eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Interfaces, Radio to computer, amp, rotor, coax switch, internet | RT Systems VX7R Programming Software Help


Reviews Summary for RT Systems VX7R Programming Software
Reviews: 8 Average rating: 2.0/5 MSRP: $39.95
Description: Programming software for the Yaesu VX7R HT
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.cloningsoftware.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the RT Systems VX7R Programming Software.

KE6HNE Rating: 0/5 Jan 26, 2008 02:53 Send this review to a friend
3 Bad Cables  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Software was a joke.
Cable was bad out of the box. Contacted RT Systems and they said there was a run of bad cables. They overnighted two new cables to me after I faxed a copy of my receipt but they were also bad.
Now I use the ttl2usb.com adapter with the Yeasu CT-91 and VX-7 Commander software and haven't had a problem since.
 
W1CFZ Rating: 0/5 Oct 3, 2006 20:24 Send this review to a friend
Poor design  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I purchased the cable / software at a communications store in Newington, CT. After fooling around with it for a few days I realized it wouldn't work because there was something wrong with the cable. I borrowed another ham friends & it worked perfectly. I called the store and they said I had to call RT Systems. Last time I go to that store. I sent an email to RT & they said to send it back. Just a little over a month later, I got the cable back, the same exact one. I know this because I had placed a mark on the cable. Now I'm well out of 30 day warranty period, more like 40 days. I lost it at that point and carefully cut the cable open with a razor blade. There were wires that were not soldered on the connector. I tried soldering the wires back on, but the setup still will not work. I am now looking for a different cable to use, possibly USB, and I won't be purchasing it from RT.
 
N1JGA Rating: 1/5 Dec 3, 2005 20:14 Send this review to a friend
Commander software  Time owned: more than 12 months
Simply not adaquate for the VX-7. Editing is difficult and data entry is a pain. I went through three cables (RT Systems) before I got one that was made correctly. Poor service from RT (sending another bad cable to replace a bad cable)
 
W3RAZ Rating: 3/5 Oct 4, 2003 21:45 Send this review to a friend
OK....but not as good  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This software is OK and works fine on my Windows XP Pro Setup. I was unable to get it to read when it was connected to my Keyspan USB to serial cable so I went "direct" and then discovered my Sp/mike connector was not screwed down enough. Give it a few twists and it worked good. Will try the USB adapter later, and I plan on making a second adapter (not a second CT-91...a second cable that came with the ADMS-1G. This serial cable I intend to use while on the road so I can leave the other one hooked up to the desktop. The RT Systems software works and if thats all you want fine....but if you want to FLY, then use VX-7R Commander. It's freely available yet first chance I get I am going to slip that guy some bucks! RT Systems should have really done better. I can't even get it to import data correctly as easily as I can with VX-7R commander. VX-7R Commander accpets tpe files from Travel Plus and imports VERY easily. If you buy the ADMS-1G kit, just do it for the cable. If you don't mind making the other cable, buy a CT-91 and the parts to make your own cable. Again, it works, but VX-7R Commander is WAY better.
 
KE6VNU Rating: 3/5 Oct 3, 2003 23:50 Send this review to a friend
its just ok  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
it works, but it is in no way as good as the vx-7 commander software.
 
KQ4KK Rating: 1/5 Jul 28, 2003 07:59 Send this review to a friend
Sold before its ready  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought the "latest" version at Dayton, version 1.03. It could not save a file, could not read a file, etc. Wrote RT systems an email. Two weeks later, I got a patch. It now works. In the mean time, I started using VX7 COMMANDER. A much better program, more options, settings, flexible.
 
KT4NM Rating: 5/5 Jul 5, 2003 12:05 Send this review to a friend
works fine for me  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I have had this software for a while and have used it with good results. I did order the kit with cables and sotware so did not have to hunt for adapters etc. I already had the Ct-91 mike adapter so it made eveything easy when kit arrived. I have read a lot of negative comments elswhere, but found none of it to be true in my use of the software or cables. Works fine for me
 
KA0MR Rating: 3/5 Jun 4, 2003 05:53 Send this review to a friend
Needs to get with the Windows 2000 and XP issues  Time owned: months
For what it's worth I don't know if it applies to this issue but Windows 2000 and XP no longer work with I/O calls regarding vxd's (virtual device drivers) so any software that relies on these calls to operate are rendered useless. This is not a new problem and it's just the laziness of software developers to make them work otherwise.So this may infact be the poblem with you program
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.