eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Amateur Radio Periodicals | DUBUS Magazine for VHF/UHF and Microwave Help


Reviews Summary for DUBUS Magazine for VHF/UHF and Microwave
DUBUS Magazine for VHF/UHF and Microwave Reviews: 12 Average rating: 4.5/5 MSRP: $30.00
Description: Quarterly Magazine for technology, construction, DX and propagation on VHF/UHF and Microwave bands, covering 6m, 2m, 70cm and up. Construction of PAs, preamps, transverters, antennas etc. Articles about Tropo, Meteor-Scatter, Aurora, EME, FAI, Sporadic E, beacons, expeditions etc.
Edited in english and german language by an international group of hams. Published by Joe Kraft, DL8HCZ.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.dubus.org
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the DUBUS Magazine for VHF/UHF and Microwave.

Page 1 of 2 —>

WB2AMU Rating: 5/5 Jun 1, 2009 03:37 Send this review to a friend
Exception magazine that covers VHF/UHF topics  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I recently received the last three issues of this fine magazine. The articles are thoughtful and well-presented. I appreciate that fact that both English and German translations appear for each article that appears in each issue. This magazine is a level above the US-based CQ VHF because of the high technical and scientific content. I especially like the editor's articles on Sporadic-E, a field that I am involved in.
 
EX_AA5JG Rating: 5/5 Dec 23, 2008 13:02 Send this review to a friend
Best there is!  Time owned: more than 12 months
If you are into VHF/UHF operation (non-FM or APRS) this is the best magazine by far. The articles in it are written at a high level, but are still interesting. They are informative and make you think, not like some of the other dumbed downed publications in the US. I look forward to every issue and read them cover to cover.

They also have nice columns on VHF activity in Japan, VK/ZL, South America, North America, and Europe so you truely get a worldwide perspective on VHF/UHF operations. There are also separate columns for EME, Meteor Scatter and Tropo showing how specialized this publication is.

If you are really into VHF/UHF operations this is the magazine for you! You will learn something new from every issue.

73s John AA5JG
 
EA1DDO Rating: 5/5 Oct 9, 2004 04:56 Send this review to a friend
Top best VUSHF magazine  Time owned: more than 12 months
Hi,

It is the best VUShf bands magazine. Has a lot of state of the art articles, projects, bands activity, from 2/6 meters tropo up to 249 Ghz, EME, FAI, Meteor Scatter, Aurora, etc.
Information from all parts of the world, plus beacons list, high tech advertisements, news, etc.

The best information source for begginers and specialist.

A "must" for the VUShfer.

73, Max - EA1DDO/HK1DX
 
N4HY Rating: 5/5 Mar 26, 2004 12:17 Send this review to a friend
The cream of the crop  Time owned: more than 12 months
Dubus is the cream of the crop in technical and building magazines, irrespective of its limitation to VHF+ interests. It is available in the U.S. through the good offices of Kent Britain, KB5UBE via his QRZ.com email address. Published four times a year, I regularly read it from cover to cover. I never fail to learn something new and with its world-wide perspective, I see the best work from hams in Europe, North America, Japan, elsewhere. Matjaz Vidmar, Michael Kuhne, Kent Britain, Johnathan Naylor, Paul Wade, and many many other great contributors are regulars. It is a must for the VHF enthusiast. Published in Germany, every article is in German and English. The English translations are excellent.
 
G4KLX Rating: 5/5 Mar 10, 2004 16:30 Send this review to a friend
Nothing comes close  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have been reading DUBUS on and off for about twenty years, although only subscribed relatively recently.

DUBUS is not a magazing for the casual operator, or for the appliance operator, so only about 1% of amateurs will appreciate it. However for that 1% it is invaluable. It always strives to be state of the art, and with contributers like DB6NT what else can it be ?

The only other magazing that comes close if VHF Communications (UKW-Berichte) but that lacks the activity listings and seems a little less cutting edge, at least to me.

DUBUS is very biased towards European operation but that is only fair since Europe is probably the place to be for V/U/SHF activity, and Germany is probably the centre of that activity. It is only right and proper that DUBUS (and UKW-Berichte) are produced there.
 
NE0P Rating: 5/5 Nov 9, 2003 02:35 Send this review to a friend
Excellent VHF/UHF magazine  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
This is an excellent VHF/UHF magazine, based on the last year of issues which is the only ones I have seen. It is written at a high level, much above QST, Worldradio, or CQ, but is still very understandable. Probably like a combination of QEX and NCJ for VHF. Contains excellent information on all frequencies above 50mhz, including the upper microwaves, and it is neat to see that people are actually playing up there.

It is also nice to read a European perspective to amateur radio. You quickly realize that the proportion of EU hams on VHF/UHF greatly outnumbers the proportion in the US. After reading an issue of DUBUS, I feel like selling all my HF gear and getting a 1296mhz radio.

If you are really curious about VHF/UHF propogation, equipment, and operating, this magazine is highly recommended.
 
NI6G Rating: 5/5 Jun 7, 2003 18:19 Send this review to a friend
North American Perspective  Time owned: more than 12 months
Out of all the amateur magazines that I subscribe to, I look forward to reading DUBUS the most. The technical articles are of the highest caliber and the activity reports are exciting. When I puruse this journal, I feel that I am vicariously living the life of a European weak signal operator. The interest level in VHF DXing seems to be much higher there than in the US. I've read many accounts that were exclusive to DUBUS and not found anywhere else including the internet.
 
I4YNP Rating: 5/5 Jun 7, 2003 12:50 Send this review to a friend
Most intersting für 6m, 2, 70cm and Microwaves  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have DUBUS since 1978 and always enjoyed it.
One year ago DUBUS got a new publisher and
improvements are going on.
Please remember that DUBUS is a non profit
making magazine made by hams in their free time.
So I would prefer not to complain about these
not very important items like layout, index etc.
BTW there is a CD available with a complete index of all DUBUS`s technical articles.

73
Alex


 
DF1AS Rating: 3/5 Jun 5, 2003 06:29 Send this review to a friend
Add-on  Time owned: more than 12 months

To keep the current rating - I set this add-on to a 3/5. But I still stay for my previous rating of 1/5.

Within our clubstation group (5 OM when founded 15 years ago) we had all the magazin available for really many years and probably several years before. I can't remember the very first issue. Very likely an issue before the first for 9XAT!

The magazin has neither a sophisticated layout, nor a sophisticated distribution, nor digital access, nor an index where you can search for. What does a printed 1-year index help?

Sorry, but even Ralf could change my mind.

73 - Kay-Uwe
 
DL9XAT Rating: 5/5 Jun 4, 2003 12:53 Send this review to a friend
super magazine  Time owned: more than 12 months
Can`t follow the comments from DF1AS at all.
DUBUS is a very sophisticated magazine for the VHF/UHF/SHF operator.
BTW, according to the publisher,
DF1AS has never subscribed to DUBUS magazine in the past.
There is an index of all articles in every year´s issue number 4. If you have subscribed you would have known this.
The FTP files on the web are a free bonus.
These are all articles from the early years.

Better get your free sample copy and find out yourself about DUBUS´s quality.

73
Ralf

 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.