eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Power Supplies | Kenwood PS53 Help


Reviews Summary for Kenwood PS53
Kenwood PS53 Reviews: 9 Average rating: 4.4/5 MSRP: $350
Description: 22.5A 13.8V power supplie (used with Kenwood TS450/690/2000)
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Kenwood PS53.

PA3TVI Rating: 4/5 Aug 25, 2012 05:49 Send this review to a friend
Nice compact/reliable PS  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Bought it new, was the last one in the shop, clearence sale/bargain. Hooked it up to my TS-870. Very quite, when the temperature rises (and even in RX mode the temperature is rising quickly) the fan kicks in and the PS cools down quickly. Hardly any noice, you have to put your ear very close to the PS to hear/notice that the fan is active. Like the design, Kenwood quality. Glad I could buy it, it's no longer in production, the next generation PS-60 is based on the variable switching method. The PS-53 is the last Kenwood PS from the "old school". Reason for 4 instead of 5: I didn't/don't expect a noticeble temperature rise when my rig is only in RX mode.
 
KF6IIU Rating: 3/5 Jul 11, 2010 12:02 Send this review to a friend
Your basic linear PS  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Of course, this is a pricey, matching unit to your other Kenwood hardware. But it's a basic fixed linear power supply on the inside. Runs fairly warm, even at small current draws, I guess like most linear PSes, but heats up the shack noticeably compared to my Daiwa switching PS. Mine is set at about 14.4V. You can hear the fan when it comes on, but it is not loud.
 
WA1RAW Rating: 3/5 Jul 21, 2008 06:39 Send this review to a friend
Loud Buzzing  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned this power supply for several years. During that time I have used it with several rigs, and never come close to running it at its max output. It is extremely well built, with a nice quiet temperature-activated fan, and has a main power transformer that is actually potted, which is quality engineering that you rarely see nowadays. However, given its outrageous price, maybe it should be potted in gold, hi.

The only trouble is that my supply buzzes loudly!! In non-potted transformers you can usually cure this type ailment by readjusting a transformers mounts, or by readjusting its thru-bolts. Not this one!! Otherwise, it's a nice power supply...
 
VO1GXG Rating: 5/5 Jul 8, 2008 07:19 Send this review to a friend
Nice  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Quiet operation,can handle lots of abuse, runs clean runs cool and looks great!!
 
OE3SGU Rating: 5/5 Mar 19, 2008 12:10 Send this review to a friend
super quiet  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I am using mine to power the TS-570D. You hardly can tell its on. Just continues working. One of the things are worth the money.
 
GM6TVR Rating: 5/5 Dec 28, 2005 11:02 Send this review to a friend
Throw away your ear protectors.  Time owned: more than 12 months
Running the PS52, same as the 53 but only 240 volt input. Nice to run a power supply that allows you to hear the important things in the radio shack. My other well known power supplies sound like a washing machine doing a fast spin. You will not be disappointed with this one folks, nice one Kenwood,
73's - John GM6TVR / GM0FQV
www.johnblack.org
 
KG4RUL Rating: 5/5 Dec 4, 2002 08:28 Send this review to a friend
Quiet and Troublefree  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I use a PS53 with my Kenwood TS-2000X. As others have stated, you can hardly tell when the fan starts. The fans in my laptop and the old DEC MSDOS machine I use in the shack are MUCH noiser.

Dennis - KG4RUL
 
W7KPQ Rating: 5/5 Dec 4, 2002 02:37 Send this review to a friend
Nice and Quiet!!!!!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
This puppy purrs like a kitten. Very, very quiet. The fan if and when it comes on is super quiet. Never had a bit of trouble and have owned one of them for five years on a Kenwood transceiver and the other for just over a year on an Icom transceiver.
 
PE3HMP Rating: 5/5 Jan 5, 2002 14:07 Send this review to a friend
verry good  Time owned: more than 12 months
Used it with my TS450 and later TS690
I put some cooling paste under the sensor so the fan kicks in faster and made an extra led in the front to see if the fan is working because the fan is very quiet.

Never had anny problems with the power supplie, works great.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.