eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Headphones & Boom-mic Headsets | Sony MDR-V900 Help


Reviews Summary for Sony MDR-V900
Sony MDR-V900 Reviews: 12 Average rating: 4.8/5 MSRP: $249.95
Description: Circum-Aural Earcup Design
Product is in production.
More info: http://servicesales.sel.sony.com/web/viewItemDetail.do?operation=getItemDetail&itemID=23954&category=6&categoryName=Headphone
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Sony MDR-V900.

Page 1 of 2 —>

WB1PIX Rating: 4/5 Nov 20, 2007 17:21 Send this review to a friend
Very good for ham radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
Initially I bought these headphones for home recording music on my PC.

I found the phones a little on the heavy side and pinched my wide head, but after they broke in a little the ergonomics were fine.

For recording music, these phones tended to color the music a little towards the bottom end.

However, now using them for ham radio, they are exceptional for discerning weak signals etc.

The only change I'd like to make is hook up some sort of AGC circuit, because if someone turns on / off a vacuum cleaner in the house or whatever, it feels like you've had a bullet shot through your head!

Anyways, these are a great set of phones for ham, if you can get one second hand or on a sale, snap it up.
 
N5KO Rating: 5/5 Jun 9, 2006 21:22 Send this review to a friend
Trey's favorite!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I like them!
 
KC8TLF Rating: 4/5 Nov 11, 2005 14:36 Send this review to a friend
I like them, that's what matters.  Time owned: more than 12 months
I do like the sound of them. I couldn't stand to have them on for too long of a time. They are very heavy and slip around a lot. the cups are made of a kind of leather that is slippery, and the weight of them doesn't help matters. They are very comfortable and have a quality feel though. I usually use these or for long periods my e2c sure ear plug style headphones. I only gave them a 4 only because of the slipping on your head problem. The cords and everything though seem top notch. After two years of abuse, that is my only complaint about them.
 
W7DDD Rating: 4/5 Jan 23, 2005 15:28 Send this review to a friend
Good Headphones  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Got these, as usual, after reviewing good old eHam reviews - of course! I found these on the web - they were offered as refurbished for $49 - a really good deal. They were factory refurbed - came in the original box, warranty card, everything just like new.

These are good phones and a huge improvement from my old ones. As others have stated, put them on, and the world disappears. You really do pick up stuff you haven't heard before. I, too, use them for my Minidisc and CD players - they're great for that too. I would rate their comfort as good - not great - but quite good.

Two negatives: the earcup adjustment slides are very slick and easily moved. In fact you need to readjust the headset every time you put it on, because they will have moved out of position. Second, you need to very carefully position the earcup lead wires into small clip brackets on the headband part - otherwise, as happened to me, when the earcups fold over (for travel - something I don't normally do), the wires can get pinched badly (to the point of being cut) between the mating surfaces of the earcup assembly and the headband.
 
K8ND Rating: 5/5 Sep 27, 2003 21:47 Send this review to a friend
Almost Perfect!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Comfortable, good response, and around-the-ear design to help close out ambient noise.

The only thing that could make them better would be a noise-reduction feature, like in the Heil QuietPhone or Bose Quiet Comfort headphones.

 
KY6R Rating: 5/5 Apr 24, 2003 16:43 Send this review to a friend
Super  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
These are the best headphones I've ever used for CW / SSB and my little Sony Minidisc player. They are verrrrry comfy.
 
K2XT Rating: 5/5 Apr 1, 2003 09:11 Send this review to a friend
Perfection  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just got these phones a week ago after reading reviews here on eham.net. I give these headphones a 5 because I cannot think of an improvement that could be made in them. A google search will get you places that sell them mail order. Mine cost $153 with shipping. I am sure there are other phones of this type that will do the job, but once in awhile you splurge on things that you always wanted and these phones will be with me forever. They go perfectly with the 1000MP, whereas walkman-type phones always had low output. They are first class in every way - construction, quality, comfort, performance. When you put them on, the outside world goes away, and you hear like never before. Even the 3.5 mm plug is heavy metal and adapts to an included 1/4 inch plug by screwing together. I have had terrible luck (and will not buy) Sony consumer products but this is commercial quality stuff - superb. Take a look at the V600 model to save a little money. It has a slightly smaller driver but appears to be from the same family of phones. 73 Rick
 
7N4NJN Rating: 5/5 Jan 26, 2003 08:17 Send this review to a friend
Cool choice No doubt  Time owned: more than 12 months
Fitting is soft and sound character is in the hi-Speed or modern sound criteria. very easy to handle but pickup many stations under the noise floor by this headphone. it uses high-speed driver. so it makes possible for you to get much view about the signal under the deep river of the noise. you can recognize this phones greatness not only for the very weak stations but also for the QSO as it makes QSO to the real conversation. Cool choice. No doubt. I use many expensive headphones but this one is the brightest choice.
 
EA6NB Rating: 5/5 Jan 1, 2001 03:33 Send this review to a friend
Great for Low Bands  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This headphones are less trying out at low bands with much QRN, or to listen a very week DX, the best I ever used.
 
EX_KZ6D Rating: 5/5 Aug 5, 1999 11:40 Send this review to a friend
These are even better than K1EA's headphones!  Time owned: unknown months
Happy to report a 10% increase in qso's worked per 24 hour period owing strictly to better ears.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.