eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Amplifiers: RF Power - HF & HF+6M | Linear Amps UK Challenger Help


Reviews Summary for Linear Amps UK Challenger
Linear  Amps UK Challenger Reviews: 7 Average rating: 3.7/5 MSRP: $2095 Pounds
Description: HF amplifier models
Product is not in production.
More info: http://www.linamp.co.uk
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Linear Amps UK Challenger.

M0KKW Rating: 0/5 Feb 5, 2015 15:33 Send this review to a friend
Utter Junk  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Had one to repair. How anyone could sell rubbish like this commercially amazes me. Lousy construction, corners cut everywhere, terrible workmanship and cheap components. As an amateur made one off it would be poor.
Take a look inside one of these and compare it to an Acom and you'll see how an amplifier should be built.
 
M0VEY Rating: 5/5 Dec 6, 2009 08:06 Send this review to a friend
Rugged British Amp  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought the Challenger 3 amp as an upgrade to a Ranger 811H amp I'd owned for around 4 years.

The Challenger delivers the UK legal limit of 400w for just 20w drive from my transceiver.

Input swr is low on all bands. The Challenger is a very reliable & rugged amp, that I'm sure will be in my shack for many years to come.

The GS35 Triode is a very rugged valve,which is capable of producing high power for long operating periods.

Specifications
Output power - 1500W SSB or CW Max, 1000W RTTY Max
Gain - 13dB nominal
Power requirements - 230V AC at 13A, 50/60 Hz
Frequency coverage - All amateur bands 1.8 - 29.7MHz
Valve - single GS35b ceramic triode
DC voltage - 3600V DC
Metering - Plate current, Grid current/RF O/P
Dimensions - 16in wide x 9.5in high x 17in deep 410mm x 240mm x 475mm
Weight - 29kg

I rate the amp as a 5 based on performance & price. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this amp to anyone.

Regards,
Phil. m0vey
 
M0PRO Rating: 3/5 Sep 2, 2008 12:06 Send this review to a friend
Could do better  Time owned: more than 12 months
I owned a Challenger III GS-35 model for over a year. Purchased new and it was returned to Peter 3 times. Wasn't particularly impressed. It always ran hot on 10m, even at 400 watts.

IMO, if 1 kW will do, an Acom 1000 is a much better alternative and it's resale value is MUCH higher.

73

Jack
 
M0MGF Rating: 5/5 Dec 23, 2007 12:49 Send this review to a friend
WOW !!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Peter, you make a wonderful Amplifier. I have now added a Challenger IV amplifier to my shack and i wonder why i never did it earlier on.
This is my first amp and what a start, I do not think that i will ever need to change this one. 160m through to 10m, 1.5KW output(when the UK authorities decide to allow more power then the current 400W limit, I will be ready for it). Those distant DX stations are now able to hear me and are giving good reports of a strong signal and good audio.
If there was going to be a criticism then it would be the slightly lethargic dial on the LOAD, but nothing to be overly worried about.
Do yourself a favour and save time on looking at the rest, just get one of these beasts.
 
G0CVL Rating: 5/5 Apr 15, 2007 10:05 Send this review to a friend
Exellent  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Having previously written about the Challenger III amp, I took the plunge, and invested in Peters newest amp, A Challenger IV. This amp, uses the mighty 8877 (3cx1500) tube, and as expected, is more powerful than the previous GS35. Peter evolves his amps slowly, and never produces a new model, without a reason. The 8877, is a high gain tube, and as such, is more suited to lower drive levels, Where the GS35, needed a good 100w of drive for 1500w, the 8877 takes considerably less. As such, the modern solid state radios, can drive it to 1500w out using about 65 watts, HOWEVER, if 100w is applied, then WOW, my own example delivers (into a dummy load) 1.8 - 2.2kw KEY DOWN when driven from the ProIII 160m-10m, and a little more if driven from the FT1000MKV. This is balun and coax melting territory, and respect must be shown to these levels of power. The tube is deliberately not "maxed out" in the design ( they will give more) and so with the other built in protection circuits, makes for a solid performer over long periods. One thing though - I KNOW there are quite a few others here in the UK, and more abroad have bought Peters amps, so WHY NO MORE REVIEWS??? Are people too shy to admit what amp they've got??? Hears looking to the maxima 73 Spike - GoCVL
 
G4VVQ Rating: 5/5 Apr 10, 2007 00:40 Send this review to a friend
Wonerful Amp  Time owned: more than 12 months
Hi there i have a challenger-3 with a GS-35 triode tube in, never had any trouble with it, does tend to get a bit hot even on 200 watts, so need plenty of ventilation, does anyone use the ALC on there's? i have an FT-847 and the ALC lead appears in the manual to have a diode in? anyone know about that, there normally just a phono lead,
our max limit in the UK is 400 watts, this gives out 1500, never tried it on full power, but it tunes up perfectly on 10-15-20, that's all i have ever used it on, on the minus side it does take a while to come on, about 4 minutes before the light goes green and you can use it..it does cost a lot of money, but don't they all, Peter at the factory in Yorkshire is always very helpfull...73 Fred in England
 
G3CWI Rating: 3/5 Jul 8, 2002 10:35 Send this review to a friend
Delivers Watts.  Time owned: more than 12 months
A fairly basic HF amplifier with few frills and little in the way of complex control electronics. Inside the construction is crude.

That being said, it does the job, delivering 1500W(just) on all the HF bands. Tuning is desperately flat on 3.5 and 1.8MHz and it appears that the LC ratio is probably wrong for optimum performance there.

Second-hand, this amp may be worth a look. If you are going for something new, there are much better options for only a little more money.

I would look at the Acom amps.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.