eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Work Bench Tools & Test Equipment | Simpson 260 VOM Help


Reviews Summary for Simpson 260 VOM
Simpson 260 VOM Reviews: 24 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $200.00
Description: Simpson Electric Co. 260 Volt-Ohm-Milliammeter is a rugged,reliable,all-purpose measuring instrument.It is used for measuring A.C. and D.C. voltages,resistances,direct currents,decibles and output voltages.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.simpsonelectric.com/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Simpson 260 VOM.

Page 1 of 3 —>

KF4LWX Rating: 5/5 May 22, 2014 10:18 Send this review to a friend
I love these things  Time owned: more than 12 months
I own 9 260s, including a series 1 labeled us army signal corps from the 1940s, 2 series 2s, 2 5Ms, a 6xlp, a series 7 and a 7P, and a series 8, I don't know what it is about these things but when I find one for under 50 bucks it's mine, you can still get them brand new but they go for about $400.00! Not made in China (yet).
 
KI6DCB Rating: 5/5 May 11, 2014 09:09 Send this review to a friend
Great instrument!  Time owned: more than 12 months
The Simpson 260 series was "THE" military/industry standard until 'WAY into the 1970's. I have several of these (some of which I actually paid for!) and they can't be beat[en] for ease of use and ergonomics. I also have a 262 Series 2 and a 269 Series 3. Both of these are similar to the 260, but with larger meters. The 269 also boasts a sensitivity of 100,000 Ohms/Volt DC.

The 260 is easy to use and nearly indestructible. It retains its calibration day-in and day-out for a long time, and, unless measuring a source capable of high current while set on an incorrect range, it is hard to hurt. Digital meters might provide greater precision, but the Simpsons are hard to beat for accuracy. Furthermore, alignments and any operations in which one is looking for a peak or a null are MUCH easier with analog meters than with the latest, greatest digital whiz-bangs.

Everyone who "fixes stuff" should have one of these.
 
NA7MT Rating: 5/5 Jul 2, 2012 16:46 Send this review to a friend
A "Must Have piece of test equipment  Time owned: more than 12 months
The Simpson 260 is one of the high quality workhorses of the analog meter field. I have owned and used various versions of this meter during over 40 years of electronic and electrical testing, building, and repair. There are certain situations where a high impedance digital meter can lead the troubleshooter far astray. Like when looking for leakage or shorts between conductors or to ground on long runs of wire. The wires can pick up induced AC voltages that can make the digital readout go crazy or give erronious readings. The lower impedance inputs of many analog meters usually load the line enough to swamp out these induced voltages. Another place where the analog meter really shines is when setting points on older motorcycles and other engines. The analog meter gives an instantanious reading of when the points open or close. Many digital meters have a bit of a delay, which can get the setting off by many degrees. This is not to say that the digital meters are no good. Its just that the analog meter can outperform them during certain types of testing. A good technician should have both types of these meters in his or her inventory.
 
WA7URV Rating: 2/5 Apr 15, 2011 20:17 Send this review to a friend
Dead On Arrival  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just waited several backorder weeks for my 260-RT (rolltop). It's a beautiful thing, bringing back memories of my high school electronics. Problem is, it appears the meter movement is frozen. No response on any function, and upon attempting to adjust the needle with the zero-adjust screw, still no movement. I'll follow up later after experiencing Simpson's customer service (or Tequipment's customer service, depending on how I'm supposed to handle this.) For now, I have a beautiful retro VOM that does have a continuity beeper, anyway!
 
WB0YLE Rating: 5/5 Mar 8, 2011 10:02 Send this review to a friend
The Go-To Tool for the Bench  Time owned: more than 12 months
Got introduced to the old reliable 260 as a neophyte broadcast engineer back in the early 70s. Used them for everything from checking diodes and resistors to sensing RF injection in big 'Real' transmitters.

Most used tool on my workbench. Found a cherry one on Evilbay for 75 BIN. With probes.

Still use it almost every day. Never has let me down, and just looks darn good sitting there next to the other test equipment and effluvia of a tech bench.

If you find one, come across one, are given one...grab it.
 
WA9OUE Rating: 5/5 Dec 16, 2010 07:44 Send this review to a friend
Great Analog Meter  Time owned: more than 12 months
I'm still using my Gov't issued Simpson from 1963. Used for 40+ years on the job and still using today. Works great, just have to remember to change the batteries. Don't do resistor checks that often.
 
AB2AX Rating: 5/5 Dec 15, 2010 09:31 Send this review to a friend
my #1 pc of equipment  Time owned: months
If I could only have 1 pc of test equipment this would be it.
i rescued mine from a govt property junk pile 15yrs ago. pretty battered but all i did was cleaned up contacts and its worked fine ever since
 
ERIEDXER Rating: 5/5 Mar 26, 2010 10:31 Send this review to a friend
Excellent analog VOM  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is a well made piece of test gear, and will last forever if cared for. Probably one of the best analog VOM's ever made along side other Simpsons.
 
KB0XR Rating: 5/5 Apr 6, 2009 05:11 Send this review to a friend
A Man's Meter  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had mine over 30 years now. Built like a tank and just "Looks" right. Yeah, I've got a few DVM's also but the 260 is the one I use the most for my modest measurement needs.
 
K4XZ Rating: 5/5 Apr 5, 2009 19:51 Send this review to a friend
Great classic  Time owned: more than 12 months
Every ham should own one of these.Rugged reliable and fairly accurate. One thing to check when buying a used 260 is the battery compartment. This meter works so good most people don't check until it does not work. Then the clean up starts. Buy one you won't regret it.

73 Joe K4XZ
 
Page 1 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.