eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: VHF/UHF+ Omnidirectional: verticals, mobile, etc | Maldol MH-510 6m/2m/70cm HT Antenna Help


Reviews Summary for Maldol MH-510 6m/2m/70cm HT Antenna
Maldol MH-510 6m/2m/70cm HT Antenna Reviews: 16 Average rating: 4.3/5 MSRP: $38.00
Description: Tri-Band HT antenna for 6m/2m/70cm. On 70cm it has 3.2db gain. It can handle 10w out. It also recievs on 80mhz/120mhz/300mhz/800mhz/900mhz. It has an sma antenna connector and is perfect for the Yaesu VX-5 and VX-7
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Maldol MH-510 6m/2m/70cm HT Antenna.

Page 1 of 2 —>

KJ4NWZ Rating: 5/5 Jan 30, 2011 16:08 Send this review to a friend
Great VHF/UHF tri-band antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought the Maldol MH-510 UHF/VHF tri-band antenna to use with my Yaesu VX-7R(b) and it has not disappointed. Pretty good bang for the buck.
 
KI6EYT Rating: 5/5 Oct 20, 2008 01:26 Send this review to a friend
Pretty good stick  Time owned: more than 12 months
Purchased the MH-510 about 2 yrs back. Use it and have used it out in the wild land (fire(s)). Have not encountered any problems reaching any of the 2M and/or 70CM repeaters as long as I'm not stuck really down in some ravine somewhere. Don't always get full scale, but at least 50 to 80% most of the time. Able to pick reach the WIN SYS which really helps.
 
KB2WQT Rating: 5/5 Sep 12, 2008 12:44 Send this review to a friend
BIG RIG SOUND  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I purchased mine in Jan 08 for my IC-T90A. Unbelievable quality. Most hams didn't think I was using an HT. The size, yeah sometimes a problem. But, add an MFJ-332S mag mount and you've just converted into a very good mobile rig.
 
N3IDG Rating: 5/5 Sep 12, 2008 08:11 Send this review to a friend
gr8  Time owned: more than 12 months
i use this antenna on an icom ic-q7a for improved 6 meter reception could hear repeater s3 with fluctuation when i moved it would disappear with the stock duck, with the mh-510 i had a full scale signal that stayed that way with movement, this is a backbone repeater for skywarn so hearing it is vital, on 2 meters and 440 it worked better then the stock antenna . defiantly a good antenna all around but a bit cumbersome so keep your stock ducky handy owned for 5 years
 
KI4YJL Rating: 4/5 Dec 29, 2007 15:14 Send this review to a friend
great antenna  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought this antenna today and played with it on some repeaters today and apparently people thought I was running my "big" mobile radio. It works really well on 2m and 440 but I have done just a little on 6. I also use this on my VX-170 for 2m and it works very well.

The only reason it might be a problem is that it is very long.
 
KL0PE Rating: 4/5 Aug 15, 2007 20:23 Send this review to a friend
Good performer, but very long and heavy  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought this years ago for my VX-5 but I found I didn't use it much because it's so long that it's inconvenient to use. Clipping the radio to your belt, this antenna will come up past your shoulder! Not only that but it makes the radio very top heavy so that it's impossible to stand the rig on a desk.

However, it's a solid performer and significantly boosts received signal strength. A couple of simple tests using my newly acquired VX-6 show anywhere from 25% to 50% improved receive according to the S-meter. Distant stations that come across as hash with the stock duck sound loud and clear with MH-510.

If only it were shorter and lighter. It'll serve you well when you're stationary, but keep the stock duck handy if you plan on taking your radio around town.
 
K0JEG Rating: 4/5 Apr 15, 2007 07:53 Send this review to a friend
Not bad  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
A little heavy due to the loading coil, but hey, you can't change physics.

I bought this to improve the FM broadcast reception on my TH-F6A (I don't use 220 right now). It fills in the middle ground between my MFJ superflexy dual bander and the 72" telescoping whip I use when stationary. It does get about 1-2 S units on the FM band, and is a little better at SWL than the internal bar antenna, but not anywhere as good as the very fragile whip (for good reason). OTOH, I can walk through the forest without worry.
 
G4ZLZ Rating: 2/5 Feb 3, 2007 10:10 Send this review to a friend
Off-resonance on 6m  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned this antenna for 6 years, and thought it reasonable - better than the helical supplied with a VX5. I recently purchased a vector network analyser (VNA1, excellent!) and measured the antenna. On 6m the resonance is very sharp and in my case it was off-frequency by a couple of MHz: the best SWR was about 2:1 (but out-of-band). It is possible to re-wind the loading coil at the top to move the resonance back in-band, but the process is very sensitive to the coil spacing and also to any plastic (heat-shrink) cover you may use. SWR after doing all this is still not wonderful. I have not (yet) messed with the matching network at the base...
 
KI6GJC Rating: 1/5 Dec 17, 2006 15:17 Send this review to a friend
SWR worse than advertized - doesn't get out  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought this to try to help the range of my VX-7R. The package claims SWR 1.5 or less. I wasn't getting much (if any) improvement so I put it on my analyzer side by side with the original duck. SWR on 6M was 2.5 at BEST and centered around 51.5 Mhz, so it's well over 3 where I use it. 2 Meter was only marginally better.
I tried many environments, but got consistently bad results (other antennas I use read well).
Comet's response was "it's hard to take into account all environments", but as I see it it doesn't work well in any environment. It's marginally better than my duck at 6M only because it's equally bad, and centers even lower in the band.
I can't get anything done about this antenna, but I can refuse to give Comet any more of my money as I outfit my place with antennas.
I'll check out other products, but I'll have my analyzer with me before I buy one. An HT needs all the help it can get - throwing the little power it has back into the HT is a killer.
 
VE5NAT Rating: 5/5 Sep 4, 2006 13:55 Send this review to a friend
nice antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
From day one I really enjoyed this antenna. I bought the antenna about 2 years ago to put on my T-90A HT then after I got my TH-F6 I used it for that HT. I don't use this antenna as often as I would like but, it is a definate asset in my ARES kit. I found that recieving on all bands have improved somewhat in comparison to the rubber duck that came with the HT's. It took a while but I managed to find a way to wear the HT on my belt so that it doesnt bother me. One thing that I do have a concern with this antenna. I found that the SMA connector is a bit shallow and it does not allow the antenna to make a full contact with the body of the HT(about 1/16" or so of a gap), so I had to get a plastic washer and put it between my HT and antenna to help take the pressure off the female connector on the radio.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.