eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | SWR & Wattmeters & Dummy Loads | Yaesu YS-60 Peak-Reading Wattmeter Help


Reviews Summary for Yaesu YS-60 Peak-Reading Wattmeter
Yaesu YS-60 Peak-Reading Wattmeter Reviews: 19 Average rating: 4.3/5 MSRP: $129.99
Description: True peak-reading wattmeter
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/meters/0672.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu YS-60 Peak-Reading Wattmeter.

<— Page 2 of 2

W9AL Rating: 5/5 Jul 22, 2004 20:19 Send this review to a friend
Excellent, Accurate  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
The YS-60 is a terrific little wattmeter, as is the matching VHF/UHF model, the YS-500. It reads all power levels accurately and the active PEP circuitry works very well.

Those who've posted reviews complaining about the YS-60 not standing up to long duty cycles at the legal limit, obivously didn't read the manual, as it specifically states that the average output power should be limited to 700 watts from 1.6 to 3.5mHz and 1kW between 3.5 and 60mHz, if transmission times exceed 10 minutes. It's always a good idea to read the manual before using a product and complaining that it doesn't do something that it wasn't designed to do in a product review is foolish.

If you want a nice little wattmeter that's compact, relatively inexpensive, accurate and works well over a wide range of frequencies, then the YS-60 is a very good choice- as long as you can read the manual.
 
KB0GU Rating: 3/5 Jul 15, 2003 22:10 Send this review to a friend
Smoked!  Time owned: more than 12 months
All previous posts are pretty much right on. Bulbs are wear items and difficult to replace, the ones I put in drew more current and were brighter and then caused melt of the top face plate which required small holes drilled to ventilate their heat, should have increased the resistor to them to drop the voltage a bit. It was acurate until an antenna fault smoked the toroid pick up and associated circuitry. It is in junk now as can't find parts to repair it. Worked good for several years but did not like the abuse of backed up near legal limit power. Do not think I will purchase another one.
 
N7ZDR Rating: 5/5 Jan 25, 2003 00:10 Send this review to a friend
Nice Meter  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
If you don't mind fipping the switch to read the swr, This is a very nice meter. It very close to the bird PEP meter. The PEP reading is right on. Small but quite heavy
 
KA7GKN Rating: 5/5 Sep 13, 2002 06:57 Send this review to a friend
nice size, works great  Time owned: more than 12 months
compared to other power meters in the shack the YS-60 is right on. I find the pep peak reading mode excellent and also very accurate, compared to other meters in the shack.
the only issue are those darn micro lamps they use! they burn out and are miserable.
I plan to replace the lamps, when the second bulb goes with white LEDs as I have done with all my other meters.
By the way anyone notice the similarity of the YS-60 and the REVEX W560????

Marty ka7gkn@arrl.net

 
N4MIT Rating: 2/5 Sep 12, 2002 22:41 Send this review to a friend
NOT for RTTY  Time owned: more than 12 months
Meter is not designed for High Duty Cycle modes (rtty, sstv) at high power. I have burned up the sensor twice with rtty. Last time was 1100 watts out into a well matched th5dx on 20 meters. The torids get saturated at Hi Power and "chernoble". Parts are $80 so I won't fix it again. Works great for SSB or CW, fairly accurate but not a RTTY meter... Never buy another or even fix this one again. Sad to see it go in the trash!
 
W6NYC Rating: 5/5 Feb 27, 2002 18:12 Send this review to a friend
Buy this meter  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Love the way this thing operates. Have compared mine to a friend’s Bird, and it is real close. It seems the best when reading PEP because of the sensitive circuitry inside. The weight of the unit is good for holding it where you put it instead of seeing it “travel” because of the weight of the coax cable. I am a complainer, so I have just two minor beefs… I’m gettin’ old and sure would like a larger face on the meter, and kind of wish there were some kind of damper or hold on the thing to slow down the drop-off time.

I know, I’m asking for the features of a $1,000 meter for the great price of this one for $130. It was money well spent, I am really very satisfied.
 
W4CRT Rating: 5/5 Feb 14, 2002 19:51 Send this review to a friend
Great meter  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Great meter and looks good too. Seems to be right on the money as far as wattage goes. You can't go wrong with this meter.
 
KC8ROT Rating: 4/5 Jun 21, 2001 22:02 Send this review to a friend
Could be better!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I was looking for wattmeter for YAESU FT-100D with ATAS-100 antenna. Since antenna has automatic tuning, it will not work with all wattmeters. Well, I thought that YAESU works better with YAESU. I was wrong, YS-60 has zero resistance between the center pin and the ground. So, it completely disable automatic tuning. It has no other disadvantages though.
 
AB7SL Rating: 5/5 Dec 3, 1999 22:58 Send this review to a friend
True peak reading wattmeter 160M-6M from Yaesu  Time owned: unknown months
Couldn't be happier with the YS-60. Speak normally into the mic and see the true PEP on the meter face. Also has SWR and a special low-power SWR scale for QRP. Unit requires 13.8 v. Has 2 IC's and 6 transistors. Dual lamp illuminated meter is super-easy to read day or night. Power scales are 20W-200W-2000W. Also has a selection for reading average power. Much easier to read then flashing LED digits. Affordable at $129 from AES. Works on 160M thru 6M. Great addition to any shack.
 
<— Page 2 of 2


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.