eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Books/Manuals/Videos/Pod-WebCasts on ham radio | SIX METERS: A Guide To The Magic Band Help


Reviews Summary for SIX METERS: A Guide To The Magic Band
SIX METERS: A Guide To The Magic Band Reviews: 16 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $12.00
Description: The sunspots are coming back! And with their return, now is the time to start taking a look at the "Magic Band," 6 Meters!

There have been some amazing openings on 6 Meters, to Europe, South America, and even Africa! Ken Neubeck, WB2AMU, has written the guide to the "Magic Band" that is equal to no other. His book gives you all the tips to really make some nice contacts. Antennas, rigs and operating tips to help you establish your call as a powerhouse on "The Magic Band!"
Product is in production.
(Web site missing—add URL)
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the SIX METERS: A Guide To The Magic Band.

Page 1 of 2 —>

KA0USE Rating: 4/5 Dec 5, 2014 09:29 Send this review to a friend
PRETTY GOOD  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
mr. neubeck does a credible job of explaining the band and it's quirks.
he has pics of gear from 50s-60s and I really would like to try a Saturn 6/ebco (eibco?) halo antenna, both no longer made.
I got mine from www.universal-radio.com and I saw an ad in September 2014 cq mag for sale direct from the author (and signed).
I got the latest edition (2008).
worth the money because a) it's a good read, and b) i'll use it as an ongoing reference book.
 
KC9UNL Rating: 5/5 Jul 5, 2012 16:23 Send this review to a friend
Don't Miss this Book!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Even if you have never had a serious interest in Six Meters, you should obtain this book. You will find that it is the Magic Band and has been greatly overlooked. More of the modern HF Tranceivers offer 6 Meters. With the Sunspot Cycle on the rise, now is the time to explore the magic of Six Meters. I had a copy and somehow lost it. Now have a new one. If you operate Six Meters you can't miss having this book.
Hoepfully the author will produce a Fifth Edition to cover some of the exciting digital modes that can be used on Six Meters.
 
AI6DX Rating: 5/5 Oct 9, 2009 04:48 Send this review to a friend
One of the best ham radio books ever!!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Ken has written an absolutely FABULOUS book on 6m!!! His latest edition (2008) as of this writing, gives new and updated information for 6m. I just wish Ken would write more books on HF stuff! Very educational and entertaining!
 
N2KZ Rating: 5/5 Apr 19, 2009 08:46 Send this review to a friend
It's All Here!  Time owned: more than 12 months
It's easy to become an expert operator on six meters. Simply order a copy of 'Six Meters - A Guide to the Magic Band' by Ken Neubeck WB2AMU. Decades of knowledge and experience can be found within its pages. It's all here: How the band is allocated, vintage and modern rigs and antennas, enjoying all the different propagation modes, chasing international DX and great stories about working the band and enjoying the miracles it can produce. Read this book and you'll understand why so many hams have undying passion for this band and all it can be. What a joy to read! Now in its fourth edition, Ken offers you 128 pages of ham radio fun. Enjoy it now before the next skip season begins!
 
W8KQE Rating: 5/5 Mar 16, 2009 12:43 Send this review to a friend
This great, interesting book just keeps getting better!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is the DEFINITIVE and complete book on 6 meters (now in it's latest new 4th edition revision), and it just keeps getting better! EVERYTHING you wanted to know about 6 meters, from it's history (with photos and print ad reproductions of classic 6m rigs), to various modes of propagation on the band, to international bandplans, to current equipment and antennas, to operating mobile and portable, and it's huge resurgence in popularity, is covered. Seasoned ops will appreciate it, as well as newcomers to the band. And now with the peak E-skip season quickly approaching, this is a great book to 'whet your appetite' on 'The Magic Band'. This book should be in every Ham Radio library.
 
W4KVS Rating: 5/5 Nov 8, 2008 12:37 Send this review to a friend
Still the definitive book on 6 meters  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
There still is no other book that comes close to detailing 6 meters that this book does. Ken's first edition was groundbreaking but he continues to improve his book and this year's revision is the best ever. He delves into every facet of this fascinating band including history, propagation, equipment, and antennas. This book serves as a primer for the new 6 meter operator but it also has plenty of information for the experienced operator. After reading the book, it becomes a great reference. Ken has done another superb job with this current edition.
 
W4KVS Rating: 5/5 Apr 23, 2005 08:07 Send this review to a friend
Definitive book on the subject  Time owned: more than 12 months
This latest edition of Ken's book is even better than previous versions (see earlier review). He has added lots of new material including 6m developmental and historical events of the last few years. This comprehensive book continues to be a must have for 6 meter operators. There is no more definitive book - this is it.
 
W2NSF Rating: 5/5 Apr 4, 2005 04:25 Send this review to a friend
It's a solid 5!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I agree with everything that's been said before about this book - which in my mind earns it a 5.

The lack of homebrew content and more antenna info does not detract anything from this book (you can find this kind of info anywhere). What this book is about - and it covers it better than anything else out there - is the unique aspects of operating on 6m.

If you're considering or are already operating on the magic band, you should read this book.
 
KB1KIX Rating: 4/5 Apr 3, 2005 23:22 Send this review to a friend
great book, but.....  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
First off, let me say I truly like this book - A LOT.

Correct the price above, it's one buck more - but no biggie, I actually thought the book was going to be half the size, so I was rather pleased.

All the content I devoured, and reference already.

The only caveat to this book, I would like to see more homebrew content. A couple of good 6M amp plans would be nice. A bit more info on building some antennas would have been nice as well.

However, this is still a fantastic book and if you plan on operating six when the cycle returns...... definately give this book a read. Like World Radio Magazine - the content per dollar ratio is very high!!!!

Jonathan
 
N4KZ Rating: 5/5 Dec 29, 2004 10:39 Send this review to a friend
Very useful book  Time owned: more than 12 months
Anyone who is fascinated with 6 meters must read this book. I did and it helped me better understand the propagation that often occurs on this interesting part of the radio spectrum. Kudos for Ken!

73, Dave, N4KZ
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.