eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Receivers: General Coverage | Ten Tec RX-350 HF DSP Receiver Help


Reviews Summary for Ten Tec RX-350 HF DSP Receiver
Ten Tec RX-350 HF DSP Receiver Reviews: 10 Average rating: 4.1/5 MSRP: $1199.00
Description: Full featured, mid price range 100 Khz - 30 Mhz HF receiver with IF-DSP filtering.
Product is in production.
More info: http://tentec.com/rx350.htm
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Ten Tec RX-350 HF DSP Receiver.

AUSSIE Rating: 5/5 Mar 15, 2014 14:22 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I recently purchased a Ten Tec-350D in pristine condition hooked it up to my Wellbrook-ALA1530 Active Loop performance on hf aero is excellent only thing was missing was the manual dowloaded from the yahoo group and adjusted all settings very happy with it in future will purchase the 302R direct entry keypad...
 
K1FPV Rating: 5/5 Jan 26, 2013 13:06 Send this review to a friend
Great Receiver When Used Properly  Time owned: more than 12 months
Being an Amateur Radio Operator and SWL for better than 50 years, I've become acquainted with a number receivers over those years.

A few years ago, I had the opportunity to procure a Ten-Tec RX-350 used. It was a later version with the black case but no 12 kHz. IF output port for DRM (Digital Radio Mondiale)reception. The first thing is I got the info from Ten-Tec on adding the port and installed an output port for the 12 kHz. IF in the RX-350.

Unfortunately, there isn't a lot of activity aimed toward North America using DRM, but none the less, it works as well receiving DRM. I found the receiver to be about as sensitive as my Ten-Tec Jupiter....I think it basically uses the same receiver as the Jupiter.

Being a computer based receiver with a microprocessor, you must anticipate some computer type RF hash if the antenna is near to the receiver so I'm using 3 separate outside antennas fed to an antenna switch with coax.

With a good speaker hooked up to it, the audio is awesome. I've had an Icom ICR-75(which I have since sold), a Yaesu FRG-100, Ten-Tec RX-320D and an RX-340. Id rate the RX-350 just below the RX-340, then the FRG-100, ICR-75 and finally the RX-320D. With the RX-320D in last place doesn't mean it is a slouch by any means. The RX-320D is a formidable receiver and will hold it's own against most receivers.

At any rate, the RX-350 is here to stay and a great receiver when used properly!
 
KC7NYI Rating: 4/5 Jun 7, 2005 20:43 Send this review to a friend
TT350 D  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
ONE WEEK OLD. HAD A DRAKE 8B, WISH I WOULD HAVE KEPT IT. ONLY PROLEM I HAVE IS MORE THAN I STATIONS IS RECEIVED AT A TIME, THUS THE ATT MUST BE USED. QUALITY ,AND THE PRICE IS RIGHT. NOT TO MANY CHOICES SINCE DRAKE IS OUT OF THE SW BUSINESS. MY 746 PRO SEEMS TO DO ALMOST AS GOOD ON SW, I WILL KEEP IT FOR A FEW DAYS AND REALLY CHECK IT OUT. KEN KC7NYI
 
W2VD Rating: 2/5 Jan 11, 2005 13:52 Send this review to a friend
I like this receiver, BUT...  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my 350D early last year (2004). I use it for casual SWL'ing from my apartment QTH. I am prohibited from installing any outdoor antennas, so I am forced to use an indoor antenna. According to Ten Tec's 350 webpage, "Rear panel Hi-Z and Lo-Z antenna inputs allow connection of virtually any antenna to the RX-350D." This is true. The problem is the RF noise that the display generates, which is then picked up by the indoor antenna! The display noise, which sounds like a "rat-tat-tat-tat," is very noticable above around 20 MHz and above. I do most of my casual SWL'ing at lower frequencies, so this design defect does not cause a problem for me. Overall, the receiver is a pleasure to listen to. The filtering and synch detectors work well. If it were not for the RF being generated by the display, I'd rate this receiver between 4 and 5. But due to the RF being generated by the display, I give this receiver a 2.
 
WLFMN Rating: 5/5 Nov 23, 2004 08:50 Send this review to a friend
A great receiver, with some neat features.  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I am a program listener to SW, enjoying the overseas programming and culture. Beside the RX-350, I also own an ICOM R-75, as well as half a dozen or more portable SW units. The RX sits in my family room on a high shelf out of the reach of the kids. The remote control allows me to tune it from my easy chair without having to stand up. The top firing speaker that is standard on the unit is weak, and after adding a TenTec front firing speaker the audio has improved considerably. The unit is not as sensitive as the R-75. The sweep feature which allows you to see adjacent stations has been useful, and adds a fun dimension to tuning. The Synch AM works very well, and the filters are effective and a joy to use. Egonomics are excellent to my taste, but because this unit is more computer than Radio causes it to have some quirks. For example you cannot move through bands, sweep modes, or most of the other function rapidly. Each input must be entered and a pause is necessary before pushing the next desired input. In other words you cannot just push buttons as fast as your fingers will allow, the unit needs a split second to respond. If I were buying a radio new and had to pick between the RX 350 and a R 75 I would take the ICOM, but if you have an opportunity to pick up a RX 350 used for a good price as I have, then take the RX 350. If I would have paid full price the my rating would have been a 4, but for the 800 dollars I paid used, I love the features. If I were to purchase a new radio in this price range it would be a R8B, but I still am very happy with this rig. Good Luck! WLFMN
 
