eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Batteries & Chargers for amateur radios. | A & A Engineering Smart Chargers Help


Reviews Summary for A & A Engineering Smart Chargers
A & A Engineering Smart Chargers Reviews: 33 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $$79.95 for 1A version, $139,95 f
Description: Three-stage chargers that will not overcharge lead acid batteries, even when left connected.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.a-aengineering.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the A & A Engineering Smart Chargers.

Page 1 of 4 —>

K9RJ Rating: 5/5 Jun 21, 2014 16:31 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had the 5 amp version for several years. Works perfectly and generates no RFI. Only wish I could have purchased about a 7-10 amp version. Otherwise PERFECT!
 
AL7F Rating: 5/5 Jan 20, 2012 23:46 Send this review to a friend
A HAPPY USER  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just bought my first A&A 5 Amp charger and thought I had a problem with it. Blowing the input fuse. I called Stas and he sent me out a replacement right away. The problem turned out to be the power strip I was plugging it into. The charger works GREAT and NO HASH.
 
K1TWH Rating: 5/5 Dec 4, 2011 05:24 Send this review to a friend
Good quality unit  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Purchased the 1A unit to charge my 7Ah and 33Ah gel cells. Unit works just as advertised. I have a good feeling these back up batteries are going to stay in good condition a lot longer than others I've had before the A&A unit. Worth the $$. Tom Howey WB1FPA
 
WA2RUG Rating: 5/5 Dec 3, 2011 12:25 Send this review to a friend
As-advertised  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I have been using the 5A (w/solar option) model for almost a year to charge/maintain a pair of 18Ah 'Gel-cells' which is my only station power
supply. It has been operating continuously and flawlessly for months, and I am seamlessly ready for power failures and glitches without a hiccup. My operating style is very casual: rag-chewing on two meters and mostly listening on HF. So, my battery setup is adequate for my needs and the charger is a perfect match....it performs as expected and I am very pleased with it. It is solidly built, purchase and shipping was fast and no-nonsense, and I am glad it is made right here in the USA. The only improvement I would like to see is a rear output (but not-sure if there's really space for it).
 
WA6KYR Rating: 5/5 Oct 12, 2011 21:13 Send this review to a friend
great product  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have the 1 amp charger and the 5 amp charger.
I have been using them for years with no problems.
It is so great to just hook up your battery
and forget about it for many months. Then one day when you need that battery it is ready to go at full charge in perfect condition. Before I discovered this product I tended to over or under charge and ruin my batteries. Now I just set it and forget it. Also note what a fine gentleman the owner is.
 
KA8ZSB Rating: 5/5 Apr 24, 2011 16:44 Send this review to a friend
7 years on 1 battery  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought an A&A 1Amp charger to use with my wife's tiller. When the battery failed I replaced it at Sears, only to be told (with wonder) that the battery had originally been purchased in 2004, almost to the day. I have had one of the 5Amp chargers for a 200 AHr battery for some years, and now have a pair of the 5Amp chargers for the 200AHr batteries used with the Ham radios. Well worth the price.
 
KH6DC Rating: 5/5 Jan 19, 2011 00:36 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Charger  Time owned: more than 12 months
Had the 1 amp smart charger for 15 years and built from kit form. It worked perfectly charging my gel cells and sealed lead acid batteries until it was stolen whne my office got broken into last year. Just purchased another 1 amp kit and will start building it in the morning. No matter what I put the charger through, it came through like a champ.
 
AC0DS Rating: 5/5 Nov 13, 2008 08:36 Send this review to a friend
Happy Batteries and Happy Owner  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I built the kit version with the switched QRP option and PowerPole output cable. Fun and easy kit to assemble, with very nice looking case. And it works like a champ, with a 3 stage charge that makes for happy and long lasting batteries.

Of course I couldn't be satisfied with the perfectly performing unit and made three modifications that optimized it for my situation and increased my satisfaction level.

First, I used a SPDT center off toggle switch (Mouser PN 1055-TA2135-EVX) rather than the supplied SPST switch. This allowed me to have three selectable levels of charge current rather than two. I have it set up for 0.25A, 0.5A and 1A, since I use SLA batteries from 1.4 AH to 7 AH capacity. All the resistors you will need come with the kit.

Secondly I modified the LED charge indicator arrangement. I used the red LED for the bulk charge, and installed an amber LED (Mouser PN 696-SSL-LX5093AD) for the second stage charge. The unit as designed indicates that the battery is in the final maintenance mode by turning off both of these LEDs. I chose to use the green LED to indicate this maintenance mode. This can be done with only one additional diode(1N4148), a resistor already in the kit, and drilling one additional hole in the case. Now the presence of a green light indicates that the battery is ready to go.

Thirdly, I added a resistor isolated BNC connector on the rear panel for convenient attachment of a DVM for charge voltage monitoring. I know its nerdy, but I enjoy watching the charge process (no, I don't enjoy watching paint dry or grass grow).

Overall a great value and great addition to your shack if you use a wide range of SLA battery sizes.
... Craig AC0DS
 
W6GJI Rating: 5/5 Nov 5, 2008 10:08 Send this review to a friend
Excellent charger, great service.  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've owned the 5 amp version for 6 years. It has worked perfectly until recently, when the fan started to get noisy. A quick call to Stas and a new fan was received a few days later (no charge). I will gladly do business with A & A Engineering in the future.
 
K5NT Rating: 5/5 Oct 10, 2008 07:59 Send this review to a friend
A Quality Product!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is my third charger from A&A Engineering. I have had their 1 Amp model for almost 10 years, and also use their QRP version. This new unit maintains a full charge on a 97 amp-hour gel cell, and provides the first 5 amps of the station's requirements. In the event of a power failure (all too common here in Richmond, VA), the battery would take over. A barely audible fan comes on when the unit is delivering 1 amp or more, as it is when my OMNI VI+ is turned on.
 
Page 1 of 4 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.