eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | QRP Accessories | DYC-817 Speech Compressor Help


Reviews Summary for DYC-817 Speech Compressor
DYC-817 Speech Compressor Reviews: 19 Average rating: 4.4/5 MSRP: $45
Description: External dynamic compressor kit for FT-817/857/897
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.box73.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the DYC-817 Speech Compressor.

Page 1 of 2 —>

IW5CI Rating: 5/5 Dec 14, 2016 08:06 Send this review to a friend
It works with FT-1000 Too  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I use this compressor with the ft-1000 MKV and MD-100 mic. Every one say that the punch is great (better than turning on a 500W amplifier) and the modulation is even better.
 
G3TSO Rating: 4/5 Dec 14, 2016 06:02 Send this review to a friend
Now Working Well  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Following a disappointing start with this product, the company supplied me with a replacement pcb! This was quickly assembled and tested. Once I had re-crimped the RJ45 cable, all worked very well with a marked increase in talk power.

Having had a RF processor inside the Mic housing on an earlier 817, I find this just as good and more flexible as it can easily be removed
 
G3TSO Rating: 1/5 Dec 8, 2016 14:29 Send this review to a friend
Disappointing  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I purchased this kit from Funkamateur.de. It looked prety good on arrival and only took an hour to add the extra components to the board. It drew the correct current when powered up, but when connected to the 817 it did not allow any audio from the Mic to reach the Rig. A little investigation revealed that all many of the SM components were dry jointed to the pcb. Looks like I have a Friday afternoon version! Do I waste my time fixing it or send it back? Hopefully when it eventually works it will be better than the manufacturing.
 
AB1QX Rating: 5/5 Sep 8, 2014 03:36 Send this review to a friend
solid addition to FT-817  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Really make a quantum improvement on an FT-817's signal; easily an S-unit's worth. As another reviewer noted, the boost is better than the OBP, and, more to the point for me--not subject to RF pickup like the OBP was. Bravo!
Highly recommended.
 
WB1AAT Rating: 5/5 Jul 12, 2014 21:11 Send this review to a friend
Does the job nicely  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Got the 2.0 version of the DYC-8x7 model. Went together in 30 minutes or so. Only a handful of components to solder in. Awesome that all tiny SMD components were already mounted and soldered. Only one SMD capacitor to solder and it wasn't that bad to do. On the air with my FT817 is extremely noticeable. My external power meter indicates average power banging the top end of 5W where without it tends to bounce high and low with averages much lower. Listened in on another radio while talking and switching in and out was an obvious and dramatic improvement in "punch". Good audio reports on the air too. Wont turn a 5W radio into 100W but definitely makes the best of what you have. Ease of connection and built in tone generator are welcome bonuses. Its a shame the 817 didn't already have a processor as many QRP rigs like the KX3 do.
 
M6AIU Rating: 5/5 Oct 8, 2012 15:26 Send this review to a friend
Worth every penny!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Had mine for about 6 months now and its transformed my 817. I get great reports on 2.5 and 5 watts out and i wouldn't be without it!

It's a simple self build project (i am by no means the best soldering bod in the world) and took about an hour to complete - i recommend that novice solder jockeys take their time as i did and you should be able to do this yourself. Good quality materials throughout with easy to follow instructions. Highly recommended and good value for money too!!
 
G3XBM Rating: 5/5 Jul 8, 2012 05:47 Send this review to a friend
Superb addition to FT817  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The latest version of this kit comes with a ready built RJ45 cable/plugs assembly between the unit and radio, so there are no issues at all with wire stripping. Assembly of the kit took 30 mins and set-up was very simple indeed. Even though the instructions are in German, these are not really needed: just set one pot (with the processor off) to a sensible audio level and adjust the second pot for the level of compression needed. On-air results are quite remarkable: whereas I'd often struggle to be heard before, I am making QSOs with ease and good reports. At 34 euros delivered to the UK this represents a very good value kit.
 
N1EU Rating: 5/5 Apr 24, 2012 14:29 Send this review to a friend
Gem of a Processor  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This processor is once again being sold as the DYC-8x7 and I received it soon after placing my order. VAT was automatically discounted when I checked out. The kit was VERY easy to assemble. I used some online translation tools to help with the German but it was very straightforward. Only because I have an oscilloscope on hand, I adjusted P3 to make sure the SSM2165-1 chip was receiving about 20mV of audio at pin 4, to place my audio in the center of the active compression zone. It was probably an unnecessary step but I wanted to make sure the gain distribution was correct. I then adjusted my FT-817 mic gain for proper ALC action - it ended up at "6" because the DYC8x7 puts out a hefty audio signal. Monitoring on a second rig, the improvement in punchiness of the ssb signal from the FT-817 was remarkable.
 
VE3KKQ Rating: 4/5 Jun 25, 2004 17:00 Send this review to a friend
No more wire stripping!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Put an RJ-45 socket in where the wires go. You will have to remove the snap-in mounting pins though. Then super glue the bad boy on to the PCB. Put an RJ-45 plug on the other end of the provided cable, be sure to allign the wires first. The last thing is some surgery on the case, all done!

VIOLA!!! Major convienance!!
 
W9PMZ Rating: 4/5 Jun 24, 2003 19:17 Send this review to a friend
Nice piece of kit  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I order the unit via the web and it took about 3 weeks for delivery. Not so bad.

The PWB took about 1/2 hour to assemble, with the pigtail taking 1 hour and 3 tries, solder wick, 2 more wire ties and 1 burned finger.

Overall the unit works very nicely. Did note some RF feedback on a indoor antenna though. No feedback on the outside antenna.

If you have a FT-817 this is a worthwhile accessory.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.