eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | QRP Radios (5 watts or less) | multiPIG+ Help


Reviews Summary for multiPIG+
multiPIG+ Reviews: 7 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $252.00 (approx.)
Description: The multiPIG+ is an all-band, high-performance 160-10 meter ham band CW transceiver designed for the radio experimenter. It is NOT designed for the beginner, but IS designed for those hams and hobbyists with the ability to use an ohmmeter, and those that have a fair understanding of HF RF. If building and operating a high quality QRP CW transceiver that is easily modified is appealing, then the MP+ may be for you. This rig will include a set of seven (7) PCBs, all the same size (2.5" x 3.8"). These PCBs will be supplied as 7 individual kits to build the complete multiPIG+. Two main criteria were used in the design: Make it a kit with the experimenter in mind, AND make the transceiver a top-notch rig. Designed and supplied by Dieter "Diz" Gentzow, W8DIZ, who says, "You can buy the kits individually. My suggestion is to start with the the PLL kit. It can be used as a stand-alone freq generator or as a VFO for another project. Then get the FCC kit. It houses the Freq Counter and other circuits, but you can use the freq counter to display the PLL freq, or use it as a general lab counter. Here is the order I would build the MP+: PLL, FCC, BPF, RCVR, LPF, XMTR."


(The prototype is shown in the photo, in the process of being developed.)

Specs for the multiPIG+
(updated 1/20/03 10:18 AM)


GENERAL FEATURES

7 small PCBs (2.5" x 3.8")
160-10 meter ham band coverage including 60 meters
11.5 - 14 V operation
CW-only
Back-lit LCD with On/Off switch
PLL synthesized--low phase noise
Dual VFOs with RIT on one VFO control

RECEIVER

Low-noise, single-conversion superhet receiver
Double-balanced diode mixers for excellent dynamic range
Receive sensitivity: 0.15 uV (pre-amp on, typical)
Narrow ham-band, triple-tuned bandpass RX/TX filters
Smooth, fast attack, AF AGC (no "popping")
Selectable preamp
Variable-bandwidth I.F. crystal filtering
Infinite tuning resolution
Optional AGC meter output

TRANSMITTER

Adjustable 0.1-5 Watts RF output on all bands
7 pole low-pass output filters
Harmonics and spurious outputs: Better than 45 dBc
Full PIN diode switched break-in
K10+ keyer; iambic A and B; adjustable weight
8-50 wpm (internal keyer); 70+ wpm (external keying)
Programmable message repeat interval
Both paddle and straight CW keying inputs
Variable bandwidth crystal filter (approx. 300 - 1000 Hz)
Adjustable RX CW offset with tracking TX side tone.




Product is in production.
More info: http://partsandkits.com/multipig.asp
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the multiPIG+.

K7SBK Rating: 5/5 Feb 23, 2004 12:21 Send this review to a friend
Lots of fun!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just finished my MP+. Building the seven boards was a several week process, fixed a couple of errors and then it worked, very satisfying and I learned a lot about radios in the process.
This is a modular radio kit, not for the first time kit builder, but Diz W9DIZ provides great help and advice when you need it. I've been a ham since 1962 and building the MP+ is one of the highlight experiences in all those years.
 
WA8THK Rating: 5/5 Aug 1, 2003 14:36 Send this review to a friend
FUN KIT  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I heard from friends on the air that they were getting the rig completed before Dayton this year and I didn't think I had time to put one together..less than 30 days...But I did and it worked great...The fun part is you make your own case or cabnet breadboard ect....I got lots of help from all the guys that already have one and from w8diz....mine is pictured on qrz with my call WA8THK..MORE PICTURES AT MIQRP GROUP AT YAHOO PHOTO SECTION.
 
N0JRN Rating: 5/5 Jun 9, 2003 01:29 Send this review to a friend
An Awsome Kit / Radio  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I've built at least one of nearly everything out there terms of a kit. Some are good, others are not so good. The MP+ is a blast to build and operate. There is plenty of opportunity for personal expression built in here as you make your way through the assembly. Or, you can follow the instruction and build it stock. Either way, it's a great performer. Each of the seven boards are modular in design making the layout easy and flexible. Several add-ons are available as you choose an enclosure type and decide which of the optional controls you wish to use. Diz does an excellent job of supporting the build and there is a Yahoo user's group that adds ton's more support if needed. NO this is not a paint by numbers kit but, if I can build it, you can build it. I've made many contacts on the MP+ and I always get excellent reports on the crisp, clean signal it produces. If your like me and you can't keep your hands out of something, this is the rig for you. I just love to tinker and I'm planning the next expansion to begin this coming week.
THE FUN JUST KEEPS ON COMING !!
But, what else should I expect from a truely awsome rig?
 
W2VD Rating: 5/5 Mar 21, 2003 11:52 Send this review to a friend
A fun and instructional kit  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The MP+ is an experimenters dream kit. With all modules built, you have a great all HF band CW transceiver; clean output and a hot but quiet receiver. I have built two K2's and one K1. My initial impression is that the MP+ receiver section is close to that of the K2. I have not done empirical testing to this effect. It just sounds like a great receiver.

The MP+ was designed as an experimenter's rig. It was not designed to be a "push button" operated radio. When you want to change bands, you need to move some cables around, one or two berg jumpers, and set several hex encoded switches. Since this is an experimenter's rig, I have written a program for a basic stamp that, along with some control circuitry, will turn the MP+ into a "push button" operated radio. I have undertaken this as a fun project and exercise in uP control.
Since I have built this modular radio, I am not afraid to "play around" with the guts of it.

A really cool thing about the MP+ is that you can use all of the modules as parts of other projects.
(in fact, you can buy each module one at a time if you so desire). You can use the PLL board as a signal generator (maybe for a LO) or as a VFO. You can use the FCC as a frequency counter. The BPF's can be used with another receiver, etc.

In my opinion, this kit requires about the same amount of skill required in building an Elecraft.
The documentation is not as extensive as the manuals provided by Elecraft, but it is adequate. This is not an area to be concerned about. Support is great via Diz, and members of the MP+ Yahoo group.

72/73 de Mike, W2VD

 
WB0WAO Rating: 5/5 Mar 21, 2003 03:36 Send this review to a friend
One Great Kit!!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
This kit is, IMHO, a medium level kit and is very well designed. This is an "experimenters" rig and its modular construction will give your the opportunity to play around with it. The RX is very hot - better than my Kenwood! Also, this rig is 60m ready - the only rig that I know of that can operate on this band at this time.
 
VU2LID Rating: 5/5 Mar 20, 2003 23:49 Send this review to a friend
Great Rig !!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Someone in the multiPIG+ discussion group desribed the rig as "Swiss Army Knife" of QRP rigs ... The completed rig is an excellet performer, that can be used as the main QRP XCVR for everyday use. If you are the type who like to experiment, it is a great platform - since the rig is VERY modular with plenty of scope for experimenation, adding more functions, ...
 
W4DU Rating: 5/5 Mar 20, 2003 20:16 Send this review to a friend
Exceptional  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is a great performer. The receiver compares to my K2 - it is quiet and very sensitive. It covers 160 thru 10 (with 60 meters), has a built in keyer, LCD readout, and runs up to 8 watts. This is not a paint by number kit. If you are ready to take the next step past a "cookie cutter" kit, but are not yet ready for homebrew, this is for you. Check it out at: http://partsandkits.com/index.asp
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.