eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Software - Other than logging | FT-817 Commander Help


Reviews Summary for FT-817 Commander
Reviews: 15 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $Free
Description: The ultimate CAT program for the FT-817, and it's freeware!
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.hb9drv.ch
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the FT-817 Commander.

Page 1 of 2 —>

K7LZR Rating: 5/5 Mar 7, 2013 23:36 Send this review to a friend
Must have for the FT-817 owner!  Time owned: more than 12 months
This program is a must have for FT-817 owners. It greatly enhances the versatility of the rig and adds a very nice looking and customizable old school Sliderule tuning dial which I really like since I come from the Hallicrafters era.

Tuning is a breeze, as is band hopping. And if you add one of the available USB rotary control knobs such as the Griffen Powermate or similar, then you even have a "Real" tuning knob :).

I've been using Commander with my FT-817 for several years now and couldn't be happier. It is a solid, stable program which supports everything that you can do with an FT-817.

Fantastic job Simon and thank you!

 
AE5J Rating: 5/5 Oct 12, 2012 10:23 Send this review to a friend
Great  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've been using this software since Simon first released it. It has some advantages over some of the more exotic packages even today.

First, it does not require a brute force I-7 processor to run. It is quite happy on a simple little netbook. It makes QRP work in the field simpler as a smaller, lighter computer will run it very well.

Second, while it doesn't have all the features of the latest version of HRD, it has some features for the 817 that have never been implemented in HRD - mainly relating to memory management. It has no equal for setting up the 817's memories.

In summary, I will always keep 817 Commander on the computer as long as I have an 817.
 
LNXAUTHOR Rating: 5/5 Jul 14, 2012 12:33 Send this review to a friend
FB with OS X and CrossOver!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Using 2.2, build 739 under OS X 10.5.8 w/CrossOver 10.0. This setup, along with a USB FTDI chipset CAT cable (drivers easily installed - it's OS X, duh!), works just great for my non-ND FT-817.

No need to upgrade at all. Provides more features than flrig, which i like, but wish supported as many features as HRD.
 
K7LZR Rating: 5/5 Oct 2, 2011 21:25 Send this review to a friend
A Must Have!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've been using FT-817 commander for about 3 years now.

If you use a Yaesu FT-817, then you simply must have this program in order to take full advantage of your radio. This program and an interface cable should be included in the box with each new radio.

A very nice touch is the big sliderule frequency dial which adds a touch of nostalgia for those who remember Hallicrafters, National et al, and it is accurate and tracks nicely too :).

As someone said, the memory manager is priceless. Saves you a ton of time when programming memories.

FT-817 Commander is no longer supported, and many of its features have been incorporated into Ham Radio Deluxe. But HRD does not have many of the FT-817 features - no memory manager, no service menu, etc.

FT-817 Commander is still the best program available for controlling & programming the FT-817.
 
VA3QRM Rating: 5/5 Apr 16, 2005 17:40 Send this review to a friend
mouse and keyboard easier to replace,,,,  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The size and positioning of controls are no longer an issue with the FT-817 commander. By using the mouse and keyboard it eliminates button and dial problems that result in the need for service. The software is a no-brainer to download, install, and use. Highly recommended and it is FREE.
 
AB2EZ Rating: 5/5 Dec 31, 2004 13:17 Send this review to a friend
A great addition to your FT-817  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This software is great! It adds a lot of ease-of-use to the FT-817. Once you try this, you won't want to go back to using the front panel controls on the rig!

Best regards
Stu
AB2EZ
 
KC2HUX Rating: 5/5 Feb 21, 2004 18:29 Send this review to a friend
A Must Have for In home use!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I recently set my 817 up with the commander. It is great. I can control everything right down to the display color all from the computer. Even better is by adding the Griffin Powermate Shuttle it gives the 817 a big rig feel and still allows it to be such a small package. The shuttle is just about the size of a normal tuning knob and can be setup to control just about anything. I have it setup to spin through the frequencies and also allow me to on the fly change the tuning step for a quick qsy. The commander is great to also watch how the radio is behaving while talking. It displays the modulation, power, ALC, and swr all at once while talking. It would be perfect if the connection was USB fast. The serial even set at 34K is just a little slow. But you canít have it all. Overall I think this is the best way to control this radio! Compared to RATS this is a hands down winner@ and FREE!!!!!
 
N8SEX Rating: 5/5 Dec 8, 2003 20:51 Send this review to a friend
Awesome  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I could see if you had to spend 500 bucks for some software you may have the right to nick pick about those DSP and Cross Band features that were selfeshly left out. Let me tell you something, this software is free, and it is one of the BEST integrated command software control packages for the FT-817 and other Big Name rigs as well (Ham Radio Deluxe). Simon, some of us here are just happy you have given us a wonderful program and have kept it free for amateurs to enjoy.

Oh, by the way, how about incorporating the playboy channel into this software, then I could see you getting a 5.

Best Regards
 
K6TLA Rating: 5/5 Oct 2, 2003 21:05 Send this review to a friend
Ultimate PC control  Time owned: more than 12 months
FT-817 Commander is without a doubt the most innovative computer control software ever developed for a piece of ham gear. The ability to create and edit memory contents and then upload directly to the radio is priceless. Everything that can be done at the radio can be done within Commander including accessing and programming of the hidden calibration menus. Features abound and make the tiny FT-817 as functional as the largest most expensive rigs on the market today. Adding to the experience is the excellent PSk-31 deluxe which is included with the app. The rig, this software, and an antenna are all that is needed for all band, all mode operation from anywhere. I don't know how Simon does it for free but he does. Get this today!
 
KA7QOR Rating: 4/5 Oct 1, 2003 19:28 Send this review to a friend
satisfactory  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
For what this software is design to do, it works great! But I was hoping for more. Commander will "hot-rod" your FT817. I find that I am able to control the rig's functions much more quickly with the mouse than with the rig's knobs and buttons. Commander has very good memory features. But basicaly, commander does not do anything that the rig alone could not do without the software, I am left yearning for dual rig control, crossband repeater (using 2, rigs), and speaker/mic enhancement maybe DSP. I would like to use my PC to control the speaker and mic audio. I would like to record samples from on-air using commander etc.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.