eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antenna Tuners | Daiwa CNW 518 Help


Reviews Summary for Daiwa CNW 518
Daiwa CNW 518 Reviews: 8 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $price of the daiwa cnw 518
Description: 3.5 to 30 MHZ switched inductor 2.5kw tuner with cross-needle meters
Product is in production.
More info: http://n/a
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Daiwa CNW 518.

K2HIG Rating: 5/5 Feb 5, 2009 20:51 Send this review to a friend
Great little tuner  Time owned: more than 12 months
I love this tuner ... it is small but handled the Collins 30L1 with no strain .. the vernier dials are a great feature ... easy to change bands using a "cheat sheet" ... i've had others, this is a keeper ..
regards and 73's ..Gerry ... K2HIG
 
K6YE Rating: 5/5 Feb 26, 2008 20:23 Send this review to a friend
GREAT TUNER  Time owned: more than 12 months
This tuner is really rated at 1KW. I had one for some time and just sold it. The only shortcoming I could see was the lack of 160 meters. It has a tapped non-rotary inductor so it does not have the continous range of a SA-2060 or AT2K but it will generally get the job done.

The chap who purchased it from me in January 2008 is pleased as punch with its performance. I think a lot of Daiwa products and believe this tuner rocks.

Semper Fi,

Tommy - K6YE
DX IS
 
PE2AJM Rating: 5/5 Dec 26, 2005 12:20 Send this review to a friend
Great and very solid antennatuner  Time owned: more than 12 months
Very good (Collins type) tuner with large cross needle meter. Max power 1kW but also suitable for QRP (meterreading power 20/200/1000 W).

Some remarks:
- lacks 1.8 MHz
- no backgroundlight for SWR meter

Nevertheless a GREAT tuner.

 
N4GAN Rating: 5/5 Mar 28, 2004 00:06 Send this review to a friend
JUST WON'T QUIT . . .  Time owned: more than 12 months
This will be very short. It is the one constant in my shack. Amps come and go. Rigs come and go. This antenna tuner - stays.
 
W7KID Rating: 5/5 Nov 16, 2003 21:12 Send this review to a friend
Excellent & Compact for a High Power Tuner  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I saw one for sale not too long ago, and after reading the reviews I snagged it up. It works excellent with all my antennas, vertical and wires. I didn't get the power connector with it, so I put anderson connectors on it for the power. I'm very amazed at the power handling capability for its size. It's not that much bigger than the MFJ 949E that I had, however there's no comparison between the two when it comes to build quality and performance. The only reason I may get rid of it is to buy a tuner that also covers 160. But with as well as it works everywhere else, 160 may just have to wait, HI.

73, Ken
W7KID
 
VK2NW Rating: 5/5 Nov 4, 2002 05:53 Send this review to a friend
Perfect  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have just managed to get a hold of a mint example of the 518 and I cannot believe my luck. This has got to be the best tuner I have ever got my hands on for a price any Ham can afford. Had a sneak look inside and this one very impressive tuner. Daiwa got it right when they put this one together. (Anyone want a 969C?) I am sure I will get many long hours of work from it and now my next challenge is to locate a second one. So easy to tune the antenna with this unit, just so easy. Gary
 
M3SDX Rating: 5/5 Jul 24, 2002 13:19 Send this review to a friend
brilliant  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
one of my biggest regrets !!!selling my daiwa 518 about 2 years ago..these tuners are one of the best heavy duty tuners made..2kw tuner if i remember and everything about the daiwa 518 is bullet proof...what a joke when i brought a mfj 3kw tuner(rubbish) compared to the 518...if you can get your hands on one you wont be dissapointed..BUY IT there in a class of there own.
 
N4SNL Rating: 5/5 Feb 22, 2002 07:19 Send this review to a friend
Great tuner very durable user friendly  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is a great tuner and I don't know if Diawa still makes these but I would buy another one. It has surved me well for 14 years and never let me down. The only down side is it doesn't have a light for the crossneedle meter. Otherwise, if you can find one in good shape, buy it. If you don't mind a manual tuner this one works very well.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.