eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Vertical, Wire, Loop | Van Gorden G5RV Jr Help


Reviews Summary for Van Gorden G5RV Jr
Van Gorden G5RV Jr Reviews: 17 Average rating: 4.6/5 MSRP: $34.95
Description: 40-10m Dipole
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.nevadaradio.co.uk/acatalog/antennas-vangorden.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Van Gorden G5RV Jr.

Page 1 of 2 —>

IZ5PQT Rating: 4/5 Sep 20, 2010 12:58 Send this review to a friend
Confirmed: : very good performer  Time owned: more than 12 months
One year after my first review I want to confirm that this is a very good antenna. I have now the center supported by a vertical fiberglass pole that raises it up to about 7 m, so it is still not particularly high. With 100 W of my FT-450 I have confirmed 60 DXCC countries out of 5 continents. I have to correct my previous review about the usable bands. With the help of an external antenna tuner I work happily on the 30 and 15 m bands. However, even if it loads on 80 m, it is completely ineffective there. I think it would perform outstandingly if I could install it a bit higher to clear the surrounding buildings (I am in an urban area). I can recommend it even stronger than one year ago.
 
EI4GMB Rating: 5/5 Jun 11, 2010 09:17 Send this review to a friend
DXCC with G5RV Jr. !!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
The G5RV Jr.(51ft)(10m,20m,40m) was the first antenna I purchased as a Radio Amateur. I installed it 35ft above the ground and sloping northwards in an east-west configuration. At sunspot minimum and using just 100W, I reached DXCC with contacts on 5 out of 6 continents!!! It is a truly remarkable antenna. I have since bought a Carolina Windom at 4 times the price and in many instances the G5RV Jr. is better, so much so that I find myself constantly switching back to it!!! It is indeed a superb limited space antenna and even outperformed a vertical that I eventually took down. If you buy this antenna you will not be disappointed. It will definitely exceed your expectations!!!
 
N7MYW Rating: 4/5 Jun 26, 2009 08:40 Send this review to a friend
Good antenna  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I live in an apt and this was a long shot for size. I have one side of the dipole routed inside the room close to the ceiling and following the angles therin. Then the other side leads out the window under the eaves of the building.We are up about 20' so nit the greatest situation. But I admit it does well for where I have it and even loads up on 75 rather well and 6m too. I use the Yaesu FT817 on QRP so the performance won't be as good as it could but I'm happy with it.
 
K7HV Rating: 5/5 Feb 7, 2009 16:04 Send this review to a friend
Good city lot Antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have this up at 45 feet on an urban lot. I use a FT-857D and a LDG Z100 tuner. I usually build my own G5RVs with dog bone insulators and 1 inch ladder line, but I was feeling lazy. This unit looked well built for a $35 antenna, no need for sealant aside from the coax connection. I have had it up for awhile and have been able to tune it from 80-10 without problem. I even shorted the coax and ran it through a MFJ 949C tuner to put it on 160! (as an end fed "longwire")I loads up nicely from 80 on up- for SOME reason, 15 meters is tricky, but I can get it down to less than 2:1 when I crank the power down for tuning. In the 07 CQWW CW, I worked 51 countries in a casual hunt and pounce ops. It made it through a December 08 ice storm unscathed... I have NO complaints. It does what it is supposed to do.
 
NEW2GEN Rating: 5/5 Apr 28, 2008 11:08 Send this review to a friend
So far so good.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I'm using the MFJ G5RV Junior as my first HF antenna, with an AT-200 matchbox and an FT-100D 100 watt mobile (used as a newbie base QTH.)

I installed it with the center at 28 feet, atop two stacked fiberglass windsurfing masts (use what you have, right?) with the ends at around 20 feet up, tied with 80 lb fishing line and with no objects nearer than a few feet from either end. Just below the ladder line I coiled the coax on a 5 inch diameter and about a dozen turns with each winding about 3/8 inch of space between the next.

I tuned easily and then with EASE I (my QTH Houston, TX) made my FIRST HF DX contacts, ever. They were on USB phone on 20 meters. The first was in California and the second was a medical mission identifying as on American Samoa in the South Pacific. He was a popular station to work that evening. Pile ups galore. I waited until there was less activity, so as not to compete with the 1.5 KW ginormous Yagis. Eventually I took my turn and received 5 by 9 report.

Soooooooo...I'd say it works OK. Not bad for $35.

I also used it for a local 10 meter ragchew with no problems. Haven't tried 40 meters yet, but you can bet I will.

Considering the low cost, and performance as expected, I give it a 5 out or 5. I wasn't really impressed with the connector at the bottom of the ladder line, so I used weather seal and tape to keep the water out. It's very humid here and rains a lot.

