eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Icom IC-T90A Help


Reviews Summary for Icom IC-T90A
Icom IC-T90A Reviews: 115 Average rating: 4.0/5 MSRP: $319.95
Description: Tri-ban FM transceiver, Wide-bad 495Khz - 999.990 Mhz, Dynamic Memory Scan, Lithium-Ion technology, Rugged palm sized, weather-resistant construction, DTCS & CTCSS ton squelch. Simple to Operate !
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Icom IC-T90A.

Page 1 of 12 —>

WK3P Rating: 5/5 Sep 8, 2014 18:53 Send this review to a friend
Best HT Ever  Time owned: more than 12 months
Love the radio I think itís the best HT out there. Too bad they donít make it anymore.

Easy to program

Only con would be cost of batteries
 
M1CXF Rating: 5/5 Feb 5, 2013 08:35 Send this review to a friend
Good Radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
One of the best handheld I have ever owned. I have the modified UK version which is capable of working 70MHz. Such a small radio working four bands, and working them well.
As with most menu driven radios programming can be a little bit of a faf but the computer programme makes this much easier. What a shame Icom have stopped making them.
 
N2NJU Rating: 5/5 Oct 7, 2012 19:52 Send this review to a friend
great performer and compact too.  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought this radio several years back as a
'take to work radio' now I take it everywhere
up to and including the beach. I only had one
problem to speak of and that was only after
the radio was "ruff handeled" and dropped
many times....it stopped transmitting, turned
out several of the screws next to the antenna
(outside the case) became loose and needed to
be tightened down....good as new.
 
K8ERV Rating: 5/5 Jan 22, 2012 11:41 Send this review to a friend
Amazing Radio  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I've had 3 of these for some time. Others have covered most of the features. I REALLY like the 5 call channels, just right for me on two bands. I sure wish it would scan the call channels since they are obviously the favorites, but that is not to be.

TOM K8ERV Montrose Colo
 
W2XOY Rating: 4/5 Sep 12, 2010 21:11 Send this review to a friend
Not as good as the VX-5  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I purchased this HT last month on closeout. I compared it to my Yaesu VX-5 and VX-6. The Yaesu HTs are slightly more sensitive. The Icom lacks a mid level power range, on 5 watts, it gets hot. Battery life is not as long. Intermod the same as on the Yaesus. Overall, a good tri-band HT, but a used VX-5 is a better choice. I give it a 3.5 (rounded up to 4).
 
WB6CSH Rating: 4/5 Aug 9, 2010 19:30 Send this review to a friend
good handie-scratchie  Time owned: more than 12 months
I like this HT because it receives the aircraft band (~118-136MHz) which is in AM mode. The one problem is that the aircraft band audio has to be turned up "full on" to hear aircraft transmissions across the room, but the other bands and received frequencies are fine if they are FM.

The military aircraft band (approx. 260 MHz plus) is a little down in the audio department, too. I suspect that it is poor AVC and audio design; it only occurs in AM mode.

Best regards,

Michael, wb6csh
 
YD1LPS Rating: 5/5 Jul 24, 2010 21:53 Send this review to a friend
nice ht  Time owned: more than 12 months
This my first multiband HT from Icom,frist icom owned is ic-02AT and still work until now...
I use T90A just for RX and almost not use for transmit ( I dont want damage the final cause is dificult repair hehehe),good rx and no intermod or intermitent in wfm and fm cause i'm not use the original T90A antenna, so i use ic-V8 antenna and for listenig sw and BC band i use 45 cm HT antenna. battery still good until now i'm use for more 1 years,wall charger use.
simple program and use,all band is working good.

 
N1FDX Rating: 5/5 Mar 21, 2010 09:27 Send this review to a friend
Good All Around  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I rated this unit a 5 because it's simple. It's a multiband tranciever and does one thing at a time and does it reasonably well. It can be operated with one hand, no function key or hold this and turn that. Once you've gone through the radio you really don't need it any longer. The software really helps in seting it up the way you like. 18 banks help the organization. You can re-program the TV memories for FM broadcast, nice.
As for performance I owned one of these when they first came out and sold it a few years ago to buy a IC-91A, still no D--Satr I could hit from my house. However after make the change I began to notice things I could hear with the old T90 I could not with the 91A, stock antenna to stock antenna. For some reason otherwise I did not like the 91A. Vol & tune knob together seem to be an issue with big finger. Anyway sold the 91A and got another T90 and it's like an old friend came home. This radio is not perfect but which one is, it's just a nice simple package for all around use and a real good price. General coverage is great.
http://home.comcast.net/~n1fdx
 
K9XXX Rating: 3/5 Mar 19, 2010 07:21 Send this review to a friend
nice toy,but...  Time owned: more than 12 months
My first handi was a TA90, and I should have studied other models and perhaps made a better decision.
"The stock antenna is crummy"!!!
Users should decide whether they want to transmit on transmit bands or receive 4 to 6 bands. That applies equally to the TA90A, my VX7R, and my IC_92AD. If you want to transmit, buy yourself a $16.00 Smiley or 1 for 2M and 1 for 440 and stop complaining about the transmit performance of a scanner antenna.
My biggest beef is the 5W/.5W power range. My VX7R is perfect with 5,2.5,1,and.5W .
I almost never need more than.5W on a repeater less than 5 miles away on level terrain(with a righteous antenna). When signal reports indicate more is needed, I go the next level as required.
I always use speaker/mics with the my handi on my belt, but I never use 5W unless I genuinely need it.
As with any other, check the spec and decide if you can live with the things you don't like before you buy it. I know a lot more about what I don't like now than when I bought it.
I've gotten over "Aww, what a cute little radio" and love my VX7R and my 92AD. 3.5
 
W4KVW Rating: 5/5 Dec 29, 2009 15:32 Send this review to a friend
GREAT SO FAR!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just picked up my T90A used at Christmas & then bought the BC-139 drop in charger NEW from HRO. The HT works GREAT but the supplied antenna from my ICOM T8A works BETTER than the supplied antenna for the T90A.ICOM should have stayed with the T8A antenna in my opinion since it does NOT require you to keep up with the EXTRA piece that is NOT being used until you need it.Just like other brands when you put the 6 meter tip on the HT it drops the signal on BOTH 2 meters & 440mhz.I may repace the stock rubber duck with an aftermarket antenna at ORLANDO HAMCATION 2010.For what I need it for it works GREAT & is SIMPLE to PROGRAM & OPERATE. }:>)
 
Page 1 of 12 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.