eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Software - Logging | DX4Win Help


Reviews Summary for DX4Win
DX4Win Reviews: 62 Average rating: 4.0/5 MSRP: $89.95
Description: Comprehensive logging software for Windows
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.dx4win.com/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the DX4Win.

<— Page 2 of 7 —>

N2JF Rating: 1/5 Dec 4, 2011 20:23 Send this review to a friend
NEVER AGAIN  Time owned: more than 12 months
I had an older version which will not work with Windows 7. When I asked DX4Win for a version that would work, they not only refused to allow me to pay an upgrade price, but insisted I had to pay FULL PRICE for a new version.
After reading the reviews here, I'm glad I saved my money. Not only is this program outdated clumsy and left in the dust but most of the freeware out there, but the owner of the company could care less about retaining current users.
FERGITABOUTIT!!!!!!
 
KM5FF Rating: 3/5 Aug 9, 2011 18:52 Send this review to a friend
DX4Win and Windows & 64 bit  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
looking at all reviews and most are postive ? will it work with windows 7 64bit have acouple other programa but they do not like windows 7 64 bit tnxs 73 de km5ff
 
KK8ZZ Rating: 0/5 Jun 19, 2011 17:16 Send this review to a friend
Arf ! Arf ! Run don't Walk  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
If you have a little extra cash and lots of time on your hands, buy this turkey and spend hours trying to set up a Yaesu FT-950. Hangs up Win 7, can't set parameters, won't recognize the radio no matter how many parameters you change, if you can try that w/o the damn thing hanging up and freezing your 'puter (and I've got a pretty good one here...) Wish I could get a refund for this non-working dog.....
 
W0ZS Rating: 5/5 Feb 23, 2011 16:59 Send this review to a friend
Keep coming back  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have used this program since the V5.x days. Although the updates are not as frequent as other products, I am very happy with it. I love the way it tracks my contacts for DXCC, LOTW, etc. It has enough interfaces to keep me happy; MMTY, PSK, Winkey integration, VE7CC, and on and on and on. I've tried other programs, but keep coming back to this one. It's a keeper!
 
KX2S Rating: 5/5 Dec 4, 2010 09:53 Send this review to a friend
Finally Modernized  Time owned: more than 12 months
Well I have been using Ver 5.03 for many years. I tried several other logging programs since. I have recently upgraded to Ver 8.04 and it is nice to have all the newer upgrades. Now MMRTTY and PSK31 are integrated. Interface for LOTW and eQsl too.
No other logging program handles my DXCC records better. Very fast logging and the upgrade was very easy. I am now happy again with DX4WIN. My second choice was HR Deluxe but I found it very cumbersome. Thanks guys for updating the best logging program out there.
Ed KX2S
 
AB4PP Rating: 5/5 Jan 31, 2010 14:47 Send this review to a friend
Very Good 5/5  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned and used the program for over 8 years. I have recently upgraded to the 8.03 version. I saw that it had some fixes for some bugs I have encountered. As usual the team fixes the problems we encounter and it is nice to see that there have been several new changes from the 7.xxx version. I am very pleased and use this for my general logging. It has over 40 years of logs in it now and I have not had any problems with crashes or omits. I have seen some changes that were propagated by the staff and am very pleased with them. I use some other logging for contests and the like but this is my main logging program. Using the ADIF format makes it easy to import from the other programs to this one.
 
KB3SMM Rating: 5/5 May 4, 2009 06:56 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Product - Great Service  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've used DX4WIN for about 5 years and nearly 15,000 QSOs. The package included all the features that I was looking for in logging software: ease and management of data entry; awards tracking and reporting; import/export functionality; stability (never crashed or caused windows to misbehave); beam headings, updates to country listings; etc. DX4WIN gets 5 stars because of their great customer service: knowledgable and fast response; special thanks to Paul for noteworthy service! Rich
 
AC0X Rating: 2/5 Mar 11, 2008 20:06 Send this review to a friend
Ah... once upon a time  Time owned: more than 12 months
Way back when, DX4Win was the "cats meow". And you always looked forward to upgrades. 5.x was a nice improvement over 4.x, and 6.x was a noticeable improvement over 5.x

Problem is, the program hasn't changed much since then. 7.x did come out. But it was really just a "6.1 that took a long time to finally arrive". And the rest of the world (both free and "for pay" logging software) has matured miles beyond it.

LOTW requires a dance of ADIF exports, signatures, and reimports, while other programs have had one or two button updates for years.

Interfacing with various multi-mode software is limited to just the MMTTY engine, with little hope of any others in the future.

Want to integrate an atlas, propagation, or QSL lookup program, or have hopes DX4Win might add it's own in the future? Based on the amount/pace of upgrades recently, not likely.

It's data exporting capabilities (for if you do ever decide to move to another program) are anemic. The database is a proprietary format, and the output ADIF doesn't have half the data the program actually stores (like DXCC submission status data).

And then there's DX4Win's method of determining DXCC counties from callsigns. First I'll say (as long as you keep up to date with its DXCC country files) it's probably THE BEST thatís out there. You enter a DX callsign from the past 40 years, and as long as you date it correctly, it'll get the DXCC country correct. But the problem is, IT HAS TO, and thatís because DX4Win DOES NOT STORE THE DXCC COUNTRY ALONG WITH YOUR LOG ENTRY, BUT DETERMINES IT FROM ITS DXCC/PREFIX RECONCILIATION DATA. Which means if you change that incorrectly, THE DXCC COUNTRY ON EVERY LOG ENTRY YOU HAVE THAT IS COVERED BY THAT WILL ALSO BE CHANGED. And also - THAT COUNTRY FILE ISNT EVEN MAINTAINED BY THE DX4WIN PROGRAMMERS, IT IS DONE BY A VERY DEDICATED MEMBER OF THE USER COMMUNITY.

It's all these things that makes me give a "2" to a program I once gushed over with a "5".

Maybe someday 8.x will come out and will make me fall in love again.

But I'm not holding my breath.
 
W4SK Rating: 0/5 Jul 25, 2007 12:02 Send this review to a friend
I Give Up  Time owned: more than 12 months
Been using DX4WIN for several years, have the very latest edition. Now that I need user support, they are no where to be found. Two (unanswered) written requests over the course of the last thirty days is enough for me. Its good software if you dont want or need customer service. Not being a computer person, I need customer service. They wont provide it. I'll have to find something else ASAP.

-W4SK
 
WD4ELG Rating: 5/5 Apr 2, 2007 21:10 Send this review to a friend
Works for me  Time owned: more than 12 months
An avid fan since ver 5 back in 2003. It does everything I need.

Yes, each program has a unique user interface which takes some time to get accustomed to...but once the learning curve is overcome you will enjoy this app.

Another nice feature is the DX4WIN user mailing list which is actively monitored and responded to for all sorts of questions. That kind of free support in near-real-time is very helpful.
 
<— Page 2 of 7 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.