eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Alinco DJ-296T Help


Reviews Summary for Alinco DJ-296T
Alinco DJ-296T Reviews: 17 Average rating: 4.1/5 MSRP: $$199.00
Description: Alinco's new 1.35Meter (220) HT.
Product is not in production.
More info: http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/ht/2296.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Alinco DJ-296T.

Page 1 of 2 —>

W9BBB Rating: 5/5 Aug 27, 2011 12:05 Send this review to a friend
Great radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
Great radio for 220 mhz. Use it daily in my mobile. Bullet proof front-end even downtown Chicago. Actually got two of them.
Does not stand up by itself thou.
 
NA5XX Rating: 4/5 Jan 18, 2010 20:05 Send this review to a friend
good radio for the price  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I just bought my second DJ-296. These are good radios for the (used) price. 5 watts out and more than enough memories. Thw only complaint would be that the radio is menu driven for all functions but you get use to it.
 
N0VKG Rating: 5/5 Apr 29, 2009 10:27 Send this review to a friend
excellant when programmed with software  Time owned: more than 12 months
I like this radio alot. I have had it for a couple of years. I do not use the keypad to program the radio ; although it is not as difficult as other radios are. The radio works great. The software makes it even easier yet. Here in St Louis, Mo there is not alot of 220Mhz activity. But I am hoping that changes. The dj-296t is identical to the dj-196t, dj-496t and dj-596 in keypad layout and programming structure. This makes the programming software also identical to each radio. The dj-296t got alot of EXTRA programming memories compared to its siblings. The dj-296t got 160 memories. And dj-196t, dj-496t got only 40 memories. And the dj-596t got 100 memories. I think its a great radio. Alinco has since replaced it. Not sure about the new one.
 
KD8BIW Rating: 5/5 Jan 8, 2009 11:48 Send this review to a friend
Great basic HT  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had this Ht for about 1.5 years now and i'm glad I got it. I got this used from another ham here in Ohio and right away was on the air on 220. Programming is easy and straight forward. Volume and Squelch controls are a little weird, but actually prefer having them like that now. No more bumping the squelch and having to re-adjust it. TX and RX audio seem fair, and a nice big display makes it easy to see outside or while mobile. Stock battery is a bit weak, but I got an aftermarket big hefty one, which last for at least 3 days when just monitoring local 220 activity. It does fall forward easily, but made a cheap and dirty mount for it to sit in on the bench. All in all a fair radio that will get you on 220 cheap and quick. 73s all de Steve KD8BIW
 
W2MSK Rating: 4/5 Feb 25, 2007 14:15 Send this review to a friend
Thanks Alinco  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Opened the box and programmed a repeater and simplex IRLP node (with PL) in about two minutes, no manual needed. Completely intuitive and well laid out keypad. Sure it is not the most comprehensive featured HT but for the price and, of course the band support, it can't be beat. I use it to access my IRLP node and the DTMF feature is great, keytones loud and clear (some rigs leave out this required feedback). The speaker distorts a bit on the higher voulme levels and the stock battery is a bit shy in capacity but given the price it's a winner. Buy one and keep this band segment firmly under Amateur control.
 
W6QE Rating: 5/5 Sep 18, 2006 22:19 Send this review to a friend
It's worth it.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've had the little rig for a few weeks now and I'm well pleased. It would be nice to have a power out setting somewhere between 4.5 watts and .8 watts, but I knew that before I made the purchase.
Alinco fills a gap left voided by Icom, Kenwood and Yaesu. The radio is as advertised. A simple to operate, simple to program and an ease to operate 1 1/4 meter H.T.
There are some bells and whistles that it doesnt have, but then again, the radio's that have the bells and whistles cost $150 more.
I'm pleased and I reccommend the DJ-296T.
 
KG6KUB Rating: 3/5 Apr 22, 2006 11:25 Send this review to a friend
A solid no frills 1.25M ht  Time owned: more than 12 months
I would like the function button to be held on longer before being activated. Many times I accidently delete memory channels by momentarily touching the function button when I'm handling the radio and notice the function display is flashing. I rate it 3 for this reason and also because it does not have either a reverse function or a tone search function.
 
K2ROK Rating: 4/5 Mar 3, 2006 12:52 Send this review to a friend
Nice 220 effort from Alinco  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
It's nice to see a mono-band radio for 220, a way-under utilized piece of ham radio spectrum that has plenty of room for new users. For those of us who have called the band home for many years, the lack of new equipment has been frustrating, but it seems Japan has started to change that.

First off, I debated whether to go with the Kenwood or Yaesu multi-band HTs that include 220 operations, but a cheap price on the 296 at AES could not be passed up.

What you get from Alinco is a basic mono-band effort that does the job, but lacks in a few areas. This rig is the sister to the 196 and 496 from Alinco, and looks the same. It is a hefty radio that is not too small nor too big -- seems to feel "just right." Like a previous reviewed said though, the design lacks stability when you place it on a table -- it wants to fall forward -- and the slightest bump to the table will send the rig falling flat on it's face. Points deducted for that. The other problem -- if you want to call it that -- is the battery. The stock Ni-MH takes an overnight to charge -- and is pretty weak. Probably best to upgrade that part right away -- and already you're spending money, so the price-point sorta loses it's appeal. No charging indicator on the power pack or radio? Nope! Add that to the wish list -- even cheapo cell phones have that option.

The rig is definately an improvement from Alinco's "budget-minded" HTs of the early 90s -- and deserves a good look if you want to get on 220. Audio reports are fine, reception is sensitive, there is no intermod and the rig has never had a problem. Operation is straight-forward, although the squelch and volume scheme takes some getting used to -- but it actually is kind of nice to have the volume change a series of quick and easy steps -- allows the rig to stay consistent without fear it will change as it hangs on your belt and rubs against your jacket. Although, some might find the volume scheme not to their liking -- I guess it is open for debate.

The antenna performs fine, and compliments the radio well. Performance is good -- and really starts to shine when you put an external antenna on the radio.

The bottom line is while this effort is nice from Alinco -- it would be great to see Icom, Yaesu or Kenwood offer a mono-band 220 rig. Their technology is simply ahead of Alinco in many respects...but in the meantime, thanks Alinco for giving us 220-users something to enjoy!
 
KD4V Rating: 4/5 Dec 7, 2004 11:34 Send this review to a friend
Good basic HT  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
It's a good radio. Nothing fancy, but performs well. Stock antenna seems to do a good job. Accessories for the radio are pretty reasonably priced. It's a good size for my hands. A lot of the newer HTs seem a little small and have that awkwardness that some of today's tiny cell phones do. Wish the stock battery was a little bigger, but the 1500maH is really cheap compared to most batteries that I've bought for other radios. Unlike some of the reviews, I like the one knob that needs input to switch functions. I do have to agree with the rounded front edge that lends itself to falling over, but it's not the first HT that I've seen done that way.
 
KC2GYN Rating: 2/5 Sep 15, 2004 19:53 Send this review to a friend
What were they thinking?  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Volume and squelch control are a joke, the bottom front of the radio has a slight 'rounding' that causes the radio to fall forward!

Has anyone else had their NEW RADIO helplessly fall from a table top??

What were the people at Alinco thinking?

 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.