eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Specialized Amateur Communication Products | ZapChecker by Alan Broadband Company Help


Reviews Summary for ZapChecker by Alan Broadband Company
ZapChecker by Alan Broadband Company Reviews: 6 Average rating: 3.8/5 MSRP: $90
Description: ZAP CHECKER by Alan Broadband Company Battery Powered, Broadband Field-Strength Meter. Frequency Range: 10mhz-4.5ghz. Displays R.F. with L.E.D./Meter/Vibrator Modes. 2-AA batteries last up to 80 Hours. Small, Portable, Light, Freestanding.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.zapchecker.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ZapChecker by Alan Broadband Company.

W8LJZ Rating: 5/5 Nov 11, 2011 20:46 Send this review to a friend
A great product & company  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The Alan Broadband Zap Checker is a great little unit for the serious radio person, people with concerns regarding RF around them or who just want to know what "hidden devices" may be out there.
It has an easy learning curve and the instructions though written by an engineer are very understandable for anyone.
The manual gives you a better understanding of radio waves not just telling you how to use the device.
Silvi, one of the people at Alan Broadband is a wonderful, helpful person who knows the complete line of Zap products.
My Zap ZC 185 beats out my more "expensive" equipment for field strength because it is an "all around" piece of gear and just plain fun to use!
 
W2ITD Rating: 3/5 Sep 2, 2011 13:03 Send this review to a friend
Functionality good. Quality questionable.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Purchased for testing company WiFi and Cellular repeater coverage in addition to Ham Radio use. ZC-300 model works as expected for my needs.
However the plastic case is terrible. The case halves of the first unit I received had large seam gaps and visible cracks. I returned for replacement and service was excellent. The replacement unit was OK when received but within 6 weeks developed stress cracks simply due to poor meshing of the front and rear case housings. Note I baby all my test equipment and store the ZC300 in a foam filled Pelican case. Quality should be better on such a high priced device.
 
VE3XKD Rating: 0/5 Feb 15, 2009 09:38 Send this review to a friend
ZC 300 is Junk  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought one of these over a year ago and it never worked from the factory. Sent it back at my expense, and they replaced it. After using it only a few times the second unit died. Called the company and since it is out of warranty, they refused to help and instead offered only to sell me another. They have NO Service or repair and could not refer me to anyone who could fix it.

Utter junk!
 
K6AER Rating: 5/5 May 3, 2007 17:50 Send this review to a friend
Nice unit to find interference.  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought the unit about 4 years ago to use for RFI testing and to find interference. I use the unit up to 2.6 GHz. The unit is not calibrated to any unit of measurement but the linear/semi-log and log scale work well enough to help find interference. I also built a 150-450 MHz directional antenna to augment the PC Board GHz log periodic.

I had a case crack and they replaced the case at no charge. The vibrate function is useful in a covert application.
 
W5RUM Rating: 5/5 May 3, 2007 08:40 Send this review to a friend
ZC300 -Very Sensitive  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
When I first turned this unit on, I thought that the unit was not working properly. For the needle was constantly in the peaked position. After thorough examination and experimenting, I found this unit was picking up ALL RF signals, within it's range, very effectively. You MUST adjust the gain and turn off all RF components in the area such as, wireless routers, wireless phones, wireless weather stations, even wireless burglar alarm sensors, for they all, will be pick up by the unit... The included mini yagi antenna does help in locating the RF source. The external sma connector allows the user to use your own directional antenna, including an attenuation box, if needed. This unit is great for pin pointing RF interference. The unit does require a learning curve and after an hour or two of experimenting, you'll have a better understanding on how to properly set the controls on the unit. By properly adjusting the controls, and selecting the internal or external antenna, you can find any RF source within the range of the unit. Remember,the unit is not selective on which frequency it detects. With this understanding and a little of practice, the unit really performs.
In regards to customer service, Kathie who is the customer support person is very, very good. She doe But she is a part time employee, so please give her a few days to respond. She has always gone the extra step to take care of my picky needs....She even replaced a unit simply because there was an irritating (to me) black speck under the dial crystal. You can not ask for better customer service.
 
WV4R Rating: 5/5 Jan 6, 2003 14:31 Send this review to a friend
ZapChecker Really Workz!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
ZAP CHECKER by Alan Broadband Company Workz Great! Discovered in my Christmas Stocking, this unique meter looks & feels like a quality instrument detects/displays electric field strengths with high sensitivity, similar to a broadband receiver - Provides relative linear/logarithmic measurements of electromagnetic fields over a wide spectrum of frequencies from 10MHz to over 4.5Ghz. (ham radio transceivers at 80+ feet!) - Both the LOG/LINEAR mode, adjustable sensitivity control - Radiated field strengths displayed on both an analog meter and colored (LED) displays - Silent, independent vibrator mode allows the instrument to be used to detect radiated electric fields in ur pocket! Operates for more than 80 hours on 2-Aas - Small, portable, light, free standing, this unit gets the WV4R#5 Rating. Iffen ur a gadget guy, this Super Duper Field Strength Meter is a MustHave! 73 es God bless, murf/wv4r.

 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.