eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Software - Other than logging | EchoMac Help


Reviews Summary for EchoMac
EchoMac Reviews: 18 Average rating: 4.3/5 MSRP: $Freeware
Description: Macintosh client for EchoLink Internet Radio Network.
Product is in production.
More info: http://echomac.sourceforge.net
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the EchoMac.

<— Page 2 of 2

MWILDING Rating: 4/5 Sep 7, 2007 18:35 Send this review to a friend
It works... don't believe people who can't get it working  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just reading about some people who cannot get it working... basically cannot connect to a station. The most common problem is a 1) firewall or 2) a router/bridge that is sending UDP packets to the wrong machine in a 'hidden' network (used to share the same Internet connection between multiple mahcines).

Echolink uses UDP packets which are connectionless (as opposed to TCP packets which to form a connection). So, your computer sends the UDP packets out but when the remote system responds with UDP packets, the router/bridge needs to randomly pick a currently active computer on the network. If it picks the wrong system, EchoMac (and EchoLink for that matter) won't work. Not EchoMac's fault.... its just the way things go. If you use a network sniffer, you'll see UDP packets going out okay but coming back into the wrong IP address in your little hidden network.

The solution: pick a machine, get its IP address and set up port forwarding on your router/bridge. This will more than likely solve the problem. It is very unlikely the fault of EchoMac so don't fault it unnecessarily.

It is a reasonably good program. Maybe not as full featured as EchoLink but pretty good.

73

- Mark
 
AA4FX Rating: 5/5 Aug 24, 2007 19:29 Send this review to a friend
Works fine for me  Time owned: more than 12 months
The application installed with no problems. Works well. No problems.
 
N5RNY Rating: 4/5 Jul 11, 2007 08:59 Send this review to a friend
works but missing something  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Works well, but is missing most of the features in Echolink. No recording capability, no multiconnects possible, no sorting by call area, no way to enable the space bar for transmit, no hands-free (VOX) capablity. In other words, it needs to be upgraded, but it does work well as is. I get compliments regarding the sound quality, and in the end, I guess thats all that matters!
 
KB9GPN Rating: 5/5 Nov 11, 2006 16:29 Send this review to a friend
Excellent OS-X version of EchoLink  Time owned: more than 12 months
EchoMac is an excellent Apple Mac OS-X implimentation of the EchoLink system. Updated in version 1.16 as a Universal Binary the current version of EchoMac works well on both my Intel processor MacBook and my PowerPC processor MacMini & G5 iMacs.

Documentation has also been improved with better guidance in setting up the ports to do EchoLink/EchoMac.

Has been a very nice option for keeping skeds when the bands wouldn't cooperate.

73

Steve
K9ZW (ex-KB9GPN)
 
G3SEA Rating: 5/5 Aug 9, 2004 15:48 Send this review to a friend
Welcome EchoMac Fans :)  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
EchoLink welcomes all Mac Users :)

EchoLink is a wonderful and economical system for Ham expats to communicate back to their home states and countries.

Laptop or PC capability is a plus over IRLP in that it enables one to bypass all local repeaters
and thus avoid tying them up with distant groups or conferences.

You will all have more meaningful conversations with folk in distant states and countries too ;)
 
N0LMZ Rating: 5/5 Aug 9, 2004 15:14 Send this review to a friend
Awsome, Free, And great for hams in retirement homes  Time owned: more than 12 months
Iam not retired but what a great use. Many thanks to Jeff, WD4NMQ, for his great work on echoLinux andS teven Palm N9YTY. Great job guys!!!!!

No Bugs that I have found...
 
KG4TPX Rating: 5/5 Aug 23, 2003 09:44 Send this review to a friend
wonderful and easy to use  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Thanks to all who worked to put this package togeather for the Mac. I have never had a problem using the software and the interface is completely logical. I give it a 5 because it does what it advertises very well. It is unbelievably easy to set up and start using. It is hard to believe that such a powerful communications tool could be so simple to operate. And with the program's size, it doesn't eat up your hard drive ( I think that is one of it's most amazing features). It would be nice to have some of the other features of the Echolink program, but I'm sure that they will come with time. Hats off to the EchoMac team.
 
VA3BJD Rating: 5/5 Apr 3, 2003 13:39 Send this review to a friend
Finally Echolink has come to the Macintosh platform!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Finally Echolink has come to the Macintosh platform!! This software works great and the price is right....FREE! I have been using this for a few weeks now and am very happy with the performance of EchoMac. The author Steven Palm N9YTY, should be congratulated for this excellent amateur radio software.
 
<— Page 2 of 2


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.