eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Software - Other than logging | ACE-HF PRO HF Propagation Simulation and Visualisation Software Help


Reviews Summary for ACE-HF PRO HF Propagation Simulation and Visualisation Software
ACE-HF PRO HF Propagation Simulation and Visualisation Software Reviews: 7 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $199
Description: ACE (Animated Communications Effectiveness) provides HF ham radio propagation predictions for the 1.8-30 MHz bands, displays area coverage from designated transmitters and receivers, and determines circuit quality and best frequency for groups of circuits to any location.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.longwaveinc.com/ace/ace-hf-pro/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ACE-HF PRO HF Propagation Simulation and Visualisation Software.

K3VPZ Rating: 5/5 Nov 29, 2016 17:03 Send this review to a friend
A must have!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've been a radio amateur (Ham) for almost 55 years and it has been a long time since I wrote a review in the software product line. I came to know of ACE-HF PRO thru a friend of mine from Hawaii. I have used ACE-HF from the moment I first used it. Since that time I have added 270 DXCC's to my credit. Don't waste your time with any other propagation software. Use this everyday and you can't go wrong. If I hear a DXCC that I need, I put the circuit parameters into ACE and it tells me what band is best, the best time, etc. to get your DXCC. You can decide for yourself if you want to call him/her or not. You don't waste your time calling over and over for nought. I originally had ACE-HF on an XT machine until I built another computer with WIN 7. ACE had some issues with fonts. I contacted Bob. We went back and forth a couple times and a solution was found in about day-and-a-half. Their software support has been second to none! In summary, the program output is complete, colorful, and accurate. It has made HF operating fun. You owe it to yourself to get this gem and start having fun on HF - you can't go wrong. Most other propagation software isn't as colorful nor clear enough to understand the results.
 
KD7DCR Rating: 5/5 Sep 30, 2014 12:32 Send this review to a friend
NEW VENDOR - New 64-bit version  Time owned: more than 12 months
I first bought this SW in 2012 - it never worked correctly. The path for support was not clear at that time.
NOW...it has been sold to LongwaveInc.com down in OKC and they have corrected it for 64-bit machines (most of todays' machines).
NOTE: There was a glitch when installing on Win7 Pro OS machines, that was just solved. (involved files left behind using the uninstaller from Win) The new company uses a very "tight" security system for unlock codes - just work thru it with them, and it will finally work!..
The price shown above, $99 is no longer valid, and was NOT what I paid in 2012 - The updated/corrected 64-bit upgrade for previous users is $99 - outright purchase price depends on your desired version, fixed, rover/mobile, networked, etc. The web site link above DOES LINK OVER TO THE NEW COMPANY SITE. Bob Barth is the contact person for ACE-HF.

This is the cats' meowwwwww in my book - IF you intend to collect all those DXCC's in many bands during THIS SOLAR CYCLE...you need to get this and start using it..! It is so flexible, by way of your inputs, and by way of changing the route you are looking at/interested in...and, you can tell "at a glance" what's open NOW or "soon to come open" by bands...WOW is all I can say. No more hours of CQ'ing into space...make your seat time count!.. The price is well worth every dollar, when you figure out all those hours of missed sleep you'll save!

And, there is a method, using that "input screen" where you can specify "any" frec of interest as well...ie: 6m, 2m, etc. (I am sure the accuracy will suffer by some factor, since those VHF frec's were not within VOCAP's initial range - but, hey, any help for FFMA/6m VUCC should payoff.

Note: those registered users from before, will get an invite E-mail from the new company to upgrade. They are just doing such in blocks of calls now, or, you can "jump the gun" and send them a note to: ACEsupport@longwaveinc.com
Enjoy...this is nifty!
 
KW4CQ Rating: 5/5 Mar 27, 2012 16:12 Send this review to a friend
Great for DX Chasing  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have been using ACE-HF for a year now and find it to be an indispensible tool for seeking out the best times and bands to look for new DXCC entities that will increase my country totals. I operate CW primarily these days but shortly I will be on PSK31 as well as more and more DX stations are showing up on the digital portions of the bands. I especially had outstanding success using ACE-HF in anticipation of connecting with scheduled DXpedition operations.

Here in my HOA community in Virginia I am presently limited to using an Off center Fed Dipole (OCFD) antenna at 60 feet for 10m-80m operation and therefore I need all the extra help I can get to take advantage of the best available times and paths to the DX location and ACE-HF fills that need very well.

I anticipate installing an DX Engineering 43-foot 10m-80m vertical in the Fall, primarily for use on the 40m and 80m CW bands. ACE-HF lets me simulate and evaluate how the vertical is anticipated to perform as compared to the horizontal dipole. And suprisingly (or not), the path performance simulation will often show (depending on DX location and current propagation data) a very considerable signal improvement over the dipole.

