eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Receivers: Scanners | Alinco DJ-X10 Help


Reviews Summary for Alinco DJ-X10
 Alinco DJ-X10 Reviews: 9 Average rating: 4.1/5 MSRP: $350
Description: Wide range scanning receiver. 0.1-1999.999950 Mhz all mode
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.alinco.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Alinco DJ-X10.

WB3IGR Rating: 5/5 Dec 18, 2009 19:25 Send this review to a friend
GOOD RECEIVER  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just got my X10 used from R&L Electronics in Ohio. After playing with it for a while It seems to be a GREAT FIND! Does all modes right on up to 2000 MHZ and with the supplied rubber duck antenna it receives the HF bands very well. Copy signals on both 80 and 40 meters!
 
N0FPE Rating: 4/5 Apr 1, 2008 06:00 Send this review to a friend
ok for me  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had my X-10 for 4 years. It works fine for what i use it for. It is by no means a high preformance receiver but it does ok. I have the VERY rare programming software and cable and that makes it a bit eazier to use. For the price i paid new it is ok in my book.
 
KG6NJW Rating: 2/5 Aug 18, 2005 23:19 Send this review to a friend
Didn't Care For It  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I had one of these a few years ago, and ended up trading it in. Tremendous intermod problems - 2 meter coming in on the police frequencies, etc. . It was totally deaf on some VHF frequencies - it couldn't pick up signals that the R-2 sitting next to it received clearly. I could have lived with all that, but the thing that made me sell it was that, if there was a short lull of even a few seconds in a conversation, it would resume scanning. Most scanners allow you to set a delay of 5, 10, or 20 seconds before resuming, but this one didn't.
 
TOMMYT Rating: 3/5 Jan 30, 2005 09:47 Send this review to a friend
OK  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought the unit a few years ago and just recently sold it. My overall impressions were as follows: Firstly, the manual is really written badly. It was a labor to read it. The unit itself is well built and looks very good. The process to store freqs is much too complicated! Having 1000 freqs is good and having the different search functions was also handy, but the scan rate is just tooooo slow. I also agree with one of the prior reviewers that the unit is deaf on certain freqs. The HF, even with a different antenna, is just for "show." The NiCads that come with the unit are really second rate and will go bad fast. I started to use the AA battery holder, which is extra, with the unit which seems to work much better. In conclusion, the unit is a well-made portable scanner with plenty of space; however, it has some drawbacks. Depending on the price, it would make a nice backup scanner.
 
KH7L Rating: 5/5 May 14, 2004 13:51 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Scanner  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Oh...the audio is soooo much better than the DJ-X3. It has a bandscope that works also in the scan mode. All mode....listen to CW on 40 meters with a Maldol whip or a 20 meter whip to check band openings. 1200 memories....what for? Isn't that a VFO? It took me 1 week to read the manual...at least it was easy. Also can be used for 80 meters ARDF foxhunting. Now they have the DJ-X2000, but the price is a lot higher.
 
KG4PTZ Rating: 5/5 Jan 8, 2003 22:23 Send this review to a friend
Wake up and smell the continuous coverage!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought this receiver 1-1/2 years ago for VHF CW reception at close range (transmitters mounted on dog collars, 3 el handheld yagis, and a pack of foxhounds, the foxhunt after the foxhunt) and it has about the same sensitivity as the much larger receivers that only cover that band. As for ruggedness, this thing is tough. It has been with me on numerous hunts, throught the heat, cold, and rain and has performed flawlessly. For portable operations, the yagi is a huge help at long distances, but the rubber duck is ok at short range. For mobile operations, an external speaker is almost mandatory, unless you keep your windows up all the time. I cannot complain about the HF sensitivity, as I have rx'ed many a shortwave station with a homebrew dipole, and with a 217MHz 1/4 wave antenna on the roof of the truck. I even managed to earn a couple shortwave QSL cards (Radio Havana Cuba and WBCQ to be exact). I also use this rig to scan the public safety bands on occasion, and it's even been used up in the 950MHz range (for aligning a microwave link). This is what a scanning receiver should be.
 
KD9MF Rating: 5/5 Dec 12, 2002 15:38 Send this review to a friend
great little rx!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
i purchased one a few months ago, and it has been absolutely perfect! sensitivity on weak stations on the police band were clear and noise free. the sw section is an absolute joy to use, providing good sensitivty there as well, but a small telescoping antenna is preferred. get good results out of the battery pack, provided it is charged properly. i recently sold my aor ar8000 to purchase this.the alinco is much easier to use!
 
KD9MF Rating: 5/5 Dec 12, 2002 15:37 Send this review to a friend
great little rx!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
i purchased one a few months ago, and it has been absolutely perfect! sensitivity on weak stations on the police band were clear and noise free. the sw section is an absolute joy to use, providing good sensitivty there as well, but a small telescoping antenna is preferred. get good results out of the battery pack, provided it is charged properly. i recently sold my aor ar8000 to purchase this. much easier to use!
 
M0CUS Rating: 3/5 Sep 29, 2002 19:24 Send this review to a friend
not bad  Time owned: more than 12 months
I purchased this scanner with the computer control software and leads about 1 year ago. Compared to other scanners it seems a little deaf even when connected to the same antenna via a switch box. It handles strong signals quite well with little co channel interference.The built in band scope is useful if you know roughly where to look for your required station. As with most hand held scanners the HF performance is pretty useless and is really only a token gesture to the unit.The battery pack does not seem to last very long but it fairs better with normal AA batteries.This radio really does benefit from an external antenna, that is when it really becomes alive. If your looking for something to cover the HF bands then look elsewhere but if it is 100mhz upwards on AM/FM then its OK but nothing to write home about
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.