eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Keys & Paddles | Hi-Mound 706 paddles Help


Reviews Summary for Hi-Mound 706 paddles
Hi-Mound 706 paddles Reviews: 10 Average rating: 3.9/5 MSRP: $125
Description: dual paddle
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Hi-Mound 706 paddles.

KD2E Rating: 5/5 Nov 24, 2012 19:49 Send this review to a friend
My Fav!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I also got the 705 marble base version so long ago, that I don't remember.
I have a few top line paddles made in Japan, Germany, and Italy. They are beautiful works of art.
BUT...for me, the close paddles are the BOMB!
The Hi-Mound are not my favorite to look at, but they are my favorite to use because of the close-spacing of the fingerpieces! It is probably why pens and pencils are not an inch thick. It just adds precision, and ease of use. I may buy another!
 
ZL4TE Rating: 4/5 Nov 11, 2012 01:53 Send this review to a friend
I like it  Time owned: more than 12 months
Had the 705 (marble base) for so long I cannot remember when I got it, but I passed my cw test in the early 90's so not long after that I guess.

I'm no cw guru (as anyone who has received my cw will testify!!), but I like the keyer. I like very minimal paddle movement, and once you do get it set, I think it is a nice to use. I lost the plastic cover, years ago, but it just keeps doing what I want it to, and really I cannot ask more than that.

I would have liked it a bit heavier, as it can move around, but a non slip mat under it seems to work fine.

For my cw I could not really justify a much more expensive keyer. Would I buy it again - definately.

I guess after the time I have had it, it is a keeper
 
VK5GI Rating: 5/5 Aug 3, 2012 18:55 Send this review to a friend
Best I ever had  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I've tried many different paddles from the Vibrokeyer through to a homebrew clothespin type, but by far the Hi Mound 706 is the best I've ever had. As the last reviewer said, the paddles are very close together, the touch is light, a slight hint of "give" in use. Wonderful! These were not new when I bought them off the well-known trading site, they needed a clean-up and a lube, a bit of a polish, and these are keepers. For my style of cw, I could not ask for anything better.
Kind regards
Norm vk5gi
 
TOPPER Rating: 3/5 Jul 21, 2009 23:49 Send this review to a friend
love it or hate it!  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is not a work of art. However it works well and the close finger piece spacing is a matter of personal preferrence. Wish more paddles came with a dust cover.
 
VE3FDT Rating: 4/5 May 2, 2009 15:50 Send this review to a friend
If it only could gain weight!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I feel bad giving these paddles only 4 out of 5.

I really like them and even now I am tempted to say 5 out of 5; and if I do not, it is for one reason, and one reason only: these paddles are too light.

I am not a CW "speed daemon". I feel really comfortable up to about 30 WPM and above that quickly reach a "saturation point" at about 40 WPM. Also, I come from a single lever paddle background, which means that I do not use the iambic technique much and instead rely on sideswiping even when using an iambic paddle. Both of these factors need to be mentioned, since they heavily affect my opinion.

This paddle is rather basic, but precise and crisp and has a nice feeling to it.

I do agree with previous reviewers who said this paddle is very difficult to adjust. It is. To the point that I had to use a set of small precision pliers to turn the adjustment screws to get it right. (I like extremely narrow spacing with lots of return force. At the final stages of adjustment I simply could not turn the screws by hand with enough precision.) Adjustment is hard and takes some time. The point is that with this paddle you do it once! Once adjusted it stays put come hell or high water. To me this is a positive (and a big one) rather than a negative.

Another thing that I love about that paddle is the finger pieces. They are rather long and spacing between them is smaller than any of the other iambic paddles I have ever used or seen. I have heard those finger pieces described as "cheap", because they are made of plastic. But to me the material is another unexpected and large positive. Together with the pieces' length it introduces a barely detectable elasticity and adds a fluid tactual element to your keying.

