eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Amplifiers: RF Power - HF & HF+6M | Commander HF-1250 Help


Reviews Summary for Commander HF-1250
Commander HF-1250 Reviews: 8 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $1695
Description: HF amp 160-10 meters 1.2 KW output 1 3CX800A7 tube
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.palstar.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Commander HF-1250.

K2UE Rating: 5/5 Oct 14, 2011 06:11 Send this review to a friend
Excellent!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Purchased the E version (export) with QSK from a ham in Canada for use at my summer house. I wanted a linear that would give me at least 1KW, cover 160m, and not need huge drive, to assure good IM from a solid-state transceiver driver. After replacing the original drifted HV meter resistors, and the original electrolytics (that appeared to still be OK), I am extremely pleased with the amp. Smooth easily logged tuning with the vernier caps, low input VSWR, low grid current way below tube spec. The only shortcoming is no output metering, so you will need an in-line power meter. Tank is of the highest grade materials like we used to used to build commercial SSB gear for continuous duty. Highly recommended.
 
K2FCL Rating: 5/5 Dec 15, 2010 07:22 Send this review to a friend
ROCK SOLID !  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Recently acquired this amp from an acquaintance in Canada not realizing how nice an amp it really is. It still looks and works as new, and makes most other amps I've owned seem like toys. The build quality, ruggedness, and component selection are top shelf. Believe me, when you turn the bandswitch on this 1250 and you hear and feel the "snap" you'll realize too how things are supposed to be !!! If you can find one, buy it !!
Recently the tube has become pricy but with proper care will last many years and they are still quite available as "medical" pulls.
 
PA1K Rating: 5/5 Jan 31, 2010 14:56 Send this review to a friend
super  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I bought an HF1250E in 2009.
Great amplifier with 1200-1300 watts output.
Very well build, with great parts.
If you find one, buy it.
50-60 watts gives you full output.
 
NL7FK Rating: 5/5 Mar 23, 2008 09:52 Send this review to a friend
WOW!!!!!!!!!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I recently bought this amp at a ham fest with the intention of passing it on to a friend who was looking for an amp. I did pass on the amp to him but while testing the amp the decision to pass it on was difficult to say the least.

This is one great amplifier. Can one say overkill? The components are top shelf. The fit and finish are one of the best on the market. The amplifier was 5 or 6 years old but the operation and output of the amp was as it was the day it was originally sold. Major attributes:
Quality components
Low Drive Requirements
NO noisy fan noise
Silky smooth qsk
and on and on.........

Note this is no little amp. The amp is quite large and it is heavy. The performance leaves the other 1KW to 1.2KW amps in the dust. This is a real hams amplifier. To make a long story short if you can put your hands on one of these gems you are backing up if you do not snag it up.
 
K1QAR Rating: 5/5 Aug 6, 2007 11:14 Send this review to a friend
Big juice for ricebox AM  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I got one of the few 4cx800a prototypes, serial 420. On AM with a 100W SSB rated ricebox it takes the 8 Watts of decent AM carrier and turns it into 300.
Basically a no-frills Acom 1000.

Someone oughta make more of these.
 
KE4AMQ Rating: 5/5 Apr 29, 2006 17:20 Send this review to a friend
GREAT QUITE AMP  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I BOUGHT THIS AMP ABOUT 3 WEEKS AGO, ITS USING A UPGRADED 3CXP800A7 TUBE. THE AMP IS SUPER QUITE AND WORKS GREAT EASY TUNING , AND I LIKE THE FACT IT HAS THE 2 MINUTE WARM UP LIGHT..THE ONLY THING I HAVE TO SAY ABOUT THIS AMP IS IF YOU FIND ONE GET IT...THE ONE TUBE 1250 AMP WILL PUT OUT 1500 WATTS WITH THE UPGRADED CPX TUBE AND WELL I AM IN LOVE WITH IT.. I HAVE SEEN THEM FOR SALE FOR 1200-1500 DOLLARS AND THATS A GOOD DEAL IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A AMP THAT WILL LAST THE REST OF YOUR LIFETIME. THE 3CXP800A7 WILL ALSO LAST THAT LONG IF ITS NOT ABUSED.
 
AB2PN Rating: 5/5 Oct 17, 2003 14:13 Send this review to a friend
Great Amp!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Having owned a Commander HF-1250 for about 9 months now I'd have to say that this is one of the best built amps you will ever find.

This well designed amp uses a single Eimac 3CX800A7 tube to put out a solid 1250 watts PEP or 750 watts continuous for RTTY, SSTV, etc.

The only draw back I could find is that it is not in production anymore, so it's only available on the used market.

My advice would be if you see one grab it before someone else does.
 
WV4X Rating: 5/5 Jul 23, 2002 16:25 Send this review to a friend
Great Product  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Its rare that any product does as advertised, and simply put this amp meets all its specs, a clean 1.3 kw on all bands it coasts at a kw, its imd products are equal to any amp out there. Now the bad news this amp is not in production anymore, nothing wrong but the larger 2500 got so popular they stopped production, if you want a easy kw out with no stray harmonics this is the one, my comparison is to brand X 2 3500zs that was to noisy and made lots of heat. This 1 3CX800 is great,(50 watt drive 1KW out) tunes up easy runs quiet and cool.So if you see one used go for it.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.