eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Base/Mobile (non hand-held) | Yaesu FT-2700RH Help


Reviews Summary for Yaesu FT-2700RH
Yaesu FT-2700RH Reviews: 8 Average rating: 4.0/5 MSRP: $599.oo
Description: Dual band (2m/70cm) FM 25 Watt Transceiver
Product is not in production.
More info: http://www.yaesu.com/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu FT-2700RH.

NO2A Rating: 4/5 Nov 6, 2015 18:22 Send this review to a friend
Good rig  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought this new in 1988.It served me well for many years. Until a few months back, the original memory battery still worked,and retained the frequencies memorized in 1988! The offset switch was always difficult to use, probably needed some contact spray. I gave it a 4 because the optical encoder was always jumping frequency.You had to turn it slowly. It sure was built strong, It could take a beating. It was rather pricey for a dual band fm rig.Back in the days when everyone and their mom was on repeaters. It was my first dual band mobile fm rig.
 
KG4CLD Rating: 5/5 Nov 5, 2015 23:44 Send this review to a friend
What a gem!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I recently purchased my Yaesu FT-2700RH at a yard sale. The owner had passed and his son thought it was an old CB radio. Although it was dusty and crammed in a box full of wires, I bought it anyway. After a thorough cleaning and a minimal adjustment to the tone board, I was on the air. Mic looks beat up, but still works great. Also this radio doesn't have a built in duplexer. You'll need one if your going to use it with a dual-band antenna.
 
K7CDL Rating: 5/5 Aug 13, 2009 11:23 Send this review to a friend
great first mobile rig  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
this is such a great dual band. i got this from one of my friends because i needed a low power rig to run off of cig lighter power. works great, very simple to run. the hardest part was to find an owners manual for this rig (ebay is great) but what can i say for a rig thats over 14 years old.
 
GD1MIP Rating: 3/5 May 30, 2009 15:13 Send this review to a friend
adequate (it is old)  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I can not locate an FTS-8 CTCSS board for it. (please someone sell me one) add to that the FM deviation is way 'over' But I have yet to locate a suitable schematic to show the correct VR 's to twiddle.

It looks like a 1980's Audioline car cassette player. - But its a good cheap way onto 2m and 70cm FM
 
N8EKT Rating: 3/5 Feb 20, 2006 12:36 Send this review to a friend
FIRST DUAL BANDER  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought one of these new from AES.
It had 440mhz vco problems right out of the box.
After sending it back several times, they finally replaced it with another unit which suffered from low power output on 440.
 
G7EIT Rating: 4/5 Apr 22, 2004 14:23 Send this review to a friend
Nice fancy rig  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This radio I got just because it was cheap and it looked good. The mike seems to feel very light but does perform well, I changed this for a vertex mike. The radio performs very well on both bands and has a great sound to it with very wide audio and good response. As per most dual band radios it does seem to be a little less selective than monobanders. I paid only 70 and it's worth every penny.

73's
g7eit@hotmail.com
 
KG6LFN Rating: 4/5 Jan 2, 2004 22:09 Send this review to a friend
HAS BEEN A GOOD RIG  Time owned: more than 12 months
It's been working since the mid 80's. I replaced the original mic with a MH-27 DTMF mic around a year or so ago. Dual VFO's, good sensitivity, good audio reports. If need a solid, cheap, duplexable dual bander and you can live with a 12.5 Khz step on 440, and manual offset selection this radio can be a used bargain. Beware, proprietary parts are no longer availiable from Yaesu so buy accordingly.
 
KD8WK Rating: 4/5 Dec 16, 2002 20:53 Send this review to a friend
Nice VHF/UHF FM xcvr  Time owned: more than 12 months
The FT-2700RH is a dual-band VHF/UHF FM transceiver that Yaesu sold in the mid to late 80's. Output power is switch selectable at either 3W or 25W. There are separate pigtails in the rear for 2M and 440Mhz antennas. Except for a pressing need to correctly adjust the mike gain and VHF deviation immediately after purchasing the unit (the factory settings were way too high), my unit has performed quite reliably as a base rig, without requiring any service since it was acquired 15 years ago. A few times, it has powered up in strange modes that required a power cycling or at most a CPU reset to correct.

The FT-2700RH has ten memories and various memory and band-scan modes. CTCSS, and voice readout of the frequency/mode, are available via separately purchased and field installable daughterboards.

The manual does a good job of explaining the programming and operating of the 2700RH, but the procedures are not always intuitive. VHF sensitivity is good. UHF is somewhat less so.

There are better dual-band rigs on the market today, but on the whole, the FT-2700RH has served me well over the years, and I still find it quite usable, reliable, and enjoyable to operate.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.