eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Amateur Radio Equipment Repair | Burghardt Repair Service Help


Reviews Summary for Burghardt Repair Service
Burghardt Repair Service Reviews: 104 Average rating: 4.4/5 MSRP: $75/hr Jan2011
Description: Kenwood Authorized Service
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Burghardt Repair Service.

<— Page 2 of 11 —>

N3HYB Rating: 0/5 Aug 19, 2013 12:42 Send this review to a friend
bad experience  Time owned: more than 12 months
About one year ago I sent my HR-2510 in for repairs. I know parts for these old radios are hard to come by. So when they said they could not find parts I said OK send back the radio and bill me for your services. I have yet to receive back the radio after numerous requests. My guess is they lost it or don't feel it is worth the effort. Needless to say I will NEVER use their services again.
 
WZ3O Rating: 5/5 Aug 13, 2013 00:25 Send this review to a friend
Excellent service ... good people  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
So I see mostly 4s & 5s as it should be. The character assassins who'se problems they espouse occurred, I find difficult to take credence in.

Now the good stuff, purchased a used ProII priced with shipping, from Jim and despite the blizzard and UPS delays, it arrived in original box plus an oversized box well padded. OBTW Jim went the extra mile and after UPS being socked in for days, went and changed Ground shipping to 2nd Day Air...that's the way to treat customers!!!

I've had repairs done well in a timely manner previously with good communication.

 
KG4LRU Rating: 5/5 Mar 1, 2013 12:47 Send this review to a friend
Always the Best  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had over the years over 20 repairs done by Burghardts on different radios . Doesnt matter if its a 7800 ,781 or Yaesu 1000 D MVK IV ,I sent a Icom 4 KL to Jim for a repair it was a mess, hit by lighting or a close missed he found the issue he was able to replace all but one chip that was no longer avable in the USA , he gave the part number and i was able to locate the chip throgh international parts dept. IT was there last chip 28.00 later the chip was sent to Burghardts . The amp came back working like new . Bill was 500.00 Where can you buy 2KW amp 500.00 always returns the bad parts . If you have an issue with a repair he will always stand behind his work . Out 20 repairs I have had two radios that had to go back for corrections . HIs shop is the best on 781 repairs they can repair the alc issues and all the know problems . I found that factory repairs our great if there free (under warranty) Jim can fix most radios even if the factory has no parts.
 
N2NW Rating: 5/5 Feb 4, 2013 10:32 Send this review to a friend
Professional job  Time owned: more than 12 months
I'm the original owner this FT-1000D (over 20yrs.) and had multiple issues with the transmitter section, among them the SWR protection circuit and the finals. They were pretty busy, and it took a little longer than their estimate, but rig was repaired and works well. They included a copy of test data on the rig. BTW, Yaesu will no longer do factory repairs on the FT-1000D. I would use Burghardt again.
 
VA7HZ Rating: 5/5 Dec 4, 2012 11:10 Send this review to a friend
These guys are great  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Some of you may remember my rant about NTF Communications and the repair of my FT-2000D and how I ended up sending it to Yaesu. Well within a short time of getting it back the front end blew again and it was dead on RX. After having spent a lot of money shipping it around the countryside, it sat for sometime, especially since I had a Flex, but I kept thinking I should get it repaired and that's when I learned about Burhardt Repair. I shipped the radio to them, they told me up front it would be about two weeks before they got to it. They called when they found the problem which was Yaesu had installed the mixer chips the wrong way, made some modifications so I wouldn't have issues again, tested and aligned it and sent it back. It's working great. Thanks Guys
 
KG4EWH Rating: 0/5 Oct 7, 2012 08:43 Send this review to a friend
dispicable.  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
i SENT MY KENWOOD TS 600 TO BURGHARDTS FOR REPAIR.I waited several months for update on repair ,none .Clled in 2 months,not on work bench yet.CALLED IN 4 MONTHS ,GONNA START MONDAY ON IT.WAITED TWO MONTHS ORDERD ONE FROM UK SO LONG SHIPPING DATE WAITED 2 MONTHS CALLED PART NOT AVAILBE.SENT MONEY FOR BENCH TIME AND UPS SHIP.8/30 called answere driver didnt pick up pkgc.chk ups trk no it is now 10 m0nths no radio no trk number .he has my money and radio.i have a sore butt.
 
KX6G Rating: 5/5 Sep 21, 2012 08:13 Send this review to a friend
Made Me Like It  Time owned: more than 12 months
He found and fixed a microphone problem that was missed by another repair service.

A BIG plus, was that he answered his phone when I called [how good it that!]

After doing the mic fix and addressing several other issues, he was able to complete my repair on schedule, and returned in a timely fashion. I appreciated his communication during the repair.

5 stars and 2 thumbs up!
 
KB4BJM Rating: 5/5 May 15, 2012 01:47 Send this review to a friend
Fantastic and Quick  Time owned: more than 12 months
I sent my TS-2000 in for a Blue-lite, Inrad and Mars mods. Radio was done in a week. All work was flawless and communictions was never an issue either. Fair price and I will use again in the future.
 
W0XXX Rating: 5/5 Jan 12, 2012 15:25 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Bought a new to me TS-850 and it went nuts within a week. Seems the lithium battery leaked (common problem) and did a bunch of damage. A lesson to ALL 850 owners...have this checked! Jim and the crew thought they found the problem, only to find another place where the battery leaked into. They took the time, and got it right. A few other repair centers wouldn't reply to emails. These guys are pros, and will doing my repairs in the future.
 
N0FPE Rating: 5/5 Dec 16, 2011 11:40 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: more than 12 months
Just received my repaired 756PROII back from Jim. works better than before. all tuned up and ready to go on 60 meters when we get the new modes there! Good communications and reasonably cost. I would not hesitate to send another radio for repair! Thanks guys!!!
 
<— Page 2 of 11 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.