eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Vertical, Wire, Loop | G5RV MINI Help


Reviews Summary for G5RV MINI
Reviews: 9 Average rating: 4.0/5 MSRP: $27
Description: 26 foot long, 20-10m antenna by T.V. Evans Company
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.radio-oasis.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the G5RV MINI.

KB9SDS Rating: 4/5 May 20, 2015 13:32 Send this review to a friend
Good antenna for small space.  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have used a my mini G5RV since 2008. Never had a problem. It's about 25 to 30ft up and I have talked all over the U.S. and DX contacts as well. I've talked to several European countries, South America and the Caribbean at 100w.
 
NH6RF Rating: 5/5 May 22, 2013 13:42 Send this review to a friend
Acceptable for small areas  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've been using a 6 band trap verticle, ground mounted, with 22 radials for the last 4 years. Results have been ok but the receive noise was a constant S7-8. I've had the G5RV mini (51 feet in length) up for a week now. Noise level down to an S2. The signal reports I'm receiving from the stations I work almost daily are the same so for my situation this is the better of the two antennas. The tuner I'm using is the MFJ-993B. It handles this antenna without problems. I gave this antenna a 5 because it was easy to install and it's having the desired results.
73's/NH6RF
 
KB1SFA Rating: 5/5 Jul 18, 2012 06:52 Send this review to a friend
Excellent antenna compromise for price and performance  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I originally purchased this antenna for use with a 10 meter mobile, but didn't use it until I got my general class license and a HF rig. With this antenna mounted 8-9 feet off of flat, level ground and a good tuner I was able to make contacts all over the US, Europe, Middle East and once or twice Asia. My first station setup was an ICOM 740 with a LDG Z-11Pro II auto tuner which allowed for decent operation on 10-20 meters (including 12, 15, and 17) and also 40 meters, although the antenna is not designed for 40. I live a mobile lifestyle right now so being able to easily string this antenna up between a couple of trees and take it down with ease is a big plus and my average signal report of 57-59 into Europe is not a disappointment either. I did recently replace this antenna however with a G5RV Junior as my Yaesu FT-890's built-in auto tuner could not tune 40 meter on the mini and I wanted to see if there was any performance difference between the two. So far I have not noticed any major differences in performance at all except better 40 meter operation.
 
W6VA Rating: 2/5 Oct 9, 2009 10:20 Send this review to a friend
High SWR Warc Bands  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Good for small spaces, only 25' long for mini version but terrible SWR on 17 and 12 meters. My automatic antenna tuner in the IC-7600 could not bring it in range. 10, 15, 20 SWR is about 3:1 so the tuner had no problems there. I do a lot of 17 meter work so I rated it 2 instead of a 3. Costs about the same as a full size G5RV so if you have the space definitely get the bigger size. I only had 35' available to string an antenna.
 
VK3MDD Rating: 3/5 Sep 27, 2006 06:35 Send this review to a friend
good cheap starter  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
20m and 40m okay,10 and 15m it works but poor performance. 20m at least 1 s point below a 3 el triband (which is to be expected). Hustler 4btv was usually better than g5rv but noisier.
good for portable situations,holidays,etc. Cheap and easy to assemble.
 
WD5CCW Rating: 5/5 Jul 17, 2006 13:18 Send this review to a friend
Very Good  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I started out with a slinky dipole inside the house and finally decided to buy a G5RV mini for outside use, the difference was night and day. The stations I could barely hear with the slinky were screaming at me on the G5RV. I recommend this antenna to anyone who has limited space, and if you can get it up 35 feet, this would be an optimum height for this antenna.
 
N0AH Rating: 2/5 Jun 21, 2005 21:00 Send this review to a friend
Paper weight  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Have not had a lot of luck with it- Might be good for back packing but as a home based antenna, I would not use it-
 
KC2LOG Rating: 5/5 Jun 20, 2005 13:01 Send this review to a friend
VERY TRUE!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I MYSELF HAVE THIS ANTENNA IN THE ATTIC ABOUT 45 FEET UP. I TALKED AROUND THE WORLD WITH THIS SETUP. BUT MAKE SURE EVERYTHING IS AWAY FROM THE ANTENNA ATLEAST 2 FEET (PIPES, POWER CORD/LINES, ETC) SAFETY FIRST! ANTENNAS ARE LOVED BY PERSONAL REFERENCE, NOT ONLY BY PERFOMANCE.

73'S
 
KC0PBP Rating: 5/5 Aug 16, 2003 19:34 Send this review to a friend
Very Good with height.  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This is my first ham antenna, but so far the performance has been great! I have the mini hung in the attic, up about 35'. I have made contacts all over the world during good times, and many closer to home during bad times. I use the antenna on 10,15 and 20 meters. Have not had much luck tuning it in on 40m. The quality of the unit is excellent. I would recommend the antenna as long as you can get the height at 30' or so. I know another Ham using the same antenna at ~20' with average results...
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.