eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | JRC JST-135 Help


Reviews Summary for JRC JST-135
JRC JST-135 Reviews: 12 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $1300
Description: HF General Coverage Transceiver
Product is in production.
More info: http://homepage2.nifty.com/jo2trh/jrc/135.jpg
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the JRC JST-135.

Page 1 of 2 —>

IZ1OSP Rating: 5/5 Jun 18, 2011 13:40 Send this review to a friend
VERY GOOD  Time owned: more than 12 months
I BOUGHT THIS RADIO IN 1992. IN THE YEARS I FINISH THE LINE AND I BOUGHT ALL NVT 56 - NFG 97 - NVA 88 - BWC AND FILTERS. I LOVE THIS RADIO. FOR A BEST TX MODULATION I USE THE WIDE 2.4 KHZ FILTER. NO MORE EXPENSIVE TO BUY NOW IS A VERY GOOD!
 
K0IXI Rating: 5/5 Nov 12, 2009 10:23 Send this review to a friend
Great Rig indeed  Time owned: more than 12 months
I use my JST-135 since 1995, purchased used (S/N 12xxxx). No problem at all.
CW is my only mode, so I mounted a 300 Hz filter plus the BWC just after its purchase.
I found the notch follow unit already inside.
In 2004 I mounted a Collins SSB filter too and also changed the filter unit silicon diodes with PINs type by HP, according to U. Rhode's QST articles. The receiver gained a lower noise.
Since 1995 I worked thousand of QSO with my 135 and I found it a wonderful rig.
Yes today it is an old rig, but I believe it could beat many modern TV-like radios.
 
N7JWH Rating: 5/5 Apr 12, 2009 17:38 Send this review to a friend
Really solid performer  Time owned: more than 12 months
I purchased this transciever in Japan in 1990 and used it there and subsequently here in Seattle. I operate primarily on SSB 20M. I do some code and find that the receiver is really sensitive and almost impervious to overload. I have the narrow filter but it really is not necessary. The transmitter reports I get from other Hams is that it sounds very natural and the audio is exceptionally clear. I drive a 3cx1200a7 when needed and it has adequate drive with the final operated in Grounded Grid with tuned input. Some of the control features take some getting used to but the manual is very clear and operation becomes natural with some practice. In all these years of operation I have never had a problem with the rig. I think that speaks for itself as far as the construction is concerned. It will operate with a companion receiver for double receiver operation. I don't do this but it is a nice mod so I am looking for a nrd 525.
This is a really nice radio for the price, I am sorry Japan Radio Corp. has left the Ham business.
 
RN3AKK Rating: 5/5 Jan 14, 2009 00:57 Send this review to a friend
Best  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I have bought 135D and havn't any problems with it.
Add CW Picokeyer by N0XAS , NFG-97 tuner and CW,SSB Filtres.You can use Icom or Inrad filtres for 455 Khz without problems.
Excellent CW without problems.AM is superb!
Very good choise for DX-Man. Much better for men than FT-2000.
 
DL6AN Rating: 5/5 Nov 26, 2008 06:52 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just like this Transceiver, i've got the 135HP, what includes BWC, ECSS and Notch-following Filter, the receiver is outstanding, i could just compare it with a Icom 751A, 746Pro, and in my opinion it is better than those, that means something, the receiver is quite and the signals coming clear out of the noise even when it's very weak, also the Signal (150W) what i produce is very clear, what they tell me, so you see I'm a fan of it. So the only Problem there is to get one in a good Condition, if possible a HP, then you could buy it.
 
GM1FLQ Rating: 5/5 Nov 14, 2008 14:51 Send this review to a friend
Not for Mr. Mainstream  Time owned: more than 12 months
Can understand those who find the user interface a bit different if you are used to the common mainstream sets - can't get my head around "horrendous" however, although everyone will have a view on what is logical. I have more than a dozen HF sets ranging from a Collins 75A3 to Yaesu FT1000D and have also owned a TS440 which in terms of user interface has no finger dimple on the tuning knob, poor to non existent flywheel tuning, far less discrete controls, smaller less well spaced controls, half the number of memories and the well documented button bounce problem.
Haven't noticed any significant difference in AGC characteristics on my JRC but I am not a CW man so will leave the CW experts to debate on that.
This is my second JST135 having made a mistake in changing it for a piece of mainstream crud - even my homebuilt Heathkit separates will still be fully operational when all the 440's have long since died from one of their many documented faults.
There is nothing more "horrendous" in a user interface than a dead one.
 
K4DSP Rating: 2/5 Nov 14, 2008 07:28 Send this review to a friend
Worst rig I've owned  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Years ago I swapped my TS-440 for the JST-135, thinking I was "trading up." I've never been more disappointed with a radio in my life. It had a horrendous user interface, poor CW performance, and the worst AGC I've ever seen. Paul from JRC supplied me with some mods which helped, but the 135 never lived up to my expectations and I was glad to get rid of it.
 
GM1FLQ Rating: 5/5 Sep 26, 2008 01:46 Send this review to a friend
No gimmicks on this radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
Quality radio with excellent performance - no gimmicks like tv screens - the costs go into quality construction, build and filtering. Even looks like a proper ham radio and not a tv set. Also because it doesn't have a large (unnecessary) tv screen it can accommodate proper full size controls and not pots with small (unsupported) extender shafts that poke through a hole drilled in the front panel as you would find on the mainstream (excluding TenTec) tv set radios.
 
N7JWH Rating: 5/5 Nov 28, 2003 01:02 Send this review to a friend
Excellent receiver performance  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned the rig for better than 10 years and only had one small problem early on that was repaired under warrranty. A solid rig that is exceptionally sensitive and impervious to front end overload. The selectivity of the receiver has to be heard to be believed and the notch circuit is a great help on 40M. The front end requires that the antenna connected is a fair match to 50 ohms or use an antenna tuner. Drives my grounded grid 3cx1500a homebrew amplifier with just enough power. This makes my signal the "big one" here in Seattle when it needs to be. I regularly get good comments from other hams as to the natural sounding audio on their end. Except for the new DSP rigs, I can't imagine why a better rig would be needed or desireable. The rig is even small enough to be used mobile. Some type of antenna tuner is required under most situations since the final amp is protected from overload conditions. Chuck
 
7N4NJN Rating: 5/5 Jan 26, 2003 10:10 Send this review to a friend
DXing: Professional  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Sound :very wide. you can't believe you listen the AM station when you can afford to use the optional wide cristal filter. it sounds like FM station,many say so.

Even if inter position which uses mechanical filter. it sounds better than you think.
Very low noise even in the evening 40m ham band.

DXing: Professional. the mechanical filter works well.Sharp also beautiful tone.

Transmit: Many station impressed me as they send me the report "excelent tone!" No TVI in my situation who live in the city apartment,
it uses many low pass filters for sending and amplifier is A-class.

Construction: Professional. you can recognize what I say if you open the upper cover and see the inside. Isolation inside is so beautiful. Construction is beautiful.

SWR potential:Some Japanese think that JST-135 works better than AR-7030.
as the JST-135 has a low noise floor level and direct operationality. and direct down-conversion and maniac front end construction. very nice construction inside.No AC/DC power converter inside. low-noise as CPU based automatic pass band filter inside which JRC's most impressive achievement in this field.and no low pass filter in the audio level, in order to stimulate the dinamic lange specs. other radio use this low pass filter. this model uses no low-pass. very natural sound comes to you. Even if the narrow position you recognize the ultra dinamics than specs. Even if the location near the high power amateur radio stations. there are little bad-effect.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.