eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Keys & Paddles | TK-F Heavy Duty RF Filtered Soviet Hand Key Help


Reviews Summary for TK-F Heavy Duty RF Filtered Soviet Hand Key
TK-F Heavy Duty RF Filtered Soviet Hand Key Reviews: 8 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $39.95
Description: TK-F Heavy Duty RF Filtered Soviet Hand Key
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.morsex.com/ru/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the TK-F Heavy Duty RF Filtered Soviet Hand Key.

N3PDT Rating: 5/5 Sep 11, 2011 18:54 Send this review to a friend
Impressive  Time owned: months
Bought one of these TK-F keys on eBay from a dealer in Ukraine and couldn't be more impressed with it. Despite the good reviews I read, I was really just expecting a serviceable Soviet era key. Nothing more. I was wrong. This is a well built, easily adjustable, very nice feeling key.

I thought I'd try out the TK-F in the latest SKCC Weekend Sprintathon. I generally use a Navy Flameproof key and send European style, with my elbow off the table. The TK-F is the equal in feel and comfort.

Con: It's ugly.
 
OK1RP Rating: 4/5 Feb 27, 2009 07:18 Send this review to a friend
Good  Time owned: more than 12 months
I got it from ebay. Quite new. The tips are not tight and there is horizontal movement a bit. The side screws can be tightened to fix it but tips can be damaged. Good for that price.
73, petr ok1rp
 
K9HE Rating: 5/5 Sep 18, 2007 05:45 Send this review to a friend
Surprising!!!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I second all earlier review comments. First look reminds you of your feelings when you first saw a VW Beetle. Properly adjusted to your fist though this key is marvel,,,smooth,,,quick,,and solid. Strange looking knob that feels better than anything I've used in fifty years of straight keying. Bargain prices whether direct or via eBay. Looking for the holy grail of straight keys,,,give this one a try!!!!!!

I have four operating positions,,,this key now sits on two of them.
 
W8ZNX Rating: 5/5 Jun 21, 2007 13:18 Send this review to a friend
great key  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
in 45 years of messing with
telegraph keys

have finaly found a
inexpensive kick around
straight key
that i enjoy using

not much to look at
but
these Cherkassy keys
are a real sleeper

have
one non filter key
and
one filter key

they are truly the best
key
for the least money
in the world

can pick them up on e pay
for 20 to 35 bucks

my $250 High Mound Swedish key
is now gathering dust

the Cherkassy keys
are realy and truly wonderfull

you must try one
to know how great they feel

the filter key stands higher
than the non filter key

the filter key
has a break contact
for rec/xmit change over

that the non filter key
do not have

Mac dit dit


 
N4EES Rating: 5/5 Feb 6, 2007 10:06 Send this review to a friend
QRQ straight key!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This is the only straight key I have used which permits smooth, clean, and fatigue free sending at 20-25 wpm. And, it's one of the least expensive keys you can buy.
 
WA8TZG Rating: 5/5 Apr 16, 2006 08:03 Send this review to a friend
Ain't pretty, but it sure can cook!  Time owned: more than 12 months
What a wonderful key! Smooth and fluid motion, especially when used "European" ("British") style at the front of a low desk (or, in my case, keyboard shelf) and keyed with the arm unsupported and falling in a natural position. The RF filter in the base puts the key at a really good height for this style of use. My code is better and a lot more fun these days.

Mine came direct from Ukraine, still sealed in its original Soviet military packaging. There are many suppliers offering this key on eBay and other places and the prices vary quite a bit so shopping around is advised, but even the highest prices are still a bargain.

Not a pretty key by any means, but it sure is a joy to use.

Your mileage may vary, but I sure like mine!
 
FROMABQ Rating: 5/5 Sep 18, 2005 17:52 Send this review to a friend
Super Bargain!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I picked up one of these for $9.95 plus shipping on Ebay. It has a very good feel, adjusts well and looks to be well made. In fact, I like the feel so much that I've been using it all the time lately.

73

Mike
 
MW0EDX Rating: 5/5 Apr 16, 2003 18:04 Send this review to a friend
RF board is built-in !  Time owned: more than 12 months
TK-F Heavy Duty RF Filtered Soviet Hand Key. RF board is built-in ! Features silver contacts, metal base, Russian letters.

Very steady to operate. Still imprerssed by the amount of the Russian parts on the board underneath the key. Probably to be used with the very QRO transmitters ??

73 !
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.