eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Amplifiers: RF Power - HF & HF+6M | Drake L-7 Help


Reviews Summary for Drake L-7
Drake L-7 Reviews: 18 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $1090.00 in 1981
Description: 160 thru 15 (10 optional) 2KW PEP Pair 3-500Z Tuned input 100 watt drive - 110 or 220 V
Product is not in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Drake L-7.

<— Page 2 of 2

N2CU Rating: 5/5 Apr 9, 2004 11:27 Send this review to a friend
Love it!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I wanted a classic 3-500Z amp with 160m capability. After reading a lot of reviews, I decided I would grab a Drake L7 if one came along. Got a NOS (new old stock) one on eBay for a decent price and haven't regretted it one bit. A solidly built unit that easily puts out 1kW. Beautiful styling to boot. There are some mods I will perform to increase its lifespan, which you should do to any amp that doesn't have them.

 
K9XK Rating: 5/5 Jun 30, 2003 10:41 Send this review to a friend
Try to get one  Time owned: more than 12 months
This amp is perhaps the best choice of any 3-500Z amp out there, and about as good as any legal limit amp you can buy. Not many amps meet all these criteria:

- separate power supply to save significantly on the weight and size of the desktop unit.
- extremely quiet. Even when the thermostatically controlled fan runs full blast, it is quieter than some others at their idling fan speed (I have one of those "others" so I know)
- very good looking. Matches **current** HF gear in color and styling, and does not look like a garage project as do a few competitors' offerings.
- tubes are tough and inexpensive. I never replaced mine in ten years of ownership.
- the inside is clean and well constructed. Mechanically, the name "Drake" tells the story.

If you can find one, grab it and you won't be sorry. Only if you want to break FCC regs or need auto-tune would you need to look somewhere else.


 
KC5CQF Rating: 5/5 Jun 28, 2003 19:20 Send this review to a friend
THE NAME SAYS IT ALL  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This amp was worth the money I spent. It will handle anything I throw at it, including working AM with 375 Watts of carrier for Old Buzzard transmissions. The output is exceptionly clean and complements my FT-102. Mine still has the origional Eimac tubes in it and they still have full output. This amp is built like a tank, but of course it is. It's a Drake
 
NZ4I Rating: 5/5 Apr 5, 2003 18:40 Send this review to a friend
Very Good Amp  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
An excellent amplifier for ssb operation. It does not make to much noise nor does it break the desk down, and runs cool for a glass tube amplifier.

If you are looking for a vintage 3-500Z amplifier, this is a good choice. With a modified external supply, providing higher voltage and current it will amaze.
 
K7BG Rating: 5/5 Jan 15, 2003 02:00 Send this review to a friend
Smoooth  Time owned: more than 12 months
A great amp. I did the 10 meter mod and the amp tunes very smoothly on all bands 160-10 including 12 and 17. I've never heard an arc or a groan come out of it and it just keeps on cranking. Fan is super quiet and auto switches to higher speed if she gets a bit warm during a contest, etc. Just a nice piece of work.
 
K4HX Rating: 5/5 Nov 17, 2002 12:27 Send this review to a friend
Superbly built  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is one sweet amp! "Mil-spec" construction all the way. Tunes up smoothly and runs cool and quiet. The seperate power supply is great for placing remotely, allowing the amp to rest safely upon a shelf, since most of the heavy weight is in the power transformer of the power supply.

I have made long transmissions at well over a killowatt out, and the amp's case remained at room temperature! That's efficiency!!!

A Drake classic! You'll pay to get one, but you'll enjoy owning it and likely retrieve all of your investment when you sell. Maybe even make a profit. The good rigs appreciate in value!
 
K3ICH Rating: 5/5 Apr 27, 2002 09:34 Send this review to a friend
Best  Time owned: more than 12 months
I feel that this is the best amp on the market that uses the tough 3-500Z tubes. Loafs at 1200 watts key down (not PEP) and can easily make 1500 if you push it. Separate power supply is the only way to go to conserve bench space and your back. I like a double decker set-up with the amps on top with the rigs at desk level. Had a nice QRO TEC, which is also a fine amp, but, in a word, it would have colapsed my operation bench! The two piece L-7 and Titan are quite stable there on the top shelf and the power supplies as a foot warmers. Never had any instability problems and it tunes up smoothly with no hic-ups. Nice build construction and a quiet cooling. Rarely does the fan shift to high speed and even then it's a barely noticeable noise increase.
 
WA9NFO Rating: 5/5 Mar 12, 2002 03:13 Send this review to a friend
Super Amp  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have been using this amp for 3 years. Full output with 120 watts of drive. Same Eimac tubes.
Always gets me through when conditions are bad. A real solid performer. Be sure input circuits are tuned and run off 220V line. It can take a beating and still keep performing. I especially like the external power supply. Saves on added support for my operating bench!
 
<— Page 2 of 2


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.