eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transmitters: Vintage amateur | Ameco AC 1 Help


Reviews Summary for Ameco AC 1
Ameco AC 1 Reviews: 17 Average rating: 4.1/5 MSRP: $around $25-30
Description: 15 watt 80/40 meter transmitter using 6v6 oscillator on "shoebox" style chassis. Xtal control.
Product is not in production.
More info: http://www.n4mw.com/ac1.htm
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Ameco AC 1.

<— Page 2 of 2

K7RAN Rating: 5/5 Mar 1, 2006 12:23 Send this review to a friend
The Cult of AC-1  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
The nostalgic Ameco AC-1 novice transmitter has developed a devoted cult following, with online auction examples selling for $250 to $550 (!) depending upon age and condition. An mint unbuilt kit recently sold for more than $850 (February 2006). Here's a link to an active user group:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/amecoac1/
 
W1GFH Rating: 5/5 Oct 23, 2004 22:44 Send this review to a friend
A Classic!  Time owned: more than 12 months
This rig considered was the bottom of the barrel in the 50's and 60's. Now, you'd have a hard time getting one for less than $300 on eBay. Many people are building AC-1 "clones". Here is a page of nostalgia, mods, plans, and pictures -- all about the AC-1.

The OFFICIAL Ameco AC-1 Site
http://www.qsl.net/wb1gfh/ameco.html
 
KT4XF Rating: 2/5 Jan 9, 2004 19:18 Send this review to a friend
1.812 CW  Time owned: more than 12 months
I got the rig at the 1970 Dayton hamfest, used it on & off till I decided to get on 160, converted it to SS rectfiers, the xfmr burned up, tried a 450v supply that put 22w input! Now it uses a 150v B+...abt 2w out to a 100' wire & Radio Shaft DX 150B rx.. .. .. Anyone interesed in starting a net or club?
 
W5ACM Rating: 5/5 Jan 9, 2004 16:01 Send this review to a friend
Still Have It - Love It!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I ordered my Ameco AC-1 in early 1969 from Allied Electronics. After some instruction on how to trim wires to proper lengths, I got it all together, put it on the air, and started making contacts. This was my first ham transmitter, and was my only one until I found a used Heathkit DX-60A and discovered 15 Meters. I still have the AC-1, and it still looks good and still works. It is now part of a "portable" unit that includes a WW2 receiver and power inverter for 12 VDC ops! I have bought and sold a lot of gear over the years, but the AC-1 stays...
 
W6EIJ Rating: 5/5 Aug 26, 2003 02:08 Send this review to a friend
Great Rig!  Time owned: more than 12 months
This was my first project, 1969. When I plugged it in, it was as if I were testing a mega-watt rig. Had lots of fun with it. I still have the instruction booklet,tubes and coil, but I cannot find the rig itself. My log shows that I continued to use it through 1978.
 
AL7B Rating: 5/5 Aug 26, 2003 01:35 Send this review to a friend
Great Xmtr  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
This was my novice rig in 1966. All I could afford at 15 years. Worked well after repairing the shorted shield on my coax at the antenna. Only took me a month of calling CQ without a reply to figure it out. Then worked LA and AK on 40 meters from W6 land. I only regret tossing this gem in the trash after upgrading to the SB-101 as a young adult.

Dick AL7B
Anchorage
(WN6TUA)
 
N1MG Rating: 5/5 Mar 13, 2002 18:19 Send this review to a friend
Oh the simple joy  Time owned: more than 12 months
This was my novice rig. Imagine running 15 watts crystal control to a lousy longwire about 10 feet off the ground. Pure Joy. Hours calling CQ. How can you forget those simple pleasures of life.
 
<— Page 2 of 2


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.