eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: VHF/UHF+ Omnidirectional: verticals, mobile, etc | Comet SBB-2/SBB-2NMO Help


Reviews Summary for Comet SBB-2/SBB-2NMO
Comet SBB-2/SBB-2NMO Reviews: 28 Average rating: 3.4/5 MSRP: $39.95
Description: 20" long 2m/70cm dual band mobile antenna. 1/4 wave, 2.15 dB gain on 2m, 5/8 wave, 3.8 dB gain on 70cm. VSWR 1.5:1 or less. Maximum power 100W.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.cometantenna.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Comet SBB-2/SBB-2NMO.

Page 1 of 3 —>

KE4WMF Rating: 2/5 Apr 28, 2016 04:14 Send this review to a friend
Connector Not Quite Right  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I recently had an SBB-5 stolen while parked at a shopping center. I decided to try something lower-profile and chose the SBB-2. I mounted it and torqued it down securely. Totally deaf. Antenna analyzer showed SWR of 6:1. I accidentally saw improvement when I was removing the antenna. Apparently, I works if it's not tightened down. I don't want a loose antenna, so I opted to try another SBB-2. Same deal... works as expected if the antenna is not tightened, but totally deaf if any amount of snugness is applied while tightening. Not acceptable. I don't think it's my NMO connector because my SBB-5, SBB-7, and even a cheap Nagoya antenna all work fine when torqued-down. I will get another SBB-5 or a Lawsen 2/70B.
 
KA4KOE Rating: 5/5 Feb 6, 2016 21:23 Send this review to a friend
Works and is Reliable  Time owned: more than 12 months
My antenna worked so good I gave it to my bro KK4TVR. Still giving him good service. I kinda wish I still have it as I upgraded to an SBB-5NMO, which tends to hit stuff as its on top of my pick-em-up truck roof.
 
N0FPE Rating: 1/5 Feb 6, 2016 18:14 Send this review to a friend
Poor at best  Time owned: months
Had one of these a few years ago..found it to be poor at best. SWR was way too high and the thing made my radio deaf!!! Tried everything but it just was no good. replaced it with a regular size SSB-5 and everything has been roses since. Dont waste your money on this thing...
 
NS6W Rating: 1/5 Feb 6, 2016 11:55 Send this review to a friend
Returned back to HRO  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
To echo N7AQQ's review, the base collar is too short to properly engage the standard NMO connector, leaving approx. 3mm of exposed space between the antenna's collar and the roof. Replaced it with Larsen NMO2/70SH for a perfect fit.
 
KG5FQT Rating: 4/5 Jul 5, 2015 09:27 Send this review to a friend
Quite Satisfied   Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I wonder what some guys are trying to compare this 18" antenna to? I am more then satisfied with this purchase. It is used daily. I have it on a NMO 4" magnet mount on top of a Chevy Tahoe for work connected to a Kenwood TM-D710G. I have no problem hitting any repeaters within a 30-40 mile radius. Full quieting reports. I can hit APRS repeaters on mid-high power at same mileage. I also can hit ISS for APRS when it passes overhead. It has no problem hitting a Baofeng HT, both on low power from about 5 miles out. Since I dont have a VHF rig inside the house, I also use this setup for crossband repeater to be able to hit my club repeater which is about 25-30 miles out while sitting inside my house with the HT and have no issues. I have never measured my actual SWR's, but with my results I am getting, why bother? When I use it with my HT, even at 5 watts, I can easily hit repeaters at 20-30 miles out. I didnt expect these results when I purchased this antenna, but I am quite pleased with the results. If I had to knock off a point for anything it would be that after 5 months, I've had some paint flake off the coil after hitting some leaves one time, didnt even hit the branch. May just have to put some spray paint over it.
 
N7AQQ Rating: 3/5 Feb 15, 2015 22:21 Send this review to a friend
Ok, with qualifications  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I use short VHF and/or UHF antennas on all my vehicles for aesthetic and clearance reasons. I had this antenna on the family minivan for several months, and it seemed to perform as expected for a short antenna. My main complaint is the too short NMO base collar that doesn't engage the mount threads very far and leaves a wide gap between the collar and the roof surface. I was using a purchased o-ring to fill the gap, but I have now changed to a Larsen dual band with a proper base.
 
W7LDN Rating: 5/5 Jan 18, 2015 17:42 Send this review to a friend
very good antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
I guess if the same person is allowed to post two negative reviews in a row, I should give my opinion. I think this is a great antenna. I've used the NMO version for years. It's no half-wave, but then no reasonable person would expect it to perform like one.
 
K6JPR Rating: 1/5 Oct 19, 2014 16:46 Send this review to a friend
poor  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Have the NMO version. SWR is 1:1 on 70 cm but I'm not convinced it radiates! On 2 m it is crap! After adjusting for hours could not get the SWR below 6:1.....Never again....Larsen next time.
 
N0YK Rating: 2/5 Sep 14, 2012 05:35 Send this review to a friend
Weak above coil...  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I've used this antenna for the last 8 months with great success as far as performance goes. The antenna is weak right above the base coil and I've had it break in half twice. $35 for a new base coil so not worth it, you can just buy a new antenna for that price almost. Comet's reasoning for this weak part of the antenna was they make them like this on purpose so if you hit something the antenna breaks before your mount or roof of car does. Sure, I'll buy that but find a different antenna in the meantime.

Like I said, good performance but be very careful no to put any pressure on the antenna beside wind loading. I'm moving on to something else...

 
K9XXX Rating: 5/5 Oct 31, 2011 06:31 Send this review to a friend
low profile, good performance  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought the SBB-2NMO to serve a specific purpose;local use within 10 miles of my town of 13,000. The local club has a 2m and a .7m rpt.
I never need >5W in town. I have a number of mobile antennas and swap them as needed.
The flat black finish is beautiful,especially without the Comet sticker,which I removed.The antenna doesn't attract attention and doesn't hit
things.
No one will ever hear me complaining if the SBB-2NMO doesn't outperform a 7/8 wave.

 
Page 1 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.