eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: VHF/UHF+ Directional (Yagi, quad, etc.) | Diamond A-502HB 6m Beam Help


Reviews Summary for Diamond A-502HB 6m Beam
Diamond A-502HB 6m Beam Reviews: 17 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $100
Description: 2 element, short boom, 6 meter yagi beam
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.rfparts.com/diamond
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Diamond A-502HB 6m Beam.

Page 1 of 2 —>

KD2BS Rating: 5/5 Sep 23, 2017 17:45 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding Antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
The A-502HB was up for a year and did a great job. Lots of contacts, some DX including Venezuela and Puerto Rico - not bad for 2 elements at 25 feet. Easy to put together with no tools and far more directional than I expected. After a year on the roof, it looked like it just came out of the box. You really can't go wrong with this antenna! I took it down to put up a 5 element beam on a 14 foot boom. We will see how they compare!
 
W6RAD Rating: 5/5 May 25, 2017 18:22 Send this review to a friend
Awesome Antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought this antenna back in 2008 It traveled with me for years, from Death Valley for six years, I worked and lived there, Furnace Creek, 125 degree summers, anyway I have always loved this antenna, Now it's 2017 and it broke a element we had a bad winter here in Oregon, so I rebuilt it, the front and back elements
were replaced with rigid copper tubing front and back, so we had a big opening the other day and the rebuild antenna worked awesome, still love this antenna...
Jim
W6RAD
 
K4TXI Rating: 5/5 Jan 5, 2016 17:23 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Antenna"""""  Time owned: more than 12 months
I would highly recommend this 50mhz antenna for anyone getting into 6 meters . I have ran about every 6 meter beam there is over the past years and this antenna is a great performer and hold its own right up there with the big ones . as you will see my other feedback below the Diamond 502hb is a keeper and does a great job with high ratings :) I have worked several grids and this antenna in my opinion is better than other brands and I am 100 % satisfied with my purchase .
 
PE1MPL Rating: 5/5 Aug 16, 2015 13:55 Send this review to a friend
Little But Powerful  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is a very good antenna.
The build quality is perfect, it all fits nicely together.
The SWR is flat on 51 Mhz, on 50.110 it is 1 to 1.3. In raining weather 1 to 1.6
You can use the hole band with no tuner.
And it was amazing how the antenna performs.
When you buy this antenna you donít go wrong with it.
The only negative point is the manual, its Chinese!
And in raining weather a little higher SWR

But I think it is great for the money.
 
W0XXX Rating: 5/5 Jun 11, 2015 08:26 Send this review to a friend
I hear now...  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Had a loop before investing in this mini-beam.

It went together easily, in about 15 minuets. It's mounted on 2 ten foot TV poles attached to a wooden fence behind my house. It's mounted in such a way that I don't need a rotor, just walk out and manually turn it. Simple.

After getting it in the air, there was no need for fine tuning. It was resonant exactly where spec said it would be.

I've never really worked anyone on 6m before getting this and after having it up about an hour we had an opening. My first contact was with a station in New Orleans.

I'll probably pick up a second one to use on field/portable operations.

Radio used: Kenwood TS-60.
 
K4TXI Rating: 5/5 Feb 27, 2015 13:00 Send this review to a friend
100 percent satisfied  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I would highly recommend this 2 element 6 meter beam for any application ,portable ,fixed station use as what my main 6 meter antenna is . Diamond in the ruff I call it . I prefer it better than any other 6 meter beam & I have had quite a few over the years . The Diamond is a Keeper !
 
KJ4SSX Rating: 5/5 Jan 1, 2015 14:12 Send this review to a friend
Plug and Play antenna  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Santa gave this to me. I set it up and checked the SWR with an antenna aanalizer. The VSWR was just as the instructions advertized. My signal on 6 meters using an HO loop went from an S-7 to a S+20. This beam is really neat!
 
VK3MEG Rating: 5/5 Nov 8, 2014 04:55 Send this review to a friend
well worth the money  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had the antenna for a little over a year. I dont play alot of 6m but wanted to see if it was a band that warrants my attention. this is easy to assemble. took 10 to 15 mins. works great on top of my yagi stack and tower @ 13m I have worked japan with this an 100w. also plenty of repeater work as well. I have a video on you tube of a large opening we had in vk3 to ja about 8000 klm with 5/9 signals.
if your curious about 6m but dont want to spend heaps this is way better than a vertical or a tuned up wire antenna just make sure its facing the right way mine isn't Hi HI. also height is might on 6m
enjoy

steve vk3meg
 
K4TXI Rating: 5/5 Jun 4, 2014 15:55 Send this review to a friend
Good Service  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought this beam just a week ago , Very easy install & Instructions were very easy & straight forward . I have had the 3 element cushcraft up before but I prefer the Diomand a-502hb over it Very light & can turn with a Tv rotor if u like ? For around 95 to $100 bucks could not ask for better 6 meter antenna & also broad swr so it will work FM & SSB ,AM . Good job Diamond !
 
N4YX Rating: 5/5 Mar 28, 2014 06:55 Send this review to a friend
Three Thumbs Up!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
If you're looking for a low-cost, light weight, short boom beam for 6M this little Diamond is tuff to beat. Easily covers the 6M band with two driven elements based upon the HB9CV design from years ago (coaxial fed version of the ZL Special). Performance to Price ratio is high. I use mine with "armstrong" rotor from my #2 Shack deck. Easy assembly and tear-down if want to use portable or mountain top. Diamond quality on this A502HB is top-notch!
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.