eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


donate to eham
Reviews Categories | Antenna Switching, Phasing, Controllers | MFJ-1702C 2 Position Switch Help


Reviews Summary for MFJ-1702C 2 Position Switch
MFJ-1702C 2 Position Switch Reviews: 37 Average rating: 3.0/5 MSRP: $24.95
Description: 2 Position 450 MHz Switch With Center Ground Position
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.mfjenterprises.com/products.php?prodid=MFJ-1702C
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the MFJ-1702C 2 Position Switch.

Page 1 of 4 —>

N7RST Rating: 0/5 Mar 20, 2015 19:25 Send this review to a friend
Poorest POS I ever had  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had these and even peeled off the MFJ label to find CS-201 which I assume is Diawa's??

Anyway, most have hit the nail on the head, the more you use them the less time they will work. The SO-239's when you screw/unscrew coax into them start to turn and lose connection, the connections themselves move internally, just overall, a piece of junk.
 
W8NYC Rating: 0/5 Jul 20, 2014 12:02 Send this review to a friend
MFJ 1702C  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Bought 2 of them in the last 2 months
I have HIGH SWR on both of them
Took them out of the line and the problem went away
I should have know

Steve
W8NYC
 
K7HIL Rating: 2/5 Mar 28, 2014 10:52 Send this review to a friend
No detent, poor switch  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The switch does not have a firm detent and it is very difficult to know when a good connection is being made. The only way I could tell that I was on the right antenna was from the SWR!

I should have interpreted the relatively low cost correctly and taken the clue, I just spent more money and ordered an Alpha-Delta.
 
W7KHZ Rating: 2/5 Dec 24, 2012 09:10 Send this review to a friend
Not High Quality At All  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have used many switches and RF devices over the years. I never thought that something as simple as this would create more work than necessary for me. While using this switch to troubleshoot and tune a new antenna system, I found that I was chasing a ghost (up and down a 30' ladder). The switch had a bad setting on the "B" side. I opened it up and still do not see anything obvious, yet will tear it apart further to find the problem. It is a quality package, but something inexpensive obviously made it into the production process. Sad to say, but I still have to treat my MFJ stuff still as a source of potential issues and not always a standard to measure against in my shack. I am rooting for you guys, though. Keep trying, and supporting us. It will get better!
 
KQ4KK Rating: 3/5 Jul 24, 2012 16:26 Send this review to a friend
Keep repairing it  Time owned: more than 12 months
When you switch the position from Position 1 to Position 2, the internal contacts move and lose connection. Open it up, re-aligned the contacts and put it back together only to have it do it again within a short amount of time. If you buy one, keep this in mind. When the SWR goes up, and the signals go down, take it apart.
 
K1FPV Rating: 5/5 Jul 24, 2012 12:28 Send this review to a friend
No problems with all 6 MFJ switches I have!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've got 4 of the 2 position switches from MFJ, one being 12 years old and 2 of the 4 position switches. They all have performed flawlessly!

I use them to switch the antennas between rigs as well as switch between antennas. I often run the legal limit of 1,500 watts without any issues. I wouldn't hesitate to buy another one!
 
SWMAN Rating: 5/5 Jul 24, 2012 07:02 Send this review to a friend
Ok for me  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have been using one of these switches for 11 years now and no problems with mine at all. Works just fine. I also have the 4 position switch 1704 and no problems with that either.
Maybe I'm just lucky. 73, Jim W5JJG
 
WA3HVR Rating: 4/5 Jul 23, 2012 21:29 Send this review to a friend
I have 3 for many years and they are great!  Time owned: more than 12 months
When the knob loosens, you simply tighten the screw on the brass insert. These have been in service for several years and have worked very well. I also have two other switches from other makers and they all perform equally to these. I find no fault with the 1702 and would buy them again. The only reason that I don't rate it a 5 is because of the round shaft and brass insert under the knob. This could have been designed better.
 
W8KQE Rating: 0/5 May 29, 2012 20:31 Send this review to a friend
Switch Failed!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had this switch for a few years, 'babied' and used indoors, and only occasionally. I tried using it today to switch between my FT-450AT and TA-32JR, and I noticed signals were considerably down on 20m. I tried jiggling the switch back and forth, and signals would jump in and out. I could not get the switch to work. It failed. Stay away from MFJ switches!
 
WU0R Rating: 1/5 Jun 13, 2011 07:14 Send this review to a friend
Poor Quality - Low Reliability  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned a few of these because I needed something to use in a hurry. All I can say is they are poorly built and don't last long in service. One inherit problem is when you switch the position from Position 1 to Position 2, the internal contacts move and lose connection. I opened mine up, re-aligned the contacts and put it back together only to have it do it again within a short amount of time. Very poor design and not worth the $3 of parts. Look for something else, and avoid these. In a circuit where you have VHF, you will also see a dramatic increase in SWR (loss).

If you don't need to switch very often from one position to another, you may be okay.
 
Page 1 of 4 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.