eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Base/Mobile (non hand-held) | ICOM IC-2720H Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-2720H
ICOM IC-2720H Reviews: 163 Average rating: 3.4/5 MSRP: $???
Description: 2M/440MHz Dual Band Mobile
Product is not in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-2720H.

Page 1 of 17 —>

AE7VA Rating: 5/5 Feb 16, 2014 19:56 Send this review to a friend
Eleven Years Strong  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had this radio in my current and former truck since I bought it new in May 2003....that's 11 years now and still working like new!

It has survived 11 years of hot Phoenix summers baking away in temps well over 120 degrees while the truck is parked outside during work and other trips.

I've modified it for AF MARS usage and it works great for MARS purposes outside the ham bands.

No problems at all with it...still transmits like a champ.

Intermod is a problem in a few areas; such as, when I pass right by a communications site on a hill next to the highway and when I pass by Sky Harbor Airport. Otherwise, I don't have any other intermod problems in the Phoenix area and I have it hooked to a Diamond Super Gainer SG7900 2m/70cm antenna.
 
N4KVE Rating: 5/5 Apr 10, 2013 19:55 Send this review to a friend
BEST DUAL BANDER EVER  Time owned: more than 12 months
I own 3 of these, & to me they are the best dual band mobiles I've ever owned. The display is great. Works in bright daylight, or night of darkness. The receiver is red hot, & also receives 800 & 900 mhz. Everything is pl'd these days, so I never receive intermod. I can put these radios away, & after 2 years I can use them, & not forget how they work. While I use commercial Motorola radios in my cars now, I still refuse to sell these radios & I'll put one in my car when I take a long trip & need a VFO to scan. Over the years I have owned many dual band mobiles of all makes, & none have been easier to operate, or read the display. While some had problems with the tx failing, I have never had this problem. Icom even included the separation kit for free. I just can't say enough good things about this radio. GARY N4KVE
 
K5JAB Rating: 0/5 Apr 10, 2013 15:17 Send this review to a friend
Garbage  Time owned: more than 12 months
I don't like rating equipment this low but ICOM dropped the ball on this one... Were do I begin?

1. The receiver is red hot. If you have a channel programmed with out some sort of CTCSS or DCS tone and live in or near a large metropolitan area you are going to pull your hair out. The front-end on this thing gets overloaded real easy and it make for a bad scanning experience. My Baofeng UV-5R has a better front-end than this thing.

2. The display is ridiculous. A $400+ radio should have a nice large display that can show both letters and numbers. This isn't the 80's. Lets do a better job at making displays better to look at. Again, cheap China stuff has better displays than this.

3. The controls and menu system are made worse by the bad display. It's bad enough that we have to use menu systems in the first place. At least try to make it usable. I wouldn't advise trying to change CTCSS tones while driving.....

There are a FEW good things about this unit; It does cross-band repeat, has a good cooling fan and is built solid. The mounting options and INCLUDED remote mounting bracket are awesome and you can connect the mic either to the main unit or the head making option for placement in a vehicle easy.
 
KA3RCS Rating: 4/5 Dec 9, 2012 22:18 Send this review to a friend
Decent radio with a few issues  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've been running the same 2720H as my primary VHF/UHF mobile since I got it new in 2003. It's worked through many cold winters and many hot summers, and just keeps working.

I never had any problems with the final amp, but then, I have always had the fan set to run continuously, and have every memory programmed for low power and only ever increase it if I actually need it (which is common sense as well as good amateur practice).

The only actual failure which I ever experienced with this radio was that the driver circuit stopped activating the fan. I expected the fan itself to have failed (as it has been noisy for years), but grounding the negative lead made it run again. It was strangely timed, as it occurred when I moved it to a different vehicle earlier this year. I just bypassed the driver and hard-wired power to the fan, and installed a heavy duty switch in series with the power cable to the radio...some time I plan to dig into it and fix the driver properly, or at least add a new low-side driver to power the fan only when the radio is turned on. I'll probably put a new fan in it as well for good measure.

I never had any problems with the microphone or the display either. My only real complaint about the display is that it, like that of many other Icom models, has no protective window over it...what were they thinking?!? Another minor point is that the viewing angle is suboptimal. I have the control head tilted way down (it's mounted overhead in a Wrangler), and it's still somewhat hard to read from the driver's seat.

