eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Software - Other than logging | W6NEK HF Beacon Tracker Help


Reviews Summary for W6NEK HF Beacon Tracker
W6NEK HF Beacon Tracker Reviews: 11 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $10.00 REG. Fee
Description: Tracks Beacons for Chasing DX and General Band Conditions.
Product is in production.
More info: Http://www.w6nek.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the W6NEK HF Beacon Tracker.

Page 1 of 2 —>

W7AWH Rating: 2/5 Mar 12, 2014 09:56 Send this review to a friend
Suspicious Malware  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
My antivirus software stopped the installation of Beacon Tracker because of a threat called V32.Malware.heur.Dkvt. The author leaves no email address on the website and his QRZ email is invalid. A Whois on the domain name shows another invalid administration email address.

I donít know if there is any contact information obtainable from the application itself because I wonít allow the installation process to continue until the threat is removed or explained.

Everything looks too suspicious to me.

What else is Beacon Tracker tracking?
 
MATHMAN Rating: 5/5 Feb 9, 2010 19:45 Send this review to a friend
Almost Bought the MFJ  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I was about to bid on the MFJ Beacon Tracker on eBay, but checked eHam first for ratings as I usually do on ham equipment. Glad I did. I now have the same, actually better, information at zero cost. Just picked up a rotator so this will help set the direction. Although other reviews mention a $10.00 registration fee and I was more than happy to pay it, I haven't been asked for anything yet

The information is timely and accurate. Download for free at the link above.
 
G0YLM Rating: 5/5 Apr 26, 2005 11:08 Send this review to a friend
Wonderful  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Does exactly what it says. Cannot fault it!
 
KC5NYO Rating: 5/5 Jan 24, 2004 23:49 Send this review to a friend
Excellent!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This isn't rocket surgery........

MFJ DX Beacon Monitor = $99

W6NEK HF Beacon Tracker = $10

You do the math..... and let this cool little app do the beacon tracking!
 
W2MSK Rating: 5/5 Jan 24, 2004 21:33 Send this review to a friend
A bargain!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Great program that does everything advertised very well. Very reasonable price and well worth the install. Highly recommended!
 
K4AXX Rating: 5/5 Jan 24, 2004 21:24 Send this review to a friend
Good Program!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Esay to install. Easy to use. Super user friendly. Worth the 10 bucks.
 
K5PU Rating: 5/5 Jan 23, 2004 11:17 Send this review to a friend
Cheap & Good  Time owned: more than 12 months
Simple to use and cheap program to watch/monitor beacon activity. Just need to make sure your PC is sync'd with WWV (etc.) and you have a very nice looking instant visual confirmation of beacon activity.

Bottom line is it does what it says it does for a VERY reasonable price.

Of note is that W6NEK is very good at responding with your product key when (like me) you do something dumb and format your hard drive, etc. without keeping a record of purchase ;)
 
KV3A Rating: 5/5 May 20, 2003 12:34 Send this review to a friend
GREAT  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE YOU RUN INTO SOMETHING THAT IS VERY COOL. LIKE THE FIRST TIME YOU SEE PSK-31 SIGNALS ON THE WATERFALL DISPLAY. THIS PROGRAM IS LIKE THAT. YOU WILL FIND YOURSELF TURNING ON THE RADIO JUST TO USE THIS SOFTWARE. WELL WORTH $10.
EASY TO USE. AND TOO COOL.
 
NC4RT Rating: 5/5 Dec 30, 2002 10:20 Send this review to a friend
Great beacon application  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Amen to what the other guys said. Works great, the price is right.

One of the little things it does that I like is that is reminds you what the beacon freqs are. I'm always forgetting, and don't want to program them into my K-2, or post another piece of paper on the wall.

The unregistered version gives you the 20 meter beacons... but go ahead and send in the $10, and get the beacons for 17, 15, 12, and 10 meters activated.

 
NT9E Rating: 5/5 Sep 21, 2002 03:54 Send this review to a friend
Super program!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This program does for 10 bucks what the MFJ device does for 100 bucks!

There are 18 DX beacons scattered all over the world. Each of them transmits on 20/17/15/12/10m. In 3 minutes time you can assess the best DX paths for each band by listening to each beacon. By checking the beacons on a "Dead Band" you may find certain paths are open. Worth every penny! Buy this program!
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.