eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Motorola GP-2000 Help


Reviews Summary for Motorola GP-2000
Motorola GP-2000 Reviews: 8 Average rating: 4.6/5 MSRP: $330
Description: Field Programmable set, with 99-channels (each programmable for power, channel name and channel spacing), 5-watt VHF or 4-watt UHF models. Lightweight and sleek
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Motorola GP-2000.

N8PMG Rating: 4/5 Oct 23, 2013 19:50 Send this review to a friend
Solid construction, weak battery  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Well put together, good audio and easy to hold are the strong points. Battery life on high power is not good and it is very easy to accidentally turn it on. It does have FPP, but it is not as intuitive as it could be. The A B C D buttons can be assigned two functions each, but there is nothing to help remember what they are.
 
AA9EG Rating: 5/5 Oct 28, 2003 05:57 Send this review to a friend
Commercial Grade!!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
To say the Motorola GP2000 is a high-quality hand held radio is an under-statement!

The GP2000 comes in VHF and UHF models. The VHF unit has a switchable RF output of 5 watts and 1 watt. The UHF version has 4 watt and 1 watt options. Both models are programmable for 1 to 99 channels. TX and RX frequencies are independently programmable. Various types of tone and carrier squelch are also programmable. The keypad can be used to program all functions of the radio as well as functioning as a DTMF (touch-tone)tm encoder. The units can also be programmed with a computer with appropriate software and interface cable.

The LCD display is user selectable for alpha-numeric or channel number display.

Three scan lists can be programmed and are selectable from the keypad.

I have ham, public service, utility and weather frequencies programmed in my VHF unit. It has virtually replaced my scanner that I carried for years.

The GP2000 construction and quality are what you would expect from Motorola.

The main thing I like about the unit is the ample amount of audio output. I can crank up the level for un-distorted audio when I need it.

The alpha-numeric channel tags and scan-lists functions are also nice features.

I purchased two of the VHF model GP2000 units, one for myself and one for a friend. He was laid-off from his job before the units arrived, so he was unable to take possession of the second unit...

SO... I have a BRAND NEW VHF GP2000 that I am willing to sell. Please contact me at wrg@wrg.net if you are interested in buying a great radio. I plan to put a more detailed description of the GP2000 on the website in near future.
 
VE2WAL Rating: 5/5 Sep 1, 2003 19:27 Send this review to a friend
PRO 2150  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
My unit is marked PRO2150 which is exactly the GP-2000, the PRO2150 tag is for international markets and to confuse people as much as I can tell.

I'm running the UHF version. Not being able to scan for a PL code is a problem.

Otherwise really nice radio. Easy to program with the keypad.

This radio can really be locked down if your looking for that. Programming mode can be turned off. VFO mode can be locked out. Basically you can turn off or lock out most of the functions so you can turn it into a simple FRS/GMRS type device if you wanted. *insert disclaimer about licensing here.

Supports many transmit powers.

It's a commercial motorola radio, you can;t go wrong if you are looking for a UHF only handheld.

It might only have basic features, but you won't regret buying one.

 
KM5UK Rating: 4/5 May 9, 2003 03:29 Send this review to a friend
nice radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
the stock shorty antenna limits the range, so i ordered a 14cm (5.5") option which helped out, and the bnc adapter for external antenna. I wish it would scan the pl tones in a search mode, but when in programming mode to change the pl tones, it wont receive until put back in operating mode. Nice audio, and as others have said, the stock charger is weak. The NIMH battery is a nice feature. I'll try it a while, and see if it holds up like my Radio Shack 202.
 
WA6EIK Rating: 5/5 Apr 24, 2003 09:56 Send this review to a friend
Great for Amateur Use  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
If you're tired of the low receive audio, intermod, sma antennas that break easily, etc. try one of these single band radios, you'll be happy with the GP-2000. It has many features that a ham would enjoy in a commercial HT such as, a vfo, s-meter, nuisance channel delete during scanning, good tx and rx audio and even has a 4th column DTMF for controlling repeaters, 8-digit alpha display, 3-pwr levels, and many more features. I have a Motorola GP-68 which is a similiar radio, but this is an upgrade to it and one of the big things is that the price for this radio is a lot less than that of other Motorola portables which approach the $1k range. Keep in mind, this radio is originally targeted for the Asia market and technically not authorized for US commercial usage.
73, Duane WA6EIK
 
N0FPE Rating: 4/5 Mar 30, 2003 21:41 Send this review to a friend
Great!!!!!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I have both the VHF and the UHF GP-2000's. I also have the programming software. I will have to agree the standard charger is lame. I also picked up a rapid charger. I also replaced the shorty antenna on the VHF unit with a PMAD4014 antenna. You can find the PMAD4023A all over the place but I had one hell of a time finding a PMAD4014. The 4014 is cut for the ham band and works 100% better than the standard VHF shorty antenna. The software makes it nice for programming. It is not all that much faster but it sure makes things less stressful. Over all very nice radios.

Dan/NFPE
 
N0NKU Rating: 5/5 Feb 6, 2003 14:57 Send this review to a friend
GREAT RADIO  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have had 2 of these radios (One VHF and One UHF) and they preform very very well. Despite what some others have said on the internet these radios are "top notch" simple to program and overall easy to manipulate. However the standard charger is kind of lame - so I bought the rapid rate charger for around $25.00 NSO. Very good radio!!!

Richard Wiglesworth / N0NKU
 
9V1-- Rating: 5/5 Jan 7, 2003 02:16 Send this review to a friend
Sleek but SOLID  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Motorola has always made walkies with quality to impress and the GP2000 doesn't fail this.

Its drop proof, just like any other professional radio, but yet with some ham features.

Totally field programmable. 99-channels, each of them for channel name, power setting, PL/DPL codes, and selectable channel spacing (12.5kHz or 25kHz).

Alot of other features like Phone mode that allows u to transmit DTMF without holding down the PTT, and telephone interconnect, auto-offsets, receiver power display....

its just great !!
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.