for the weaker stations.

The range covers the basics for SW. However, the absence of SSB makes listening to Ham Operators impossible.

When useing the AC adaptor, a very slight hum could be heard. Not too bad.

PROS
value
direct entry
good sensitivity
conservative battery consumption
24 hour clock
sleep and alarm functions
attractive
easy to use

CONS
too little memory, 6 channels per band not enough
case doesn't hold any acessories
lock feature no good for light (could drain batts!)
clock not seen while listening
long wire antenna ineffective

Overall, I recommend this radio to other beginners looking for a good entry-level radio. ALL THE BEST, John..
 
VE3ARL Rating: 5/5 Aug 24, 2002 16:09 Send this review to a friend
Grundig's Bare-Bones little gem.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
First off,my rating of 5/5 is based on performance for price. Performance however is exceptional from this light weight travel portable. The radio tunes all SW bands, from 2300 Khz to 7800 Khz, not just to 7.3 khz as shown in various adds, in SW1 range, and from 9100 khz (not from 9500 Khz) to 26100 Khz in SW2 range.(You have to toggle between the two) and you
can only direct-enter a freq in each band individually - FM AM SW1 and SW2.
I used the radio right out of the box on battery power only for about a week and the 3 AAs were still going strong. The supplied wall wart is free of any induced line noise and appears to be high quality.
Performance is very good. The audio is very sharp and crystal clear. Sensitivity is excellent and selectivity quite good with judicious use of the local-dx switch (attenuator). You will not need any external ant. on this radio, except perhaps on 13 and 11M SW. On the lower bands at night use the attenuator and this cuts out any overloading problems. Ultimate rejection of the single bandpass filter appears to be excellent.
The radio tunes only in 5 Khz steps, and the single time setting replaces freq. for 4 secs. by pressing Mode button.
This evening I compared the YB300PE with two other portables I own (in the $200-300 range) on 21740 Khz radio Australia, and this little under $100 dollar radio outperformed them both, using both whip and external antennas !!!
In my opinion the YB300PE is an oustanding buy and an excellent choice for travel as well.
 
VANDENPLAS Rating: 4/5 May 3, 2002 17:11 Send this review to a friend
Good for Holiday  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I bought the radio in august, 2000. it is a wonderful samll, travel-sized radio for listening to the world on the go, though it is unfortunate that its selectivity is poor. though i am moving on to bigger and better, this little radio is great for listening on the go; probably the best.
 
JSCHAEFF Rating: 4/5 Dec 6, 2001 02:26 Send this review to a friend
Nice little radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought this radio for $79 out of a catalog without really seeing one before. Previously I had used an old Philips digital portable. The idea was to keep this in the car. I was surprised at how small this radio was and that it had direct entry of frequencies. It features 24 memories to boot! Though made in China, the build quality is very good. Better than the YB400 I have just aquired.
To be honest, I didn't use this radio much even though I've had it for a year. That all changed of course on Sept. 11th. I constantly have been using it since. I work at JFK airport and was pulling a security detail which happened to overlook where the twin towers used to stand. I was tuned to the BBC one Sunday evening and listened to the liberation of Kabul. It was a great sw moment!
The sound quality can not keep up with the bigger portables but is amazing for its size. It is also a user freindly radio.
If you are looking for a fairly cheap good quality small portable, you could not go wrong with the YB300PE.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.