eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Amplifiers: RF Power - HF & HF+6M | Hallicrafters HT-45 Loudenboomer Help


Reviews Summary for Hallicrafters HT-45 Loudenboomer
Hallicrafters HT-45 Loudenboomer Reviews: 6 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $200
Description: 80 thru 10 meters, single 3-400z tube, outboard power supply, styled to match the HT-44 transmitter and SX-117 receiver.
Product is not in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Hallicrafters HT-45 Loudenboomer.

K5APL Rating: 5/5 Sep 16, 2016 11:06 Send this review to a friend
Loudenboomer Works  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have the early version of the Loudenboomer that was made by Radio Industries and it has been updated to the latest Hallicrafters circuitry. It works well and should last many more years. I am very pleased with it straight forward and easy to use.
 
WA4THR Rating: 5/5 Sep 18, 2013 02:56 Send this review to a friend
Old Reliable!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought this amp from an estate sale back in 1991, and the only issue was that the homebrew solid-state power supply was dead. Rebuilt the supply with fresh caps and diodes and all was fine. I needed to replace the caps again about a year ago, but the amp itself has never had a problem. I use it regularly and find it will tune into almost any load without an antenna tuner and deliver 450w with 50w drive even on the WARC bands. Thinking the old 3-400Z might be getting rare, I picked up a used spare, but still have not had to use it. The construction inside the amp is a work of art, and with the glass chimney and very quiet fan the amp will run all day. This amp is built like a tank and is a fabulous desktop unit.
 
SM3LGO Rating: 5/5 Jan 8, 2011 10:13 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: more than 12 months
Inherited this amp from my father. Very well constructed, has worked with 100% reliability for some 30+ years now. Only maintenance all these years was to replace the 400z tube about 5-6 years ago (the filament connection in the tube socket was bad, might even be possible to re-solder and fix it...). Typically run it at about 500W out (can squeeze some more out if needed).
 
N6GX Rating: 5/5 Jul 23, 2006 20:30 Send this review to a friend
Great Amplfier.  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
This amplifier is well constructed. The former owner claimed that he was not aware of the RF switching modifications until I asked him about them, and I did have to replace the DPDT RF switching relay (part of the aftermarket modification), but it now works very well. The modification allows me to use the AMP with a transceiver.
 
W8ZNX Rating: 5/5 Mar 14, 2004 05:02 Send this review to a friend
great small amp  Time owned: more than 12 months
well made, good looking
payed less than $300 for amp
have used this amp for over 10 yrs.
Never had to do any work on rf deck.

did half to rebuild P 45 ps
replaced choke removed 866s
hv transformer started leaking oil
transformer fix turned it upside down
that was over 9 yrs ago
love this amp staying in shack
till the estate sale
Mac W8ZNX


 
K8DGL Rating: 5/5 Jan 18, 2003 16:53 Send this review to a friend
Great Amp  Time owned: more than 12 months
Look under the hood and you will be amazed. Massive components, single 3-400Z tube with chimney cooled with squirrel cage blower from under side. 700 watts key down output is not a problem. Heavy duty seperate power supply sits on the floor. I have taken it to hamfests to show it off. Everyone loves it's construction.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.