- Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Friends Remembered
Survey Question

DX Cluster Spots

Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement

Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF Portable (not mobile) | MFJ 1622 Apartment Antenna Help

Reviews Summary for MFJ 1622 Apartment Antenna
MFJ 1622 Apartment Antenna Reviews: 27 Average rating: 3.6/5 MSRP: $99.95
Description: This Apartment Antenna lets you operate 40 through 10 Meters on HF and 6 and 2 Meters on VHF with a single antenna! Its universal mount/clamp lets you easily attach it to window frames, balconies, and railings. It also works great indoors mounted to a desk, table, or bookshelf. It's not a five element yagi, but you'll work your share of exciting DX! <br> <br>
Product is in production.
More info:
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the MFJ 1622 Apartment Antenna.

Page 1 of 3 —>

KM6HFR Rating: 0/5 Nov 21, 2017 15:46 Send this review to a friend
Crap - Never Worked  Time owned: more than 12 months
A complete waste of time and money. Complete crap. I could never get SWR below 18:1. I can't believe MFJ sells this junk.
KB3ZUO Rating: 2/5 Nov 21, 2017 12:39 Send this review to a friend
JUNK  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
It picks up only strong amplified regional signals but not very well . the telescoping sections fill up with water when left out as an apartment antenna would need to be , as they do it has worse reception.
KM6HFR Rating: 0/5 Sep 3, 2017 16:12 Send this review to a friend
High SWR on all bands!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I bought this antenna 9 months ago to attach to my 3rd floor balcony rail -- SWR was off the charts ~18::1 on all bands. I checked all connections, rechecked by moving the tap clip from the top "1" coil position to the middle and to the bottom and I still could not get a good SWR. I followed the instructions for counterpoise lengths and tapped coil position, still to no avail. I moved a few months ago and today I got it out of the box and tried it in my backyard on a tripod. Using a RigExpert AA-600 in multi band mode from 40m-2m, SWR ranged from 18.1 :: 1 at 7.00 MHz to 8.1::1 at 50.100 MHz, regardless of telescopic length or coil tap position. This thing simply does not work.
KF3EI Rating: 2/5 Jul 22, 2017 13:16 Send this review to a friend
Not recommended  Time owned: more than 12 months
I fortunately purchased mine used. First I upgraded the coax since the original RG-58 has minimal outer braid, then I changed the coil attachment to a sturdy stainless clip in place of the tiny copper clip. Next I measured out lengths of counterpoise at .28 wavelength for each band. The antenna nickel? coil has a suspiciously lower q than what is required, and in spite of my mods, almost all the rf current was getting lost before reaching the 3 joint telescoping antenna.
The bandwidth is very narrow below 15m assuming you want to work at SWR <2:1
This antenna just cannot work and consumes too much time and no fun just trying to get out a signal on 90 watts input with 2 w actual output. Contacts were found using WSPR, and occasionally using CW on 20m. I guess that makes sense.
K5VOP Rating: 3/5 May 23, 2016 08:17 Send this review to a friend
Works as described but poor contstruction  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
First off I must say that for my situation this antenna is the best option that I have found. That said, it does work as intended, for the most part. I tested various frequencies' SWR and could get 6-40 around 1.8-2.1:1. (more than one coil wire may be touching the clamp causing higher SWR). The antenna is compact, and very easy to put in my suitcase when I travel (this is what I bought it for). A carry case would be nice, I'll make or find one for it myself though. However, two issues I have with it: 1. first time using it the exposed coax lead that connects to the coil was broken off, very poor soldering job, I had to re-solder it. 2. The alligator clamp that is meant to clamp on the various turns of the coil is TOO large of clamp at the teeth end, I have to bend (spread apart) the coil wires if I want it to NOT touch the other wires and give a higher SWR. the clamp should be narrower at the nose so that you can easily clamp it on a single coil wire without having to bend the other wires away from it to keep them from touching the clamp as well. I am keeping the antenna because, as I said, it is my best option for hotel window antennas that I have found. But I am going to have to remove the alligator clamp and solder on a more narrow one so that I can actually clamp on ONE coil wire at a time. For what it is, the performance is good, the price is fair, but the construction is not so good, 3-4 rating. I shouldn't have to re-solder and exchange parts for it to work out of the box. (If the alligator clamp was more narrow I would probably be getting closer to 1:1 SWR as it wouldn't be touching more than one coil wire).
KA2DDX Rating: 4/5 Aug 24, 2015 06:36 Send this review to a friend
works well  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just thought I'd share my experience from this past weekend - I bought this antenna about 3 months ago and finally got to try it out in a park from a picnic table in a shelter - during a high solar wind day (conditions weren't very good) , and the feed point at picnic table top level - I put it on 20 meters, set the counterpoise wire at 18 feet - the end of the counterpoise was wrapped around a stick about a foot off the ground - tapped the coil 9 down - my mfj tuner got the swr almost flat - and I worked Cuba, Slovenia and Peru - ssb and cw - my first experience with this antenna or any antenna like it - quite surprised - have fun with yours.........

Larry KA2DDX
KD7ZCI Rating: 4/5 Mar 17, 2015 11:52 Send this review to a friend
Works Well  Time owned: more than 12 months
I got this antenna to get onto HF from an apartment and I worked great from my balcony. It comes with a 5.5 foot whip and about 35 feet of counterpoise wire. With some time I was able to get great SWR and signal reports on 40 meter, but I wanted to go lower. I purchased MFJ's 12 foot telescopic whip and used some 75 feet of leftover speaker wire from an auto project to make a longer counterpoise and was able to get onto 80 meters with low SWR and great signal reports, and now I use the 12 foot whip for 80-20 meter operations. Drawbacks: If it gets windy with the 12 footer on, go back to the 5.5 because the antenna does whip around quite a bit. I've had nothing break, but it does worry me.
KG5ARD Rating: 5/5 Mar 12, 2015 14:11 Send this review to a friend
Works for me!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I bought this antennae when I bought my Icom 718 for HF. I hooked it to my fence outside the window and began talking all over North America. After tweeking I was talking to South America. My darling wife doesn't like my dipole antennae that I take camping so this is going to be my camping antennae that I can hook to the picnic table. I am going to try it with QRP and see how it works. With the dipole I was talking coast to coast on 5 watts.
M1CXF Rating: 5/5 Oct 12, 2013 06:50 Send this review to a friend
a good compromise  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had this antenna for a number of years and have used it in a variety of situations. I have stopped being surorised by how it performs. If you consider its size and design as a temporary solution it is an excellent compromise.
VA3MLV Rating: 5/5 Aug 30, 2013 18:52 Send this review to a friend
VA3MLV  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Well this specific antenna was given to me from VE9DEN my friend Denni down in New Brunswick Canada where I'm at every summer for a few weeks visiting the YL side of the family, as always when I'm there I go over and visit Denni VE9DEN but this year he handed me a Power supply , FDK 2700 VHF transceiver and this MFJ 1622 antenna, hooked up everything and got on VHF ASAP , the antenna performs great on 2M and I also used it once I got back home to Ontario on HF where it also works great for what it is ( portable antenna )
So I give it a 5/5 !!!!!! 73
Page 1 of 3 —>

If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.