Finally, the negative: the paddle's weight. It is far too light. I own the 705 (marble base) and maybe it gets better for the heavier 706 (steel base), but I doubt it. Even the heavier one weighs just over 2 lbs, which is a far cry from what I would like to see, or feel. At least double that weight would be necessary for a swiper like myself.

I have used this paddle for a long time and remained faithful, but one day its malnourished weight is going to be the "irreconcilable difference" quoted in our divorce papers. Having to hold your paddle down with one hand while keying with the other does not bode well for the longevity of the relationship.

Or maybe I will refit it with a custom heavy base? Who knows?
 
N7UF Rating: 1/5 Dec 2, 2008 12:12 Send this review to a friend
I GIVE UP  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I have been trying for weeks to get this paddle adjusted with no luck at all. It continually adds dots and I cannot seem to get it balanced no matter what I do. I wish I had kept my Bencher paddles when I quite cw some years ago. I never thought I would go back to cw, but that proves the saying, "never say never" I have had several sets of paddles over the years and have always been able to adjust them.
 
G4IPZ Rating: 5/5 Feb 15, 2008 02:27 Send this review to a friend
Great key but basic too!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have used many different "squeeze" keys including home made ones. However the Hi-Mound 'Manipulator' to give it it's general name, still is the best for my fist at least.
It's nice and basic but works a treat. All adjustments are simple but remain stable in heavy use.
I use mine with a homebrew PIC electronic keyer into any of my rigs and of course it's faultless. I can't say the same about my CW sometimes but, what the heck, it's all good fun.
These crop up on Ebay quite regularly mostly from people who just can't get their heads around iambic keying. Keep your eyes open, there are bargains to be had.
 
PA0NCV Rating: 5/5 Apr 18, 2006 15:04 Send this review to a friend
Great Value  Time owned: more than 12 months
Since I bought these paddles on eBay I have not used any of the many others in the shack. I really like the feel of it, particular that the paddles are very close together. I am sending with my fingers rather then my whole hand now and found myself more accurate then with others.
Once adjusted the way I liked it, I never touched the settings again (now 2 yrs ago).


 
W3DCG Rating: 2/5 Oct 18, 2002 17:16 Send this review to a friend
Swore I'd never sell a set of paddles.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Sold it at 65 percent what I paid after fiddling with it for 2 weeks unable to finaggle even the slightest satisfaction from it.

Warned the buyer what I found unattractive, yet he seemed okay with the price vs retail "value" and did not seem to have designs on sending fast code.

Mine appeared to be some made in China or worse Taiwan knock off of what is pictured as a real Japanese made Hi Mound 706.

Got mine from some web site that could be mistaken for a porno site if you just only looked at the hyperlink and did not actually visit.

It was my 2nd purchase from said place. Nice fellow on the phone, but I won't be buy there again.
 
KA3POY Rating: 5/5 May 29, 2002 14:59 Send this review to a friend
great for price  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I own vibroplex iambic, the standard Bencher paddles, schurr profi, and just recently found this Hi-Mound 706 paddle on Ebay, there were very few bids and I was able to get it for much less than retail.

Summary: ymmv, for me it sends better than a vibroplex iambic or a Bencher. It is not a semi custom work of art like the profi 2, but it costs less than half as much. It has several characteristics that make it interesting to send with, which some people will love and others may not.

It's best characteristic is that the paddles are set very close together. This feels very natural and I could see how for long operating periods it could be less fatiguing. I wish the Shurr paddles were set more like this.

It's other characteristic is that the paddle arms appear to be made out of some synthetic nylon, not metal. Consequently they have a little flex built into them.

It depends upon how you send, but when I first started using this paddle I over-controlled it a lot. When I got used to sending with a more delicate, controlled touch, the Hi-Mounds were very fun to use. My experience was to set the gap narrow, make the spring very light, and send with a very light touch.

If I couldn't afford the Profi 2 I would easily use the Hi Mound paddles as my main station paddle before the other two I own. Marshall Emm carries them at Milestone Technologies and they are not wildly expensive.

73

KA3POY
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.