ACE-HF contains a large library of antenna models, which can be used for your simulations. You can also import your own antenna models if you are an EZNEC software user.

I urge serious DXers everywhere to take a look at this outstanding software and give it a try. I am sure you won't regret it.
 
VE1YY Rating: 5/5 May 13, 2010 20:39 Send this review to a friend
Works well. Good buy.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
An earlier review well describes the product.

I found ACE-HF to be intuitive and effective if one is familiar with propagation and antennae. If one is not, then the Help files are aids to getting something out of the product.

Yes, the learning curve is steep but well worth it. One can engineer communication links in order to achieve a particular aim rather than guessing or shooting in the dark! One can plan operations to achieve particular ends.

Hams interested in radio communications technique, in contesting, in DXing, and in ARES operations each will find an application for ACE-HF Propagation Software.
 
I2DMI Rating: 5/5 Oct 16, 2007 13:21 Send this review to a friend
complete software  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I'm very happy. The software is great. When I needed help Dick answered very quickly. Support 5/5!
I recommend it.
Frank
I2DMI
 
VK2HTI Rating: 5/5 Aug 4, 2007 16:06 Send this review to a friend
Extremely useful software!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Have been using ACE-HF for about two weeks now, and have been nothing short of very impressed with the quality and features of this software, and I've barely scratched the surface of what it can do.

I would have no trouble recommending it to anyone.

73 de Will VK2HTI
 
ON4SKY Rating: 4/5 Sep 26, 2004 03:42 Send this review to a friend
Dynamic predictions !  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Hi,

ACE stands for "Animated Communications Effectiveness", a coverage display technique originally developed for U.S. Navy submarine communications.

Written for Windows 32-bit by Richard Buckner, this program uses GeoClock maps, a format that has been choosen in order to match the displays with ACE-VLF used by military clients.

ACE-HF Pro uses the VOACAP engine without modification of algorithms (thus with the same accuracy and limitations), and can be interfaced with GeoClock and a logging software. It can simultaneously calculate several circuits, each using up to five antennas at each end of each circuit, an option asked by contesters using "antenna farms" on as many as five bands.
Some data are extracted from external files like antennas and locations that list 35000 cities world-wide and calls several other programs.

Representing about 50 MB on disk, 500 files and 50 directories, it is thus not available for demo purposes due to its size. 

Its main originality over all other VOACAP-based programs is to display animated circuit graphs of SNR, reliability, required power gain, takeoff angle and signal strength. To achieve this, ACE-HF Pro employs cubic spline interpolation to produce chart values at five-minute intervals in order to better describe what happens in the real world. Of course these intermediate values show less precision that hourly predictions. Several charts can also be displayed, to name the MUF (with HPF and FOT), Best Frequency, and an SNR or reliability summary chart.

The input screens have been redesigned since version 1.0 and look great even if they show some "adaptations" due to the underlying Delphi engine that scales differently according to resolutions and operating systems. The world map is fully graphical, using EGA or BMP image which colors are a little too bright due to the use of GeoClock, ACE' standard interface.

Among additional tools, ACE-HF provides HFANT to model antennas, a beacon monitoring showing the strength of their signal and reliability, and an interface for NEC-Win Plus from Arraysolutions. 

The product in without any doubt as powerful as its competitors and maybe more flexible. Indeed, on request, right-clicking on the mouse most parameters can be displayed in a pop-up window and changed without having to enter in each submenu of the circuit or only partially.

The program comes with an extended help file, very complete and sorted by feature, but it is non contextual (you cannot press F1 and get help on a field) and you need to browse the document to find a specific item. It should be converted in Microsoft HLP format and fully indexed to be really useful as not all users will take the time to read its 46 pages, even if they are very educative and their reading highly recommended.
In this context the narrative mode can help the casual amateur.

ACE-HF Pro runs on all Windows 32-bit plateforms and is now at version 2.04. It is provided on CD-ROM (with VOACAP) and a 3.5" floppy disk containing the transmitter location file (your license) that will be copied onto disk during the install procedure.

Compared to equivalent functions available to its competitors and its GUI, in my humble opinion the high price of ACE-HF Pro is no more justified, but exceptionally it keeps its four stars for its excellent animation using GeoClock map, a very original concept that no other publisher provides, and the great number of users, most professionals that trust in this product and the other prediction programs released by the publisher.

No demo available due to its size. However, an extensive "Take the tour" section is provided on the website as well as free and very instructive propagation tutorials written by Dick Buckner and George Lane.

License. Comes with VOACAP. For all Windows 32-bit plateforms.

73
Thierry
http://www.astrosurf.com/lombry
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.