Here are the major positive and negative points in my experience:

Pros:

- Very sensitive receiver, if no interference present (see cons)

- Very reliable - it has 'just worked' for almost 10 years

- Very good transmit and receive audio

Cons:

- INTERMOD!!! Forget big cities, the front end in this thing gets absolutely HAMMERED in a rural area many miles from any transmitter sites of any type! The RF squelch helps, but it still gets trashed horribly way too often. I have run it with a coax switch to connect the same antenna to the VHF/UHF port on my FT-857D, and the difference in the same place on the same frequency is night and day. It's not specific to one band or either side of the radio either...VHF and UHF are both affected on both sides.

- Very difficult to program. Thank goodness for computer programming, which interestingly can be accomplished with the same cable used for the Yaesu FT-50/VR-500/VX-5/VX-7 as well as the Icom cable.

- No alpha tags. Not really any good excuse for this, as the concept was already well established when this radio came out.

- Mechanical relay engages on some receive frequencies (!). I refuse to put 220 MHz frequencies in scan, as I suspect that the relay would not hold up for very long.

Overall, it's not a bad radio, despite having a few shortcomings. I have to give it a decent rating because it has been through so much for so long, and it basically just keeps working.
 
K9DLI Rating: 3/5 Dec 11, 2011 07:15 Send this review to a friend
fair  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned a 2720 H for about 5 years in mobile service, never had a problem with finals
or Microphones but have repaired friends radios. Also yes the front end is an RF sponge and mixer of terrible design.
My chief complaint is in the display software and tiny control buttons. The radio will display channel numbers in one mode but not when you go to group mode. I do this so I can have towns along a route in one state at a time. However no chan number or group number makes using groups nearly useless. One needs to have a cheat sheet along on trips.. I will be replacing this unit and selling it as soon as I can install a Motorola Spectra with zones and channels in alphanumeric. Then I can bring up the state I am in and stroll thru modes until I find a town I am near. The Japanese just cannot get the "KISS" concept into their radios.
 
KD0JWY Rating: 3/5 Jul 20, 2011 19:11 Send this review to a friend
It's an OK Radio if you live out in the country  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
This is KD0JWY, I owned one of these radio's mainly because of the cross band repeater option and also because I am able to use the dual receive function. It's an ok radio. I drive through town and even use it in the house sometimes but it has a wide open front end. I used it for a while but got tired of all of the interference coming through. I sold it but it works ok. 73's from KD0JWY
 
PU7PST Rating: 5/5 Jan 27, 2011 12:53 Send this review to a friend
EXCELENTE RADIO  Time owned: more than 12 months
EXCELENTE RADIO EM TODOS OS SENTIDOS. ÉXCELENTE TX E RX. EXCELENTE RADIO.
 
K9XXX Rating: 4/5 Mar 22, 2010 08:15 Send this review to a friend
maybe I'm lucky  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought one which was my first cross-band repeat model. I later discovered that three people in a single club had experienced spontaneous internal combustion in their 2720H(for one individual, the dealer replacement also).
The one I first bought was from a late production run so maybe Icom had fixed the problem.
I later bought one from an ebayer who said Icom replaced the transceiver and sent it back to him with his original control/display module. So far neither has burned out.
 
KC9ISG Rating: 4/5 Mar 21, 2010 09:00 Send this review to a friend
change my review from before.  Time owned: more than 12 months
I recently left a review and wasn't very happy and a few days later after leaving a review I got an email from ICOM and they sent me a list of upgrades and a parts list to fix the two radio's I have and I finally got them all and sent it to a repair guy I found from a friend and he did a wonderful job repairing these two radios and haven't had any problems with them since. They no longer have the heat problems or the driver problems going out or the finals going out they still have the intermittent problem inside major cities, but other then that they work great. I have also bought the new yaesu ftm350r/e and it works great to. I like these radios because there similar in some ways mainly the dual band receive, I really like to be on one side and still be able to scan on the other.
 
NT9E Rating: 5/5 Feb 11, 2009 20:26 Send this review to a friend
Top Performer!!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I was 2nd in line on the waiting list at Milwaukee AES in the fall of 2002. The only problem I have had with it is that the mic button does not like to function well in freezing temperatures in the winter time (when parked in the parking lot at work). After car warms up, it works fine. I would buy another one.
 
Page 1 of 17 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.