eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: VHF/UHF+ Directional (Yagi, quad, etc.) | Arrow Antenna 146-4/3 Help


Reviews Summary for Arrow Antenna 146-4/3
Arrow Antenna 146-4/3 Reviews: 13 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $59
Description: Arrow II Backpack Portable 3 or 4 Element Yagi
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.arrowantennas.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Arrow Antenna 146-4/3.

Page 1 of 2 —>

NA4RR Rating: 5/5 Feb 3, 2014 15:40 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Value  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought this antenna as well as the 440-7 to use with an ht for tracking down my power line noise. Both antennas are extreamly well made. Shipping was fast. You will not find anything better.
 
AC6TS Rating: 5/5 Aug 23, 2012 10:33 Send this review to a friend
Lots of Gain  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I live in an apartment at the bottom of a valley. I like 2m simplex. With my balcony J-pole,
I could only work stations in my valley. I bought the Arrow II 146-4BP & Arrow II Mounting Bracket (Three Piece Boom, back packing model) yagi antenna. I mounted it on a wooden broom handle and can now work NON line of sight stations deep into the surrounding foothills that I could not even hear before.

My new Arrow 4 element yagi is mounted inside my apartment and my signal must pass through several other apartments and an outside chickenwire stucco wall before it is in free space. It is doing a fantastic job 'getting out'. It was easy to assemble and fast to set up. The pre-matched section was 'spot on'. My SWR needle barely moves. The quality of materials and construction is outstanding. This is a tough antenna with lots of gain. There is not enough room here to go on about how happy I am with this antenna.
 
KS4OT Rating: 5/5 Aug 5, 2012 17:19 Send this review to a friend
146-4  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This be is amazing and very I said very well built. I was working a vertical antenna and on certain repeaters I was having to use at least 25 to 50 watts to make it into them when I put this beam up I was full quite with only 5 watts and I only have it up 20 ft I would recommend this beam to anyone that wants to hit the repeaters there having problems with

Best regards
KS4OT
 
AB0RE Rating: 5/5 Apr 2, 2012 00:49 Send this review to a friend
146-3 works great!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have an Arrow 146-3 3-element beam. I've used it on numerous occasions attached to my HT for fox hunting or to check into the repeater when I'm well out of range with my rubber duck antenna. I can't remember if the antenna came with the 1/4x20 threads on the boom (under the foam handle) or if I added those, but the threads permit attachment of the beam to a camera tripod for a highly-portable high-gain antenna system. The antenna sets up and takes down within a couple minutes. I simply use a few pieces of quality electrical tape to bundle all the pieces together for storage. I've been unable to find a portable set-up that works better.

The antenna has always worked well so I haven't been overly zealous at checking the SWR. I finally decided to do an SWR sweep on the Arrow with my newly-purchased RigExpert AA-520. Mounted on the tripod mentioned above, the sweep showed it's "sweet spot" around 145.5MHz with SWR under 1.5:1 across the band, confirming Arrow's advertising claim that the antenna comes "pre-tuned" and no adjustment is necessary. (Yah! I *hate* fiddling with gamma matches :-)

Overall this is a very high quality, reliable product and an absolute STEAL at its current price. Arrow Antenna has done a great job on this product.
 
W3CWK Rating: 5/5 Dec 5, 2011 05:07 Send this review to a friend
i would buy this product, its worth the money too have!  Time owned: more than 12 months
real light antenna, and like it a lot! have 2 meter beam and the 440 beam too!!
 
W7UT Rating: 5/5 May 3, 2011 20:07 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This antenna is an excellent value, well constructed, and performs very well. It was easy to assemble and with it end mounted, the gamma match was spot on with the measurements given in the instructions. Highly recommended.
 
K4GST Rating: 5/5 Feb 6, 2009 17:42 Send this review to a friend
A fine break-down beam  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Extremely portable, very well designed. The only improvement I can think of would be to have some sort of index tab on the BNC "block" so there is no chance of the assembly rotating on the boom. A terrific value even with the optional mounting bracket.
 
K9XXX Rating: 5/5 Sep 2, 2008 09:38 Send this review to a friend
A fine business!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I get my 146-3 by only partially assembling my 146-437 satellite antenna without the UHF elements. The duplexer in the handle end of the boom is easily removed for use as a 146-3 and re-installed as needed.
The design is very thoughtful and the machine work is excellent.
It performs amazingly well as a motel repeater antenna and then practically disappears when I take it down for transportation. As for it being discontinued,the parts are available. The last time I looked, the 146-437 boom sells for $20.00.
If you only want a 146-3 the boom has more holes you don't need for the UHF elements.
I am unaware of any comparable product as this system seems to have created a niche of its own.
 
KE5MQM Rating: 5/5 Oct 18, 2007 20:57 Send this review to a friend
excellent antenna  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Got the 146-3 on recommendation from a friend, for at-home use with my VX-6R HT. That made for a good start at a 2m base station, with the 146-3 mounted in my apartment bedroom where the ceiling fan used to be. From inside the apartment, with 5W, I can hit a repeater 45mi away with strong clear audio and full quieting.

It was shipped promptly, is relatively cheap, looks good, and was easy to assemble. I'm very satisfied with this antenna and Arrow Antenna.
 
KCOQDD Rating: 5/5 Jun 30, 2005 18:18 Send this review to a friend
Al Lowe's 146- 3 is a great antenna. I'm very satisfied.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Al Lowe's yagi 146-3 used on me HT at 5.5 watts out performs my 65 watt using a vertical dipole. I am very pleased with the craftmanship of the antenna. I can't wait to find other uses for it.It was recommended to me by people in my radio club who also have one and I couldn't be more pleased with it's performance. Thanks Al.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.