It works for me. I'm reluctant now to spend any big bucks on another HF antenna. At least this gives me plenty of time to shop around and decide what else to buy/build and install.

73
Larry
KE5TCG, Houston
 
G8UBJ Rating: 5/5 Mar 3, 2008 03:51 Send this review to a friend
Value for money!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have run one of these for a few years and for such an inexpensive antenna they perform very well.
I recently put one up for a-b tests against my vertical (6BTV) - On RX and TX it performed better on 40m 30M 20M and 10M
The analyzer reveals its a good match on 40M 20M and 10M, lousy on 17,15 and 12M. Not a great match on 30M but tunes no problems and seems better than the vertical, but WDIK?
Assuming you have this antenna at a good height some improvements you could consider are -
- Replacing the plastic insulators with ceramic (Especially if you intend to run more than 100Watts)
- Replace the plastic connector at the feed point with an insulated, waterproof soldered joint - I have opened mine and it's just a hollow piece of tube with two wires and an SO239) it just feeds water into the end of your coax!
- add ten turns of coax at the feed point to reduce RF feedback on the coax shield.

Have a read up on the G5RV theory..
http://www.cebik.com/wire/g5rv.html
Its not strictly a dipole and you shouldn't use a balun unless you only intend to work 20M on it.
 
K0PYB Rating: 5/5 Aug 23, 2007 17:30 Send this review to a friend
Homebrew G5RV jr  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
After pulleying up separate dipoles in a space limited environment, I decided to build my own G5RV variant (the jr. 51ft flat top and 17ft ladder line, 100 coax and balun, also Heathkit 2060A transmatch) The antenna far exceeded my expectations! Not only does it load easily on 40,20,15 and 10 but it also loads easily on 80,17,12 and 6m! I was simply elated and awestruck at the same time. Not only does it load but I am able to obtain 1:1 on all those bands! I must admit I tried to also load it on 160m with no success. First two qso's (noon time) were from Virginia to Ohio and with 5/9 reports! (75 W SSB) Amazing....absolutely amazing! Now I have resolved my space limitation challenge. Great Antenna! At a different location many years back, I made and used a full sized G5RV with similar performance. How quickly my memory had forgotten the excellence and versatility of this antenna. K0PYB Virginia
 
N2LK Rating: 5/5 Aug 25, 2005 10:34 Send this review to a friend
Good All Band Ant  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have used this antenna in many installations including indoor attic over the last 6 years and it performs just great for its simplicity. On 10/20/40 meters running 100 watts max. I have worked tons of DX, including VK's and ZL's on 40 meters. Right now I have it in the backyard, apex at 25ft.and ends slope down to 9ft.. Works great for a simple wire and my internal rig tuner takes care of it on 10/20/40 and even 80! Tough though on 15, not a good performer on that band.

If you need a multi-bander, this is a good one to use.
73's
 
KE7BXP Rating: 5/5 Feb 26, 2005 11:48 Send this review to a friend
Very Pleased  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I selected the G5RV Jr. as an all band stealth antenna I could install behind my house in a neighborhood with CCRs. The centerpoint is suspended from a tree at about 30 ft with ends at 20 ft.

A tuner is required for all band operation, and I have been able to get SWRs < 2:1 on 40, 30, 20, 17, 15, 12 and 10 meters using a wide range Z-100. 30M requires a high range tuner, but it can be done. Although the antenna is supposed to be resonant on 40 M, I have found a tuner is required to avoid high SWR. This may be a result of how mine is installed where the wire is close to the roof, metal gutters, and trees.

I mostly work 20M and 40M PSK31. I have so far been able to work AR, AK, FL, TX, IN, MO, KY, NY, NM, AZ, CA, Mexico and even Venezuela from Oregon with 25 watts. It does not have the gain of a beam on a tower (2 S units below) or a vertical (about 1 S unit below), but is is getting the job done.

It only took about an 1 1/2 hours to build, and the construction is rugged. So far the antenna has survived 2 wind storms and one ice storm. Ice on the ladder line will effect the SWR, but this is not too frequent where I live.

The only drawback is that I can't use it for operation on 80/75. As an all band compact antenna, it is a great choice for 40M and above, and an excellent value.
 
KD7UNL Rating: 5/5 Oct 15, 2004 09:25 Send this review to a friend
Very Pleased  Time owned: more than 12 months
Been very pleased with this 52 foot Junior. I have it up about 25 feet along the roof ridge line with the last 15 feet sloping to a PVC pole on the back patio roof.

I have had some problems loading up on 15 meters at times. Though it doesn't claim to cover 80 meters I have gotten a 2:1 SWR using various internal and external antenna tuners.

Reports of signal strength and my DX abilities with this wire have exceeded my expectations, particularly since I am only running 100 watts.

The best $35 I have ever spent!
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.