eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Receivers: Scanners | icom r10 Help


Reviews Summary for icom r10
icom r10 Reviews: 9 Average rating: 3.0/5 MSRP: $349.99
Description: all mode handheld reciver
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.icom.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the icom r10.

N3LCW Rating: 5/5 Apr 23, 2012 11:25 Send this review to a friend
Dated but a great portable receiver  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Picked up a mint condition R10 used for less than $200 for use with an Optoelectronics Scout40 in reactive tune mode. With today's high capacity NiMH batteries I get 12+ hours operation. The receiver is sensitive on the V/UHF bands which is where my interest is. While there are scanners available today that offer 'close call' technology, I have found the Scout/R10 combination to work better and lock on to more nearby transmitters that my Uniden scanners. After adding a pair of MiniCircuits bandpass filters in line with a mobile scanner antenna the R10 quickly reaction tunes to low power (a few watts) transmitters within 1/2 mile or more, very nice!

It's been a great all around receiver for SSB use also, but it does not have any serious selectivity on HF. Good enough for casual HF listening. It's been especially nice on the Air band and Railroad frequencies.



 
K7NG Rating: 3/5 Aug 18, 2011 15:37 Send this review to a friend
Better scanners are out there  Time owned: more than 12 months
I had hoped for more than the R-10 delivers. Yes, it has HF coverage, and can receive SSB/CW, but other than that it really is a mediocre performer. The wall-wart AC power pack that comes with the receiver causes the BFO to be so hum-modulated that CW and SSB cannot be received. It worked OK for those modes when running from the car 12V or internal batteries. You need an external antenna to get anything on HF, but it gets hammered by strong signals from DC to daylight so makes HF reception difficult. It is quite sensitive on VHF airband but FM stations cross-modulate and cause lots of scan stops on ghost signals. VHF Hi PSB reception gets pounded with TV and other VHF signals even if the interferers aren't that strong. Audio quality is mediocre, probably due to the size of the speaker. Once I had a need to hear trunked systems, I decided to sell the IC-R10 and use the proceeds toward a scanner that could do that job, giving up HF, for what it ever was worth.
 
VE4MM Rating: 1/5 Sep 8, 2005 10:35 Send this review to a friend
deaf  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is one of ICOM's worst products. I have the new IC-7800 which is great!

I sold the R10 a few weeks after I bought it.
 
WT3844 Rating: 2/5 May 5, 2005 16:27 Send this review to a friend
BELOW AVERAGE  Time owned: more than 12 months
I'VE OWNED MY R-10 FOR OVER A YEAR.NOW I'M STUCK WITH IT.I OWN 8 HAND HELD RECEIVERS AND THIS RATES VERY LOW TO ME, SCAN SPEED IS UNACCEPTABLR,AND THE RECEIVER LOCKS UP FROM TIME TO TIME REQUIRING TOTAL RESET EACH TIME.MY R-20 IS A MUCH BETTER INVESTMENT HOWEVER IS MORE EXPENSIVE.SO THERE IS MY R-10 IN THE BOX ON THE SHELF IN MY SHACK.IT ALSO SUFFERS FROM ADJACENT CHANNEL INTERFERENCE WHICH FORCES ME TO USE ATTENUATOR.I DO NOT LIKE USING THE ATTENUATOR SENSITIVITY IS REDUCED.
 
KR4EX Rating: 3/5 Jul 25, 2004 21:45 Send this review to a friend
DECENT RECEIVER  Time owned: more than 12 months
I primarily bought the R-10 for use with low power dog tracking collars as opposed to paying the rediculous prices that hunters do for tracking systems such as Wildlife Materials and Advanced Telemetry System receivers. Some of those systems can cost over $1000.00 and that is all you can do with them is track your dogs!!! I was well pleased with the Icom's performance for this function although it was not quite as sensitive as the receivers designed for that purpose. Its advantages far outweighed the minimal loss of performance as any collar made by any company can be programmed in the R-10. The only problem I have is that sometimes when the receiver was turned on, it had absolutely no receive on any frequency in any mode. It had to be turned off and on a few times to get it to working again and Icom received the receiver and never could get it to do that with them. AES sent me another one after I complained and can you believe it done the exact same thing as the first one, just not hardly as often!
 
SWL377 Rating: 4/5 Jan 8, 2004 17:20 Send this review to a friend
Good value USED  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
The ICOM R 10 is available used for around $200 and at that price its a good value. It DOES eat batteries fast, has a sub-optimal user interface, but with a decent antenna it makes a good HF scanner because it has an OUTSTANDING VOICE SQUELCH. It doesn't trigger on carrier, but on actual voice. This makes utility HF scanning a pleasure rather than a noisy fatiguing exercise.
 
N2DY Rating: 4/5 Aug 6, 2003 11:46 Send this review to a friend
Terrific receiver, eats batts., limited scanning abilities  Time owned: more than 12 months
The R-10 has a very capable very wideband receiver. You can only utilize all of that frequency coverage if you use the right antenna. Obviously you cannot use the rubber duck that comes with it to get good coverage on hf. One of the newer telescoping type antennas that are out for the FT-817 make HF coverage come alive. Using a long wire invites overload problems. Like many shortwave receivers, the R-10 will overload very easily with too much antenna gain.

On VHF/UHF it is very sensitive. I am into weak signal SSB activity on those bands. The R-10 is neat to have when I am just listening around for SSB activity.

This radio is one of the worst when it comes to battery consumption. Compared to a Uniden handheld scanner, the radio is in the stone ages as far as battery efficiency goes. The only way to get decent battery life is to use high capacity nickel metal hydride or even lithium batteries. Standard nicads die after only a couple of hours.

The radio is not particularly user friendly when it comes to scanning. Icom should just borrow a Uniden scanner for a couple of days to learn how to do it right. They make it more complicated than it needs to be.

I give the radio a 4 out of 5 because it was remarkable how they put such a wideband high quality receiver in such a small box when this radio was originally purchased 6 years ago or so. With competitors now starting to come out with radios that are just as widebanded and with better scanning and battery life capabilities, Icom may need to freshen up the R-10.
 
BG4SFZ Rating: 1/5 Aug 6, 2003 05:04 Send this review to a friend
Below Expectations  Time owned: more than 12 months
I got it with great expectations but ended up with disappointment! The Reception sensitivity is just Okey at V/UHF Bands and above, while performance much below my expectations on HF/ and 6/10m bands. Low sensitivity on HF/6/10m Bands makes it useless to me. The down side with it is that it eats the batteries as if they don't cost anything! The size of it is quite a bit bigger than my palm can hold.
 
KMP61371 Rating: 4/5 Mar 27, 2003 02:53 Send this review to a friend
nice handheld receiver  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
the r10 is a nice hanheld..it is packed with features and is small enough to take along without the bulk but big enough so you know its there.......receives well on all bands with the stock antenna.i use it for shortwave..2meter..and local police chatter..the battries last about 2 days worth of use or 5 -8 hrs of continuose use before needing a recharge.......i recomend picking up the optional leather case do resist dings on the plastic face....the manual looked rushed as its filled with typos and you kinda need a manual fot the manual...opperation takes getting used to for sure..entering freqs. is a bit of a pain in itself not like some lower end units but i wish it was like them on that point......if your looking for an all mode communications receiver that has all the features to take along on trips or vacation or whatever this is a great little rig......
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.