M3SKF Rating: 5/5 Aug 19, 2004 16:05 Send this review to a friend
PLEASED AS PUNCH  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
A new addition to the shack this one & what a great radio this is,DSP SYMSTEM works fine not as some reports on other web site would have you think.At first it was difficult to work the set but after a couple of hours it seems to fall in place.The radio runs SIDE by SIDE With other top class gear& allways makes a very good account of it-self,remaining stable on the freq..when others seems to wonder around.Mostly used on ham & mil data modes & in the on position for up to 16 hours a day,top class gear for the top class s/w/l.
 
MIKEHOLME Rating: 5/5 Apr 3, 2003 05:25 Send this review to a friend
Everything I wanted in a receiver !  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've had the RX-350 a few weeks now and I'm delighted with it. I've owned a lot of top end receivers (7030+, NRD545, 51S-1, RA1772, etc, etc) so knew how a receiver should basically perform. The RX-350 performs admirably. It may not be as good on the bench as some of these other rigs, but on the bench and actually listening to it are two different things. The audio is beautiful, incidentally I have the optional speaker. The display is wonderful, I listen with the RX-350 next to my bed with the lights off, I love it (SAD I know :) ). The range of functions covers pretty much everything and the radio is expandable via a menu button.
V1.15 has some nit picky clitches in the software that don't affect things (in my experience) and the Synchronous AM is not as good as it should be, be other than that it's fantastic.
As for the low sensitivity on LW, I only listen to BBC radio 4 on 198 KHz and I get it just fine at my QTH.
 
KD9AUR Rating: 3/5 Dec 7, 2002 18:54 Send this review to a friend
Not there yet.  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had this radio for a year now. Traded in a Drake R8B towards it hoping the downloadable firmware feature would cure any bugs. It is a very stable unit for tuning SSB and CW, but the synch detector simply is of no use on AM signals as it loses lock very easily. There are still software bugs galore and the unit freezes up once in a while necessitating a reset which emptys the memories. The remote keypad and tuning knob are way-cool features, as is the bandscope, which led me to trade in the Drake to try it out. The DSP NR and NB are just about useless; the NB doesn't kick in until after a setting of 5, and is only marginally effective. the NR muffles and distorts the audio. The unit is also prone to overloading and intermod from local MW AM statios. I added a high pass filter from PAR electronics to cure this problem. The RX-350 is,in my opinion, not as sensitive as the Drake for digging out weak signals, and I have encountered circuit hiss and other internally generated noise with the RX-350. Another major gripe is that firmware downloads cannot be uploaded into the RX-350 if your computer operates on Windows XP. I had to retreive an old copy of windows 98 just for this purpose. Looking back, I wish I had either kept the Drake or got an ICOM R75.
 
BB2 Rating: 5/5 Sep 8, 2002 11:57 Send this review to a friend
"what a cool radio"  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
My RX-350 arrived and my first impression was
"what a cool radio". It's a well built receiver
that is very user friendly. Reading the manual
thoroughly pays big. As for performance, it's
the best Iv'e ever owned. Many well thought out
features that give it expanded capabilities.
Back to performance, I'm pulling in much clearer
signals with only a 50' long wire. Thanks, Bobby
 
GTGG Rating: 2/5 Feb 21, 2002 21:22 Send this review to a friend
I Don't know What to think?  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just got this radio and now I am wondering what did I get into. I was going to get the icon r 75 You can control theres with a computer you get the cables for It I got this because I heard It was a better radio the Icon r 75 they say the bottons where out and this is more reliable I did not receave the cables for the radio I called ten teck He said I need to get It from a computer store well I did get it to hook up to the serial port and to the radio and nothing happen I would like to get it updated and perhaps do with it what you do with the icon r 75 I hope you did not mind but I will Check the Rx 350 out and try to give it a chance I also do not like the memory All I get to do is scan the memory I wold like to change the memory at a push of a botton and may be some numbers to push to swith memory channels I also would like a sleep timer and I mean a 1 boton timer like 10 20 30 min I will have more I hope I can figure this radio out and if you know what I need to do to get it to work on my computer let me know thanks for your time George Guyot
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.