eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: VHF/UHF+ Directional (Yagi, quad, etc.) | M2 420-50-11 Help


Reviews Summary for M2 420-50-11
M2 420-50-11 Reviews: 5 Average rating: 4.2/5 MSRP: $115
Description: 11 Element 70CM Beam
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.m2inc.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the M2 420-50-11.

N2DY Rating: 5/5 Jul 13, 2011 18:36 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Performer for Its Size  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This very modest-sized antenna works terrific on 432 SSB. Bandwidth is very wide and this makes an effective FM or satellite antenna as well. The pattern is clean and F/B is nice. I had no issues with the element keepers, having built many M2 antennas before. Given how cheap those keepers must be, I echo others suggestion that M2 include a few extra. Saving a few pennies on what appears to be a pet peeve of many M2 users seems a bit shortsighted. That being said, if you need an effective 70cm antenna in a small package, the 420-50-11 fits the bill.
 
N3PKC Rating: 5/5 Aug 13, 2006 22:02 Send this review to a friend
One hundred percent  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought this antenna for satellite use after using a 10el diamond and was looking for something more rigid and permanent. It outperformed the diamond on receive and transmit while allowing me to work AO-51 with ease. While mounted fixed at about 30 degrees elevation I was able to hold AO-51 full quieting between roughly 2 and 50 degrees elevation. The addition of an IC-910 and 432 preamp allowed me to work SO-50 with nearly equal success. My uplink antenna is an M2 2m4 four element yagi which is also an end-mounted antenna. Except for the little KLM style insulators, this one can't be beat
 
KQ6EA Rating: 3/5 Nov 26, 2004 12:58 Send this review to a friend
Very nice, BUT....  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Installed one of these yesterday to replace a similar KLM I had up. Nice clean pattern, good gain, F/B, and quality construction.
Now for the "BUT"! I, too, feel that M2 should include a few extra keepers for those that haven't figured out how to back one off when they've pushed it on too far. And to use cheesy cad-plated u-bolts and clamps when the rest of the antenna has stainless hardware knocks off an extra point in my review.
Now for the tip on backing off a mis-installed keeper. Push the element back out an inch or so, and grab the keeper with needle-nose pliers. You can now twist the element while pulling back on it, and the keeper will screw its way back down a bit. Check your dimensions again, and install the other keeper, making sure both are snug against the plastic button. Works like a champ, and I've never had a keeper that's been re-positioned this way come loose.
 
VA2DV Rating: 4/5 Dec 10, 2003 13:32 Send this review to a friend
Built like a tank but support...  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
My previous beam antennas where always Cushcraft
models.Boy,what a difference ! You really get a solid feel from this one ! Construction is very
great with a nice feeding system.The only complain
i have i that i have emailed M2 about the internal
wiring of the feed block (mine was damaged in shipping) and i still dont have a single reply.
Not a big deal but for the price of the antenna
i had expected a little support.
Overall a good performer for the size
 
W2TMA Rating: 4/5 Oct 18, 2002 19:48 Send this review to a friend
Usual M2 Quality ....  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just installed this antenna tonite and have'nt had a lot of time to test it, but so far I am impressed with it. I have 4 other M2 antennas and am extremely happy with there quality construction and top-notch performance....
However, that said I cannot give this antenna the 5 that I would like to because of the following: Anyone familiar with M2 Construction knows the stainless steel keepers (which are SO difficult to get on!) that hold the elements in place on the boom... well I noticed that now they are no longer including any extra with your antenna! This goes for the little neoprene buttons as well! I had to cut three of the keepers off because I pushed them a little too far, and if I did'nt have extras left over from my last M2 antenna (when they did include a few extras) I would not have been able to complete the assembly without either a trip to the hardware store or waiting for M2 to send them out. This is unacceptable considering they could'nt cost M2 more then a tenth of a cent!
I hope this is just a one time problem and not some new cost-saving plan at M2, but this coupled with the fact that there should'nt be a need for the damn keepers anyway(there HAS to be a better Way M2!)keeps me from giving the antenna the highest grade.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.